DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V4], powered by Intel C2D, Core i5 n Core i7

Kevin813
post Jul 12 2010, 09:16 PM

17 posts

Jz ordered a Studio XPS 1645, i7-740, 8gb ram, 640gb hd, ati radeon mobility hd 5730, Intel® WiFi Link 5300, 3 year dell care premium... Online price 5930, got final price of 5499 from sales representative with 36 months mcafee... >_<'" + belkin 17 bag rm117, total = 5616. Can't wait for the order to be processed and delivery. rclxm9.gif
Kevin813
post Jul 12 2010, 09:35 PM

17 posts

I'm not really a supporter of McAfee, instead a fan of Avast... biggrin.gif Been trying to ask whether can the AV be removed and give discount to upgrade other parts but what the sales representative say was "it's bundled as a free item", so u either take it or leave it but stil no - in price... =.= That was the final best price of 5499 excluding any case, including the belkin 17 bag + rm117 was the best final price they can offer. According to the sales representative he send twice to the management for discount approval... @@ Few of my fren got their laptop "unluckily" spoiled just right after their 1 year warranty and spent 1k to repair, so that's y i upgraded that warranty. yawn.gif

Added on July 12, 2010, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(maolnorlexu @ Jul 12 2010, 09:34 PM)
wow  drool.gif  welcome to club  brows.gif
Thx for the welcome. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Kevin813: Jul 12 2010, 09:37 PM
Kevin813
post Jul 12 2010, 09:43 PM

17 posts

Haha... Quite broke after spending so much... But luckily stil got few hundred left... Thinking of getting Zalman NC-2000... Read many good comments and reviews about it... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Kevin813: Jul 12 2010, 09:43 PM
Kevin813
post Jul 12 2010, 09:57 PM

17 posts

What's the current market price of NC-2000 and where u bought it? Stil duno where to buy it... Saw somewhere on lyn offering 188 for nc2000... Is it worth? >_<'"
Kevin813
post Jul 12 2010, 11:10 PM

17 posts

Not really i think... Depends on ur specs and he will need to submit it to the management for discount approval... That's according to my sales representative... Just call dell's hotline and try... I think all dell's sales representative are the same... I'll pm u later
Kevin813
post Jul 16 2010, 03:30 PM

17 posts

Finally confirmed my order of studio xps 1645, "Confirmation of your recent Dell order is attached. Your Estimated Delivery Date for this order is on or before 29/07/2010." Current status of my order : Work In Progress rclxm9.gif Very excited and can't wait for the day my babe arrives... biggrin.gif
Kevin813
post Jul 16 2010, 04:33 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jul 16 2010, 03:33 PM)
Sad .. I7 model only got 5400 RPM option .. damn Dell .. they want to finish old stock . If 7200 RPM .. I already grab it in no time ..
Granted the heat issue that stil bugs XPS 16 due to their design that blocked the air-ventilation and the fact that XPS 16 is considered as high performance laptop that consumes quite alot of battery, u wouldn't want to opt for 7200RPM hard drives that'll get hotter and eat up more battery than 5400 RPM hard drives. Also, the difference of speed in 7200 RPM vs 5400 RPM hard drives is barely noticeable in daily applications, excluding loading game and booting up ur system.
Kevin813
post Jul 16 2010, 07:43 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Jul 16 2010, 07:17 PM)
meaning gt330m is better than hd4670?
5730 > 4670 > GT 330M... 5730 uses lesser energy than 4670 and GT 330M which means lower temperature rclxms.gif 4670 has higher corespeed, more shader cores/pipelines than GT 330M... It performs better than GT 330M. But altho 4670's corespeed lose to 5730, 5730 has more shader cores/pipelines and supports native DirectX 11... Shader cores/pipelines are more important for graphic card rather than corespeed. 4670 definitely performs better than GT 330M. If u're not using it for gaming then choosing whichever is unimportant.
Kevin813
post Jul 17 2010, 12:15 AM

17 posts

That's theoretically actually... But it should be true cz less energy used confirm = lower temperature. I'm still waiting for my dear new lappie to arrive, which is equipped with 5730, duno who has the comparison between the 2 diff graphic cards' overall system temperature. >_<'"
Kevin813
post Jul 21 2010, 08:07 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Kevin813 @ Jul 12 2010, 09:35 PM)
I'm not really a supporter of McAfee, instead a fan of Avast... biggrin.gif Been trying to ask whether can the AV be removed and give discount to upgrade other parts but what the sales representative say was "it's bundled as a free item", so u either take it or leave it but stil no - in price... =.= That was the final best price of 5499 excluding any case, including the belkin 17 bag + rm117 was the best final price they can offer. According to the sales representative he send twice to the management for discount approval... @@ Few of my fren got their laptop "unluckily" spoiled just right after their 1 year warranty and spent 1k to repair, so that's y i upgraded that warranty.  yawn.gif

Added on July 12, 2010, 9:37 pm

Thx for the welcome.  laugh.gif
Jz remembered i posted this sometime ago... Told u they won't let u remove the antivirus, "it's bundled as a free item, if u remove it the price will not be lowered", according to the sales representative that dealt with me.... They give maximum discount of RM 200 for purchase under RM 5500, RM 500 for above RM 5501, so i think they let u choose a upgrade within the discount or u don't want the upgrade but discount in price only. So actually u can get a free bag for the same price, but i think it's better u "buy" the bag with the RM 200 discount given, cz RM 200 - (bag price) = the remaining they won't reduce ur total price.

Which model u bought? I'm still waiting for mine to arrive... It's currently in the process of "ship from factory (arrived in main hub)"... Duno stil nid how long... T_T NC2000 price now i think is around 18x - 19x, found somewhere on garage sales they selling for 188, mayb u can try looking for them, can't really remember whose post.
Kevin813
post Jul 24 2010, 08:20 PM

17 posts

My Alpine White Studio XPS 1645 has finally been delivered to me around 12.30pm++ today... Can't get my eyes and hands off it... Stil very obsessed with it... rclxm9.gif
Kevin813
post Jul 24 2010, 08:44 PM

17 posts

Kinda busy atm... Will upload some photos asap... biggrin.gif
Kevin813
post Jul 24 2010, 10:36 PM

17 posts

Took 2 pictures.... Feeling quite sleepy... yawn.gif >_<'"

Kevin813
post Aug 7 2010, 01:26 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 7 2010, 12:26 PM)
After contemplating on the 'right' time to buy the XPS16, my i7 unit finally arrived today. I dealt with the same Sales Rep as Kevin813 did (Kevin, thank you for your recommendation) and received a decent discount

RM5200 for 3 years warranty with completecover + Targus backpack. No regrets and the unit with lit keyboard is very nice in dark room.
Ah... Sorry i didn't gave u my order number... Been quite some time i din come to lyn d... >_<'" Nice one u have there... Same alpine white with me too... It looks really nice compared to black or red imo... Haha... I got my battery fully charged oso when i got it... Din use it at all... >_<'" Mayb will use it if i bring it to college or outside house... Grats to u getting it... rclxms.gif

0.0478sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:16 AM