how is the performance/reliability compare to the f3 ?
thx bro
All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Jun 29 2011, 01:56 PM
1,332 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
how is the performance/reliability compare to the f3 ?
thx bro |
Jun 29 2011, 02:44 PM
fyi,
The new Samsung 2TB F4 HD204UI uses three 667GB platters for a performance gain of 19% over the older 4 platter HD203UI F3 model it replaces. It also uses 23% less power in standby mode. nice. This post has been edited by turion64: Jun 29 2011, 02:46 PM |
Jun 29 2011, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 29 2011, 02:55 PM) yup, that is what ppl claimed and suppose to be cooler too, but since i dun use them as main hdd for os (they all are 5400rpm afterall), all i need is the good reliability, hope they dun die out of sudden (knock the wood...) yea that's the issue with hdd. u'll never know when they gonna fail.any idea where to get cheap blank bd disc? its a good alternative for backup. |
Jun 29 2011, 04:49 PM
Jul 5 2011, 07:52 PM
juz found out wd20earx is 7200rpm. so means it will beat F4EG hd204ui (5400)rpm ?
This post has been edited by turion64: Jul 5 2011, 07:53 PM |
Jul 5 2011, 10:09 PM
Jul 6 2011, 04:32 PM
like to ask, any samsung local service center that i can RMA my faulty HDD to?
i check the website, it ask me to post to SG. |
Jul 7 2011, 02:28 AM
@hikari - thanks dude..
i am unable to copy IFO NFO SRT TXT JPG files to both my HD204UI. AVIs Mkvs are fine though. I am able to copy finely to my other drives. Any idea what are the problem? *both drives are patched to the latest FW |
Jul 19 2011, 03:48 PM
WD GREEN 2tb 7200rpm or Samsung 2tb 5400rpm better?
Jul 19 2011, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(everling @ Jul 19 2011, 04:14 PM) Why did you compare SSD with RAM? RAM cannot provide most of the benefits that SSDs provide. Perhaps RAM with non-volatile memory would make a fair comparison, but not today's volatile memory RAM. I see. but spec wise WD is 64mb cache as oppose to F4 32mb. any significant performance difference ?The WD Green are not 7200RPM HDDs. It's just WD's marketing speak to sell you 5400RPM HDDs by claiming the drive 'intelligently' operates in a range of 5400RPM to 7200RPM. They don't. As for which is better, no clue. Take your pick. |
Sep 13 2011, 04:51 PM
not sure if this thread discuss SSD.
If yes, may i ask is the lifespan of SSD longer than normal HDD? i mean if i want to use SSD for 24/7 read/write operations, is it a good idea? |
Sep 13 2011, 10:13 PM
thanks mate.
Sep 22 2011, 10:42 PM
dear sifus,
may i know do i need to print the RMA form to send in my samsung hard disk for warranty? the RMA form indicate i have to send the hdd to singapore. anyone knows where can i send it locally ? |
Sep 22 2011, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 22 2011, 11:27 PM) i just pass over to my local samsung service centre, got the replacement within 10-days nice! thanks!edit: http://www.samsung.com/my/support/location...ERVICE.LOCATION |
| Change to: | 0.0401sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:54 PM |