HTC Desire Official Thread V3, FAQs on First Page

LazyJin
post Jul 15 2010, 12:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 14 2010, 06:23 PM)
here are some updated screenshots. xiialive is my favorite app of all time. I used up to 3gb download every month streaming music. On maxis unlimited
r47z - xiialive is sweet, just what i was looking for, thx for the tip. Also been eyeing the Switchpro widget... looks neat. Just waiting for a rock solid Froyo build before i root... or hoping we'll get paid apps soon smile.gif
LazyJin
post Jul 21 2010, 09:47 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(k3sh @ Jul 21 2010, 03:35 AM)
I would like to know whether HTC Desire from Maxis is unlocked or locked set.
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 21 2010, 06:21 AM)
I still use the goldcard method btw on my maxis set..just to ensure that it would run smoothly
Just got my phone rooted, didn't use Gold Card. I used Unrevoked one-click root, then flashed the Desire Froyo "Official" ROM.

I had trouble getting Unrevoked to work - forgot to run reflash.exe as administrator and check "enable USB debugging" - apart from that, it was smooth rooting and flashing.

Number 1 reason for me to root? I wanted to access Paid apps, and actually PAY FOR THEM.

Number 1 reason to move to Froyo? A2SD smile.gif

Haven't encountered any bugs on this ROM, will post if i find any.
LazyJin
post Jul 21 2010, 11:22 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jul 21 2010, 10:14 AM)
is it the Unrevoked root method is similar to Spirit jailbreak? after using Unrevoked meaning we can straight away install custom ROM?
Haven't used Spirit Jailbreak, but once you've done Unrevoked you can install custom ROMs.

QUOTE(i_bony @ Jul 21 2010, 10:40 AM)
u just download the installer and press one button is it when using Unrevoked root method? u installed custom ROM oso using the unrevoked program?
Not really one button. You have to install USB drivers in comp, uninstall HTC Sync, then the rest is done by the program. Flashing ROM is via the hp itself. I believe the procedure to flash custom ROMs is standard, read it up.

QUOTE(winterwish @ Jul 21 2010, 10:58 AM)
Anyone with Maxis set already rooted? Huhu.
Mine is from Maxis smile.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 21 2010, 10:58 AM)
And anyone had problem sending SMS to multiple targets? I keep getting message undelivered and had to do it multiple times.
Have the same problem here, whether using stock sms program or Handcent. If anybody finds a fix, pls let us know. I've search many websites for a solution and have found nothing!

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 21 2010, 11:08 AM)
Latest Official Froyo ROM with HBOOT 0.87 ?
Good luck. You might not able to root in future as there isn't any rooting method available yet
The ROM i flashed is a rooted "official" Desire Froyo ROM. So it's rooted, that's how i got Market Enabler and paid apps. Head on to XDA for the details. Ppl say this is the most stable, bug-free froyo-sense ROM so far, since the original froyo ROM was from HTC themselves.

This post has been edited by LazyJin: Jul 21 2010, 11:24 AM
LazyJin
post Jul 22 2010, 07:40 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(stanum @ Jul 21 2010, 08:45 PM)
1. If i root my Desire, can i unrooted back to stock rom, where can i get exactly the stock rom as i have right now.
2. Is my warranty will void if i root? do i need to unroot if i need to send the HTC Service Center?
p/s: hopefully, this kind of question will be put in the FAQ at the first page for other users reference.

These questions have been asked countless times. Pls use the search button.

But i agree that it should be added into the FAQ section.

TS - Will you be able to update the FAQ with a link to rooting? Maybe http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696189 (XDA)? Thx!
LazyJin
post Jul 22 2010, 09:18 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jul 22 2010, 10:26 AM)
Adding in Rooting section under FAQ. Sorry guys to left out all the important questions.

Mike - No need to be sorry. We're all thankful for your work!

Added on July 22, 2010, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jul 22 2010, 05:32 PM)
try the rooted official rom ... no wipe needed smile.gif (try searching in xda)
i even managed to do apps2sd (i think) using the uvocv14 kernel
thumbup.gif

I'm on the rooted official ROM. Based on feedback on XDA, a lot of the problems are from users who did not do a full wipe, so i suggest doing a full wipe to be safe.

Separately, i've used Market Access to get paid apps but It messed up my APN settings (no mobile data), and couldn't browse paid apps.
- Needed to re-enter the APN settings, then select "Mobile Network Settings -> Network operators -> select automatically" before it could detect 3G/HSDPA data network.
- fix browse paid apps issue by following instructions from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...17&postcount=51.

This post has been edited by LazyJin: Jul 22 2010, 09:31 PM
LazyJin
post Jul 26 2010, 10:07 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Jul 26 2010, 05:42 PM)
Once rooted, you can intall n use market access app..

Bro - Does your Market Access automatically emulate correctly everytime you reboot? Mine doesn't even if i enable "emulate on boot".

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 26 2010, 05:44 PM)
Rooting with Unrevoked seem to be the easiest way but i have heard about needing to install drivers if we root using Windows. Anyone have any step by step on how to do it on Windows with Unrevoked? Some say disable HTCSync but some say enable it. Its confusing and i have no idea what driver to install.

I've used Unrevoked on Windows 7 32-bit. Yes, uninstall HTC Sync, but don't uninstall the driver.
LazyJin
post Jul 26 2010, 10:23 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 26 2010, 04:47 PM)
Would be great is others who have rooted speak up on what ROM do they have installed... pluginbaby, maqu3l, anyone?

There's a poll on XDA on which ROM ppl "think"is the best. check it out : http://forum.xda-developers.com/poll.php?d...lts&pollid=2933

Official Froyo Sense leads, followed closely by LeeDroid.

0.0177sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:51 AM