HTC Desire Official Thread V3, FAQs on First Page

KayK
post Jul 3 2010, 05:22 PM

684 posts

i saw this over at xda hTC desire "post your home screenshot" thread, does anyone know what music player is that?
KayK
post Jul 3 2010, 06:43 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(jasonloke @ Jul 3 2010, 05:44 PM)
that music player is stick comewith the android OS one
thanks for the confirmation, the widget looks very very nice, IMO... tongue.gif
oh well, time to decide to get either 3(cubed) or doubletwist or just stick with hTC... hmm.gif

Added on July 3, 2010, 6:43 pm
QUOTE(linuss @ Jul 3 2010, 06:15 PM)
Hi guys, is there any application can shows data transferred?
Because I'm looking to sign up maxis data plan, however, im afraid it exceed limited quota.
Pls recommend
you can search for 3G watchdog + APNdroid...

This post has been edited by KayK: Jul 3 2010, 06:43 PM
KayK
post Jul 3 2010, 07:50 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(linuss @ Jul 3 2010, 07:03 PM)
can it install directly? or need to root before use it?
nope you dont have to root...you can get it using the market app...
KayK
post Jul 4 2010, 01:35 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Jul 4 2010, 01:09 PM)
HTC said froyo will launch in beginning July rite? now 4th july oredi.. till when have to wait? haisss
perhaps this will cheer you up...
hTC Froyo rumour

Added on July 4, 2010, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(yolk @ Jul 4 2010, 09:30 AM)
you can use wifi or 3g to update .. but opted to download it via my pc first and i'm in kl la  biggrin.gif
i tried checking for update on the phone, but there's no update, tried hTC website also no update... sad.gif

This post has been edited by KayK: Jul 4 2010, 01:39 PM
KayK
post Jul 5 2010, 10:58 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(limjonyee @ Jul 5 2010, 10:55 PM)
my desire corrupted my memory card yet again... everything was wiped out... damnit....

this is the third time that it'd happened... my microsd is a class 6 transcend 8gb... previously used in my experia x1 and nokia n86 without any problem... damn it man!
maybe it because there's some leftovers from previous system?

your corrupted memory card problem makes me reluctant to use the transcend 8GB class 6 microsd card that comes with my Touch HD on the hTC Desire...but i dont know why it's so hard to find a class 6 microSD card....
KayK
post Jul 5 2010, 11:10 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(yoda @ Jul 5 2010, 11:05 PM)
you can get it in lowyat bro, 160++ if not mistaken...Kingston 8Gb SDHC...
i saw one in the garage sales selling 8GB class 6 sanDisk for only RM90...are you sure?

LYN there are a few sellers but shops it kinda hard...
KayK
post Jul 6 2010, 07:38 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(linuss @ Jul 6 2010, 07:31 PM)
how to set my ringtone to mp3 music? sifus pls help me
that's why stickies are helpful:
MP3 ringtone
KayK
post Jul 7 2010, 12:57 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 7 2010, 11:38 AM)
Those waiting for Froyo on Desire.

http://www.androidguys.com/2010/07/06/htc-...rade-christmas/

Let's see. At first, Q3 promise, now Q4 sleep.gif
read the first line from this article:
Android 2.2 Desire
According to HTC, the Desire is getting a Froyo-based update in August, but unfortunately other smartphones like the Wildfire, Incredible and EVO 4G will not be as lucky.
i wouldnt be surprised that it be september or october for asia release (is 1.21 released for asia yet?), but at least it's faster than other devices...

KayK
post Jul 7 2010, 09:59 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Jul 7 2010, 09:55 PM)
guys, when is froyo avilable for our phone? ??!cant wait ad la: (
it will be here when it's ready...keep asking is not going to pops up out of no where...and 1.21 is not even available for SEA yet...

read the links posted a few pages back....if really cant wait, root and flash custom ROM (do this at your own risk)...
KayK
post Jul 8 2010, 01:32 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jul 8 2010, 10:40 AM)
I noted theres a lot of duplication of my contact no.
how to erase some of the contacts ?  , if double tap - it will call , just one tap -just to edit . Sory for my noobness
you can do it two ways (i only know these two way):

-tap and hold that contact you want to delete, a menu will pops up, select delete
-press the menu button and selete delete, this method can be used for deleting plenty of contacts at the same time...
KayK
post Jul 14 2010, 08:15 PM

684 posts

just gotten a cheap kingston 4GB class 4 (waiting for more class 6 microSDHC), once i on the phone it stated damaged SD card ohmy.gif
i just hope that it will be only time this message will come out.... unsure.gif
KayK
post Jul 14 2010, 09:31 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:15 PM)
Did u fomat ur card?
yup on the PC, then i transfer all my files from my 2GB SD card to the new 4GB...once put into the phone, it said damaged SD card, so i format using the phone....
KayK
post Jul 14 2010, 09:42 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 14 2010, 09:36 PM)
Couldnt find it in the market. Any idea where can i get it?
afraid you cant get it on the market as this is a paid app... sweat.gif

Added on July 14, 2010, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 14 2010, 06:23 PM)
applications opened ate too much memory. you can do a quick reboot by pressing volume down + power button + optical track button.

on your second screen you seem to have customized folder icons, how did you do that? root? or apps like folderOrganizer?

This post has been edited by KayK: Jul 14 2010, 09:49 PM
KayK
post Jul 15 2010, 08:45 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 15 2010, 08:41 AM)
Ah..Too bad its paid app. Was looking for one that had about the same function. Currently using the default one with HTC but wondering is there anything better.

And anyone knows of any File Explorer program for the Desire? I wanted to search the location of certain files in my SD card but cant seem to locate a program that can search for that.

Ordered my CaseMate as well but will only be here a few weeks later. Hopefully its worth the wait.
file explorer i was using was ASTRO File Manager until it comes with ads in the latest version, so i switched to ESTRONGS...

i'm using case-mate barely there casing, and it's worth the price...the screen protector not too bad either, though it can be a bit hassle to clean the screen protector from oil...waiting for martins fields overlay stock to come...
KayK
post Jul 15 2010, 02:07 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(skittlesz07 @ Jul 15 2010, 01:43 PM)
nope nothing scrathed .........only the back cover and the battery went off...after plugin it all back only a slight hang occurs....and then thats it...smooth as usual hehehhe....i think its just my luck...and im pretty clumsy to hehehhe nod.gif  laugh.gif  sweat.gif
wow, if i were you, i would have heart attack there and then...wondering did you use any casing or pouch?

This post has been edited by KayK: Jul 15 2010, 02:07 PM
KayK
post Jul 15 2010, 07:40 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(maliqu3 @ Jul 15 2010, 05:32 PM)
so the rumours of hTC Desire will updated to 2.2 in August might be true after all... drool.gif
KayK
post Jul 17 2010, 10:54 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(winniechen @ Jul 17 2010, 06:40 PM)
I asked this before but never really got any replies. Anyone can help me?
QUOTE(i_bony @ Jul 17 2010, 09:33 PM)
ya  i wanted to know also about the lock screen wallpaper, it seems that inside the manual, they said can change, but i cant seem to find a way. anyone manage to do it?
got this from another forum:

You cant, even though HTC describes that you can in its official manual. Everyone send a support request to HTC telling them that they forgot to add this function. Then hopefully they will re-add with an update.
Source
KayK
post Jul 26 2010, 09:10 PM

684 posts

i removed my facebook for hTC sense account (as the friend list is not updated) but when i re-enter the account, all my contact photos are gone... mad.gif
KayK
post Jul 27 2010, 08:48 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Jul 26 2010, 10:12 PM)
yur contact photo r your phonebook photo or FB photo?
those are facebook pictures...
when i go people --> online directories --> facebook, i dont see the updated friend list, so i remove the facebook for hTC Sense account and re-enter again, now my facebook friend list is empty, and all the contact photos which are linked to facebook are missing...

friend stream is working fine though...

Added on July 27, 2010, 8:53 amthose having trouble maybe could try this:

Try adding a city and state to your current job in Facebook.
Try deleting your current company in Facebook.
source

I cant try now as i'm at work...

This post has been edited by KayK: Jul 27 2010, 08:53 AM

0.0451sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:32 AM