125 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

boonwuilow
post Feb 28 2011, 04:59 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

Can i RAID 2 HDD that has same capacity but different brand?
For example, WD Blue 640Gb and Seagate 640Gb?
JinXXX
post Feb 28 2011, 06:13 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 28 2011, 04:59 PM)
Can i RAID 2 HDD that has same capacity but different brand?
For example, WD Blue 640Gb and Seagate 640Gb?
yes you can but usually ppl raid the same brand/model/type..

cause of performance.. firmware differences as it might cause some performance degradation...
boonwuilow
post Feb 28 2011, 06:17 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 28 2011, 06:13 PM)
yes you can but usually ppl raid the same brand/model/type..

cause of performance.. firmware differences as it might cause some performance degradation...
Ok thanks
Will the performance lower than single HDD if i RAID it this way?
wildwestgoh
post Mar 1 2011, 08:33 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 28 2011, 06:17 PM)
Ok thanks
I don't think it'll lower than single HDD speed unless there's something wrong with your RAID controller, otherwise you should use software RAID for most compatibility, hardware RAID is sometimes* a bit choosy.
harryfoo
post Mar 2 2011, 05:58 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(spax @ Feb 24 2011, 08:33 PM)
I have a WD Blue 500GB, it doesnt work anymore has skipping sound noises as in it tries to start up then fail (keep repeating this process)

I have done the whole RMA thing on WD website, but need to send to sg for warranty purpose which doesnt make sense to me as theres a wd factory here. Anyone here has similar problems ?
I know 1 way that you no need to post your HDD to Singapore for RMA. PM me for details.
sexualpower
post Mar 3 2011, 12:13 PM

1,964 posts

i'm selling new unit -> 1TB 3.5" SATA internal HDD Spinpoint F3 103SJ~ anyone interested?~
shinjite
post Mar 3 2011, 12:45 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Mar 3 2011, 12:13 PM)
i'm selling new unit -> 1TB 3.5" SATA internal HDD Spinpoint F3 103SJ~ anyone interested?~
How much you selling?
sotong168
post Mar 3 2011, 02:09 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 3 2011, 12:45 PM)
How much you selling?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1776099&hl=
Dickong
post Mar 3 2011, 03:53 PM

1,689 posts

Can sata2 HDD be use on sata1, secondly can i get the sata2 speed if use on sata1.tq
bardshah92
post Mar 3 2011, 10:10 PM

Nemes1s
634 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 3 2011, 03:53 PM)
Can sata2 HDD be use on sata1, secondly can i get the sata2 speed if use on sata1.tq
You can go ahead and buy the SATA 2 HDD, but since your mobo does not support SATA 2, the HDD will run only at SATA 1 (150Mb/s) performance level. Although the point remains that since no HDD is actually able to sustain a transfer rate of 300Mb/s or even 150Mb/s all the time, you may not notice much difference.

It is very similar to plugging a USB 2.0 device into a USB 1.1 port. Windows will warn you that the device may not function upto its potential, but it doesnt stop working or anything.

Here is a page I found that explains the jumper settings. Look at the OPT1 setting that allows SATA 2 drives to run on SATA 1 ports.
Dickong
post Mar 3 2011, 10:26 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(bardshah92 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:10 PM)
You can go ahead and buy the SATA 2 HDD, but since your mobo does not support SATA 2, the HDD will run only at SATA 1 (150Mb/s) performance level. Although the point remains that since no HDD is actually able to sustain a transfer rate of 300Mb/s or even 150Mb/s all the time, you may not notice much difference.

It is very similar to plugging a USB 2.0 device into a USB 1.1 port. Windows will warn you that the device may not function upto its potential, but it doesnt stop working or anything.

Here is a page I found that explains the jumper settings. Look at the OPT1 setting that allows SATA 2 drives to run on SATA 1 ports.
Thanks a lot, second question does it need to set the jumper becos i forget its actually 2.5 hdd not 3.5hdd, thirdly can sata1 detect 500gb hd

This post has been edited by Dickong: Mar 3 2011, 10:38 PM
chinkw1
post Mar 8 2011, 08:32 PM

3,156 posts

Which is better between the 2 below if price is same:

1. Buffalo Drive Station LB series with TurboPC 1.5TB
2. Samsung G3 1.5Tb

TQ for your opinion.
jeopardise
post Mar 9 2011, 09:43 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 28 2011, 06:17 PM)
Ok thanks
Which RAID? RAID-0,1 or 0+1?

RAID performance can degrade because:

1. Fast HDD become slow because it's pair has slower performance.

2. Some scenario which make RAID-0 awfully slower than single harddisk such as 4 HDD in RAID-0 copies a large file into itself. The HDD controller have to split the data into 4 and send the data back 4 times. Imagine how many jobs the controller has to do.

I've tried 4XRAID-0 before, and its works best to transfer file to other RAID pairs than into itself.
jeopardise
post Mar 10 2011, 11:32 AM

1,767 posts

i have a question for anyone using single large harddisk such as 2TB or at least 1.5TB.

Do you have problem like when you wake up your PC from sleep, the large 2TB HDD will be disconnected because of its slow startup. When I wake up my PC from sleep, only the large HDD missing from My Computer. To wake it, I have to choose Sleep again and wake it up instantly. If fails, I need to restart completely.

Any method to solve this? Thanks sad.gif
everling
post Mar 10 2011, 12:14 PM

3,591 posts

Are your HDDs RAIDed and then got disconnected when waking up?
jeopardise
post Mar 10 2011, 12:26 PM

1,767 posts

Not in RAID mode. Other maller HDD wake up successfully. Only the 2TB Seagate barracuda slow to wake up
beebee
post Mar 10 2011, 05:19 PM

3,091 posts

hi guys, just want to know which 2tb 3.5" desktop is worth to get now?
sotong168
post Mar 10 2011, 07:10 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(beebee @ Mar 10 2011, 05:19 PM)
hi guys, just want to know which 2tb 3.5" desktop is worth to get now?
the cheapest samsung f4 @ rm280 = 14cent/GB
beebee
post Mar 10 2011, 08:04 PM

3,091 posts

went to get wd 64mb inteli rpm just now @ RM279
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2011, 07:25 AM

12,573 posts

1TB 3.5" Seagate Go Flex Home at only RM209. Damn tempting wei