All About Harddisk Thread V3, Discussion for Good Harddisk

CopyX
post Dec 1 2010, 01:21 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(CopyX @ Nov 22 2010, 11:32 PM)
i have a lot of IDE HDD from all my old rigs. more than 20pcs..

what shud i do with them. hmm.gif

some can still use, some are just dud.

i even have the old huge  flex.gif  BIGFOOT hdd. lol
QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Nov 23 2010, 09:05 AM)
Sell them?
no. most of them are damaged, bad sector and damaged plate.

i really wanted to salvaged the old files.. old data memories, my childhood script, poems and stuff.. brows.gif

do they have cheap solution for recovering data now?

bcause back in the days. it costs like usd2k to recover damaged hdd. rclxub.gif
lok3i
post Dec 1 2010, 06:36 AM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

QUOTE(Hara520 @ Dec 1 2010, 01:04 AM)
got some question here...
is it big diff about 5.4k & 7.2k rpm??? i use for storage saving...

and i wan to buy 1or 2 unit 2tb....
wd green or samung F4 or other gooD choice ? (budget user.....)
for storage, 5.4k is enough
go for 2TB F4..cheap and better than wd green
kamechi
post Dec 1 2010, 03:24 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(lok3i @ Dec 1 2010, 06:36 AM)
for storage, 5.4k is enough
go for 2TB F4..cheap and better than wd green
lowyat got set 2TB F4? any idea on how much is it?
turion64
post Dec 1 2010, 03:41 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

juz got my 2TB F4 - Rm285 @ Czone.
will try tonite and update

cheers~
pergilahsayang
post Dec 1 2010, 06:59 PM

359 posts

Any1 have used the all new Caviar black Sata III? Read some review of it. SO many additional upgrade from the old caviar black such as 500GB platter, dual actuator, 64MB cache, and of course SATA 6gb/s . Can safely assume this is the fastest 7200 RPM HDD in town?
cannavaro
post Dec 2 2010, 12:16 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I haven't tried the new Caviar Black but I can assure you on one thing.

You'll need SSD to even come close to the theoretical speed of SATA 6Gb/s. With this in mind, using the SATAIII interface to promote a HDD is nothing more than a gimmick.
alvinfks78
post Dec 2 2010, 09:23 AM

1,127 posts

Hi, Can't seem to find Western D HDD 32mb Cache Blue anywhere....I tried various shops..only 16mb Cache

Like to ask which is better performance 16mb WD Blue vs 32mb WD Green. Can also recommend a better alternative smile.gif. Budget user

kamechi
post Dec 2 2010, 09:44 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Dec 1 2010, 03:41 PM)
juz got my 2TB F4 - Rm285 @ Czone.
will try tonite and update

cheers~
rclxms.gif share your tought ya rclxms.gif
cherroy
post Dec 2 2010, 11:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 2 2010, 09:23 AM)
Hi, Can't seem to find Western D HDD 32mb Cache Blue anywhere....I tried various shops..only 16mb Cache

Like to ask which is better performance 16mb WD Blue vs 32mb WD Green. Can also recommend a better alternative smile.gif. Budget user
Should be the 16mb blue.

Bigger cache effect is only more visible during start burst up time.

Blue version is difficult to get nowadays, most shops don't want to stock up.
wildwestgoh
post Dec 2 2010, 11:15 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Dec 2 2010, 09:23 AM)

Get the Black, the price is dropping like hell due to Samsung competitive pricing and performance, the 1TB Black should be around RM200 right now @ Lowyat.

If you feels brand has no issue for you, go for Samsung F3/F4 1TB 7,200rpm, performance is way better than Western Digital 1TB Black.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Dec 2 2010, 11:15 AM
turion64
post Dec 2 2010, 01:00 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(kamechi @ Dec 2 2010, 09:44 AM)
rclxms.gif  share your tought ya  rclxms.gif
tried it yesterday night. ran the sata cable out of mobo and place the hdd on top of my cpu (due to no space)
after running overnight, the temperature is at 37c without any cooling fan.
speed is quite ok, no lag experienced yet as i only copied few movies into it only.
will update on temperature once i install a cooling fan on it smile.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 2 2010, 11:06 AM)
Should be the 16mb blue.

Bigger cache effect is only more visible during start burst up time.

Blue version is difficult to get nowadays, most shops don't want to stock up.
try LPS at subang ss15. they willing to order for me last time. cheers
wildwestgoh
post Dec 2 2010, 01:06 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Dec 2 2010, 01:00 PM)
tried it yesterday night. ran the sata cable out of mobo and place the hdd on top of my cpu (due to no space)
after running overnight, the temperature is at 37c without any cooling fan.
speed is quite ok, no lag experienced yet as i only copied few movies into it only.
will update on temperature once i install a cooling fan on it smile.gif
try LPS at subang ss15. they willing to order for me last time. cheers
Nice temp without cooling fan, mine is 35C max with Silverstone AP-121 (with sponge filter), lowest I ever saw is 29C (coolest night).

Btw, I think getting WD Blue is not so worth it nowadays, the price/capacity is too expensive to judge, unless you really on tight budget and can find old stock.
alvinfks78
post Dec 2 2010, 01:32 PM

1,127 posts

Thanks all .. hmm.gif will need to do some HDD research.
TSmitodna
post Dec 2 2010, 06:24 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 2 2010, 11:15 AM)
Get the Black, the price is dropping like hell due to Samsung competitive pricing and performance, the 1TB Black should be around RM200 right now @ Lowyat.

If you feels brand has no issue for you, go for Samsung F3/F4 1TB 7,200rpm, performance is way better than Western Digital 1TB Black.
Oh my, where is RM200 1TB Black? I did not notice this? Mind to tell the shop name here please. Many thanks in advance.
wildwestgoh
post Dec 2 2010, 06:50 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 2 2010, 06:24 PM)
Oh my, where is RM200 1TB Black? I did not notice this? Mind to tell the shop name here please. Many thanks in advance.
My deep apology, just checked the price list (PC Zone) the goat darn Carviar Black still at blazing expensive RM270 (WTH??!!), I don't know why the price is not affect after the Samsung F3 1TB is RM100 cheaper, faster, don't tell me RM100 for the extra 2 years warranty? doh.gif

turion64
post Dec 2 2010, 08:46 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

seriously dun even bother about wd black...F3 are faster, cheaper and cooler....!

Added on December 3, 2010, 2:14 pmjuz installed cooling fans to my 2TB F4EG.
temperature hovering at 29c. it's about 3-5c cooler than my 1.5TB F3.(with fan)

This post has been edited by turion64: Dec 3 2010, 02:14 PM
kamechi
post Dec 4 2010, 10:45 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Dec 2 2010, 08:46 PM)
seriously dun even bother about wd black...F3 are faster, cheaper and cooler....!

Added on December 3, 2010, 2:14 pmjuz installed cooling fans to my 2TB F4EG.
temperature hovering at 29c. it's about 3-5c cooler than my 1.5TB F3.(with fan)
wow..sounds really cool. does it worth the price now? might get it very soon...no space d... T_T
wildwestgoh
post Dec 4 2010, 11:08 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(kamechi @ Dec 4 2010, 10:45 PM)
wow..sounds really cool. does it worth the price now? might get it very soon...no space d... T_T
It's the cheapest right now for 2TB hard disk out there, or you can compare the prices if you have time to wonder around Lowyat or upcoming PC fair? (I heard got PC fair at KL)
rainzai
post Dec 5 2010, 03:54 PM

109 posts

is 2TB F4EG the highest c/p 2tb hdd available in current market? thx
wildwestgoh
post Dec 5 2010, 07:41 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(rainzai @ Dec 5 2010, 03:54 PM)
is 2TB F4EG the highest c/p 2tb hdd available in current market? thx
There's 3TB by Western Digital, internal, not sure if already available in Malaysia.
As of today I went to KCBA IT Expo (Kuching) and the price of 2TB Western Digital is RM313, and I just bought Samsung F4EG 2TB at RM343 just 2 months back doh.gif darn, the price of HDD really drop, but didn't notice anyone selling Samsung HDD, what a pain yawn.gif

125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:50 AM