Green laser pointer, legal or illegal?

TSjolipoli81
post Jun 24 2010, 05:25 PM, updated 16y ago

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

Recently an admin close my thread saying the green laser pointer I was selling is illegal in Malaysia. But I don't see any rule saying that Malaysia had such law. Can somebody please rectify this?
wKkaY
post Jun 24 2010, 05:47 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Here, let me point it out to you again:

http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=2026...&pg=5422,690221
ate
post Jun 24 2010, 06:15 PM

629 posts

what about high powered torch lights?
cftoon
post Jun 24 2010, 06:29 PM

24 posts

I do think admin has the right to do whatever he/she wants...they're like god in their respective forums. But that news clip wasn't really from Malaysia, I haven't read such news as of today...maybe "god" could enlighten us if there really is such a ban in Malaysia? Furthermore, foreign papers like to speculate things also leh.....just my 2 sen la
RBR
post Jun 24 2010, 06:42 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

Speculate? Its a report, not a rumour.

In the absence of evidence to the contrary, we can safely assume it is banned. If you dispute the report, send the Health Ministry an email.
DAViS
post Jun 24 2010, 06:44 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Maximum power output allowed is <1mW for consumer leisure or office usage.
More powerful <5mW still allowed under safety control.

More than is going to class 3, some countries class 2 already banned.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laser_safety

My army friend told me anybody shone the laser dot to them, they allowed to fire back to the source with live bullet. *This information need to verify by third party*

cftoon
post Jun 24 2010, 07:08 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Jun 24 2010, 06:42 PM)
Speculate?  Its a report, not a rumour.

In the absence of evidence to the contrary, we can safely assume it is banned.  If you dispute the report, send the Health Ministry an email.
wei RBR, I didn't say I dispute to the "report" la, so can you read clearly ahh...?
If you really need tell this to somebody, tell the seller la...not me la

Are you alright ahh? You sure? hmm.gif

QUOTE(DAViS @ Jun 24 2010, 06:44 PM)
Maximum power output allowed is <1mW for consumer leisure or office usage.
More powerful <5mW still allowed under safety control.

More than is going to class 3, some countries class 2 already banned.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laser_safety

My army friend told me anybody shone the laser dot to them, they allowed to fire back to the source with live bullet. *This information need to verify by third party*
Wah Davis, army so serious on this wan ahh....now only I know, thanks for the info! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cftoon: Jun 24 2010, 07:09 PM
TSjolipoli81
post Jun 24 2010, 07:23 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 24 2010, 05:47 PM)
this news is back around 11 years ago, and the Malaysia law has not officially stated that it is illegal to own a green laser in Malaysia. It is say that pointing at human eyes or animals and aircraft IS illegal. Misused is illegal, owning one is NOT.
max_cjs0101
post Jun 24 2010, 07:54 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(cftoon @ Jun 24 2010, 06:29 PM)
I do think admin has the right to do whatever he/she wants...they're like god in their respective forums. But that news clip wasn't really from Malaysia, I haven't read such news as of today...maybe "god" could enlighten us if there really is such a ban in Malaysia? Furthermore, foreign papers like to speculate things also leh.....just my 2 sen la
Everyone who registers in this forum MUST adhere to the rules and regulations set. If you're not satisfied, you can pm or discuss this.
Else,you can just set up your own forum.
wKkaY
post Jun 24 2010, 09:00 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

We run our forum responsibly.

The fact that four developed countries (Australia, Netherlands, UK, US) strictly regulates the possession and sales of high-powered lasers like the ones you are selling, and the local newspaper report of Chua Jui Meng (a minister in those days) announcing that it is banned gives us enough reason to ban it from being sold in this forum - if only out of concern for public safety.

Deal with it.
Pr1me_Minister
post Jun 24 2010, 09:24 PM

314 posts

If you do a bit of research, you'll find that some of our country laws existed even before independence. Plus concerns about its potential misuse is enough of a reason for us to ban it.

And by the way, please keep your post ON TOPIC. If you have any issues about any particular moderator, please refer to this guide.. wink.gif

edit: The 2nd statement isn't directed at the TS but rather to a certain wannabe troll.

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: Jun 25 2010, 12:12 AM
TSjolipoli81
post Jun 24 2010, 09:59 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 24 2010, 09:00 PM)
We run our forum responsibly.

The fact that four developed countries (Australia, Netherlands, UK, US) strictly regulates the possession and sales of high-powered lasers like the ones you are selling, and the local newspaper report of Chua Jui Meng (a minister in those days) announcing that it is banned gives us enough reason to ban it from being sold in this forum - if only out of concern for public safety.

Deal with it.
Please do enlighten me on what is 'high-powered lasers' Because as far as I know, high-powered lasers are those burning laser, I will call that lethal and dangerous and I will back down if that's case.
So what if other country are banning these green lasers? Do we really need to follow their law instead of our own? Do we also banned bubble gum from selling in this country just because Singapore has banned it? Makes no sense.

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Jun 24 2010, 09:24 PM)
If you do a bit of research, you'll find that some of our country laws existed even before independence. Plus concerns about its potential misuse is enough of a reason for us to ban it.

And by the way, please keep your post ON TOPIC. If you have any issues about any particular moderator, please refer to this guide.. wink.gif
I'm not here to complain on any moderator nor admin, I open this thread to clear things up and I want proof that IS IT ILLEGAL TO OWN GREEN LASER POINTER. I also did not mention any name that I'm not satisfy with.
stevanistelrooy
post Jun 24 2010, 10:12 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Jun 24 2010, 09:59 PM)
Please do enlighten me on what is 'high-powered lasers' Because as far as I know, high-powered lasers are those burning laser, I will call that lethal and dangerous and I will back down if that's case.
So what if other country are banning these green lasers? Do we really need to follow their law instead of our own? Do we also banned bubble gum from selling in this country just because Singapore has banned it? Makes no sense.
I'm not here to complain on any moderator nor admin, I open this thread to clear things up and I want proof that IS IT ILLEGAL TO OWN GREEN LASER POINTER. I also did not mention any name that I'm not satisfy with.

Read this bloody link, get us an official Ministry of Health reply saying that it is not banned.

Period. Also , remember, you are using LYN.net as your medium of trading without any charges. If there is a thing that you can do, prove us wrong and we will reconsider.

This post has been edited by stevanistelrooy: Jun 24 2010, 10:15 PM
chiahau
post Jun 24 2010, 10:16 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Jun 24 2010, 11:12 PM)

Read this bloody link, get us an official Ministry of Health reply saying that it is not banned.

Period. Also , remember, you are using LYN.net as your medium of trading without any charges. If there is a thing that you can do, prove us wrong and we will reconsider.
If I may add, technically, its banned in USA and other country but there is no official statement in M'sia except for an old newspaper cuttings in 1999.
Therefore, I think its safe to assume that the ban is still being uphold till now.

TSjolipoli81
post Jun 24 2010, 10:37 PM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Jun 24 2010, 10:12 PM)

First of all, these green laser I am selling are meant for those to use it for star pointing, construction site pointing and even presentation for lecturers. I have a lot of customers get these green lasers for that purposes. It is like if you're selling a cooking knife, it is not consider illegal right? Until the user had decided to use it for illegal matter such as murdering, the user had misused the item.

I still don't see any conclusive proof that Malaysia had officially banned or state the the green laser I am selling is illegal in Malaysia.

If you say that we have to ban item based on other country's regulation, then should we ban chewing gum just because Singapore had banned it?

Till then, I still believe owning a green laser is still not an illegal item in Malaysia's law and I want proof from the admin that it is officially state in the Malaysia law that it is illegal to own green laser.
max_cjs0101
post Jun 24 2010, 10:40 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Jun 24 2010, 10:37 PM)
First of all, these green laser I am selling are meant for those to use it for star pointing, construction site pointing and even presentation for lecturers. I have a lot of customers get these green lasers for that purposes. It is like if you're selling a cooking knife, it is not consider illegal right? Until the user had decided to use it for illegal matter such as murdering, the user had misused the item.

I still don't see any conclusive proof that Malaysia had officially banned or state the the green laser I am selling is illegal in Malaysia.

If you say that we have to ban item based on other country's regulation, then should we ban chewing gum just because Singapore had banned it?

Till then, I still believe owning a green laser is still not an illegal item in Malaysia's law and I want proof from the admin that it is officially state in the Malaysia law that it is illegal to own green laser.
You have to understand that it might be misused as there are minors in the forum. So, when we decide that it would not be right to sell it in the forum, the decision is final. There's no point of asking the admins to proof anything to you. Its our rules and regulations and like anybody else, you have to abide by it.

This post has been edited by max_cjs0101: Jun 24 2010, 10:43 PM
stevanistelrooy
post Jun 24 2010, 11:08 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Jun 24 2010, 10:37 PM)

We ain't your ordinary pasar malam. We are a community oriented forum. Who cares whether your customer is lecturer, kids or workers? Our concern is community Safety and Health!

We have nothing to proof. You are!
You are using our forum as your medium to sell your product for your own profit/gain. We don't. We provide you a place to trade your items. We receive complaint your items is banned. We review it, we accept the proof provided.
You , as a seller, to proof that your item is LEGAL, isn't that is your RESPONSIBILITY to PROVE TO US?
Look, we din't owe you anything.

Same as the analogy Selling replica shirt, we have proof that it is FAKE. It is your responsibility to PROVE it is NOT!

TSjolipoli81
post Jun 25 2010, 01:36 AM

Look at all my blinks
1,256 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Jun 24 2010, 11:08 PM)
We ain't your ordinary pasar malam. We are a community oriented forum. Who cares whether your customer is lecturer, kids or workers? Our concern is community Safety and Health!

We have nothing to proof. You are!
You are using our forum as your medium to sell your product for your own profit/gain. We don't. We provide you a place to trade your items. We receive complaint your items is banned. We review it, we accept the proof provided.
You , as a seller, to proof that your item is LEGAL, isn't that is your RESPONSIBILITY to PROVE TO US?
Look, we din't owe you anything.

Same as the analogy Selling replica shirt, we have proof that it is FAKE. It is your responsibility to PROVE it is NOT!

You're talking about profit now. Is there any hidden message there?

Proof, are these enough to back me up? Do guide me on what proof should I provide to convince lowyat.
1. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...10173003AAAiK0w
2. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...25192932AAMskTb
3. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...25012311AACbUYT
4. http://malaysia.answers.yahoo.com/question...07141908AApv8sy

I did not say this forum owe me anything, I appreciate how much lowyat had contribute to me. But you guys have to be reasonable when it comes to such matter.
I seek for proof, and you guys ask me to proof back, so I've tried.

I hope the next time if lowyat's admin were to close down any thread, do give us a heads up and not just close it immediately and without giving any acceptable reasons.

IMPORTANT: Please do refer to this post, I hope it helps.

This post has been edited by jolipoli81: Jun 25 2010, 02:26 AM
-=Axis=-
post Jun 25 2010, 07:09 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

Easy, get your items reviewed by PDRM, SIRIM or any related governing bodies and come back with a cert. Or, sell them else where.
stimix
post Jun 25 2010, 07:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah I think the best get verification from PDRM since custom also confuse on this thingy...furthermore diffeent custim having diff tariff intepretation wan.. biggrin.gif

Normally all this fiasco started from alerts from forumers & after backdoor discussion, the mods, admin & staff decided to ban it. Sometime we can't find any real or direct reference to any law but common sense will tell you this thing is dangerous.

For eg..recently another item was banned althoug previously allowed i.e. the wifi hacking tools...We actually can't find any laws on this but common sense will tell us it's wrong to hack neigbour wifi line.. smile.gif

Imagine this balloon popping toy shine on baby accidently:

QUOTE(-=Axis=- @ Jun 25 2010, 07:09 AM)
Easy, get your items reviewed by PDRM, SIRIM or any related governing bodies and come back with a cert. Or, sell them else where.
This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 25 2010, 07:31 AM

0.0188sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:53 PM