firewire ftw. usb sucks
firewire mia quite long time... try ask from apple shop
vnair
post Jun 30 2010, 02:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jun 30 2010, 01:36 PM)
firewire mia quite long time... try ask from apple shop
I'm currently using an iMac which has only firewire and USB ports. I intend to use an external HD for my photo library and I know that using a USB 2.0 HD is going to be too slow to access and process the photos. My internal HD is all full up. Hence the reason for me looking for a firewire HD. Since the firewire HD is no longer available, I would appreciate it if anyone has any solutions for me besides upgrading the internal HD. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by vnair: Jun 30 2010, 02:36 PM
FormalCat
post Jun 30 2010, 03:39 PM

195 posts

I'm looking for an external hard disk in a range of 80 ringgit and below. Anyone have anything special to look out for? Recommendations?
DarkNite
post Jun 30 2010, 03:41 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(vnair @ Jun 30 2010, 02:35 PM)
I'm currently using an iMac which has only firewire and USB ports. I intend to use an external HD for my photo library and I know that using a USB 2.0 HD is going to be too slow to access and process the photos. My internal HD is all full up. Hence the reason for me looking for a firewire HD. Since the firewire HD is no longer available, I would appreciate it if anyone has any solutions for me besides upgrading the internal HD. Thanks.  smile.gif
Bor, you can try
1. Vantec NST-D100UFS 2.5"/3.5" SATA to USB 2.0/eSATA/1394a Hard Drive Dock
or
2. get a NAS or
3. Acer Home server (last option)
8tvt
post Jun 30 2010, 04:09 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 30 2010, 03:41 PM)
Bor, you can try
1. Vantec NST-D100UFS 2.5"/3.5" SATA to USB 2.0/eSATA/1394a Hard Drive Dock
or
2. get a NAS or
3. Acer Home server (last option)
i not sure what u suggesting.. if let say considering the transfer rates..

1394a = 400mbps
USB 2.0 = 480mbps
NAS = 100mbps depends on network..

but still for more convenient usb 2.0 is ok for portable..
alot of system have usb 2.0.. easy to move around..
i would be happy if usb3 is everywhere..
Fjive
post Jun 30 2010, 06:14 PM

398 posts

Just bought WD Elements 1.5 TB...i know the speed is 5400rpm and xfer through USB...probably also 500GB/platter...already lowered my expectation but just thought it could be a wee bit faster...

just transfered a 1.45gb .MKV in about 50sec+...does it look fine to u guys ?
lok3i
post Jun 30 2010, 06:19 PM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jun 30 2010, 06:14 PM)
Just bought WD Elements 1.5 TB...i know the speed is 5400rpm and xfer through USB...probably also 500GB/platter...already lowered my expectation but just thought it could be a wee bit faster...

just transfered a 1.45gb .MKV in about 50sec+...does it look fine to u guys ?
yeah..looks normal to me..

fyi, all hdd 1.5TB and 2TB only available in 5400rpm speed..
DarkNite
post Jun 30 2010, 06:52 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 30 2010, 04:09 PM)
i not sure what u suggesting.. if let say considering the transfer rates..

1394a = 400mbps
USB 2.0 = 480mbps
NAS = 100mbps depends on network..

but still for more convenient usb 2.0 is ok for portable..
alot of system have usb 2.0.. easy to move around..
i would be happy if usb3 is everywhere..

Those are theoretical speed?

Bro, you and I have a choice but vnair's iMac how then?
8tvt
post Jun 30 2010, 07:02 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 30 2010, 06:52 PM)
Those are theoretical speed?

Bro, you and I have a choice but vnair's iMac how then?
yup it's rated that way.. though some might claimed usb 2.0 have overhead data involved and reducing the transfer rate..
but still the different not so obvious..

unless the device using 1394b which rated as 800mbps..
or.. if vnair mentioned about usb is the old usb then.. it's totally out of league.. 12mbps rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Jun 30 2010, 07:08 PM
TSmitodna
post Jun 30 2010, 10:57 PM

14,039 posts

Just saw FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Upgrade Cable — FireWire® 800 for RM159 at the hub today, I could be wrong on the price though
lms2005
post Jul 1 2010, 12:02 AM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(vnair @ Jun 30 2010, 02:35 PM)
I'm currently using an iMac which has only firewire and USB ports. I intend to use an external HD for my photo library and I know that using a USB 2.0 HD is going to be too slow to access and process the photos. My internal HD is all full up. Hence the reason for me looking for a firewire HD. Since the firewire HD is no longer available, I would appreciate it if anyone has any solutions for me besides upgrading the internal HD. Thanks.  smile.gif
i not sure iMac using sata not..

you can use sata as ext hdd

1st plug power to hdd
2nd connect sata cable
3rd go device manager refresh (windows based)

speed like normall sata(I or II)
vnair
post Jul 1 2010, 10:45 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jul 1 2010, 12:02 AM)
i not sure iMac using sata not..

you can use sata as ext hdd

1st plug power to hdd
2nd connect sata cable
3rd go device manager refresh (windows based)

speed like normall sata(I or II)
Thanks guys, for your contributions. thumbup.gif I think that I now have no choice but to upgrade my internal HD to a much higher capacity one as there is no sata port for my iMac. sweat.gif
cannavaro
post Jul 2 2010, 12:19 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 30 2010, 07:02 PM)
yup it's rated that way.. though some might claimed usb 2.0 have overhead data involved and reducing the transfer rate..
but still the different not so obvious..

unless the device using 1394b which rated as 800mbps..
or.. if vnair mentioned about usb is the old usb then.. it's totally out of league.. 12mbps  rclxub.gif
The difference between FW 400 and USB 2 is obvious when I conducted a test on WD MyBook Essential via HDtune. USB fluctuates a lot while on FW the graph is a lot more stable... and closer to the max theoretical speed. I'll post the graph if I can find it in the PC at my office.

vnair, is your iMac equipped with a Firewire 800 port?

Added on July 2, 2010, 12:22 am
QUOTE(masahito @ Jun 30 2010, 12:28 PM)
firewire ftw. usb sucks
USB 3 > Firewire 800 > Firewire 400 > USB 2.0

Will we see a Firewire 1600 in the future? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Jul 2 2010, 12:22 AM
SSJBen
post Jul 2 2010, 12:30 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Forgot about eSATA? laugh.gif

Really, eSATA could have been a sucess if it wasn't for its limitation.
DarkNite
post Jul 2 2010, 08:41 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 2 2010, 12:30 AM)
Forgot about eSATA? laugh.gif

Really, eSATA could have been a sucess if it wasn't for its limitation.
wat's its limitation/s are you talking about? hmm.gif
vnair
post Jul 2 2010, 08:58 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jul 2 2010, 12:19 AM)
The difference between FW 400 and USB 2 is obvious when I conducted a test on WD MyBook Essential via HDtune. USB fluctuates a lot while on FW the graph is a lot more stable... and closer to the max theoretical speed. I'll post the graph if I can find it in the PC at my office.

vnair, is your iMac equipped with a Firewire 800 port?

Added on July 2, 2010, 12:22 am
USB 3 > Firewire 800 > Firewire 400 > USB 2.0

Will we see a Firewire 1600 in the future?  tongue.gif
Yes, my iMac has a Firewire 800.
8tvt
post Jul 2 2010, 09:18 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

if like that better search for firewire device..
tany
post Jul 2 2010, 07:33 PM

608 posts

HD753LJ/JJ is this model 750GB 32MB Cache 7200RPM ~ SATA Spinpoint F3)
8tvt
post Jul 2 2010, 07:43 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

HD754JJ -- F3

ur stated F1

125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:54 AM