iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 06:18 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jun 23 2010, 06:03 PM)
http://gizmodo.com/5569969/iphone-3g-owner...old-off-on-ios4

here it is.. those on 3g better stay off.. use the older version.
you should read the comments dude. btw, anyone on 3g have tried upgrading? mind telling me the result? im downloading the iOS4 thru itunes now. can't wait! (:

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 23 2010, 06:19 PM
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 06:41 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(garyngkt @ Jun 23 2010, 06:37 PM)
Yah like Barteria, want to get comments from those on iPhone 3G running iOS4. Some comments say whole phone become very slow while some say its ok.
i just finished clean/factory restore my 3g to iOS4. super smooth n faster than ever. seriously guys. i tried everything, nothing shows any signs of lagging.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 23 2010, 07:03 PM
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 07:01 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 23 2010, 06:57 PM)
@meon55
i think you have some old non-Apple files in your backup. cos I updated mine, and its smooth smile.gif
feels like a new phone again smile.gif
yeah, same goes here and i think so too. but i don't know the solution. try identifying your particular problem (like which app is lagging) and google it?
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 07:26 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 23 2010, 07:20 PM)
err.. i tot itunes 9.2 wont let u downgrade to 3.1.3 fw anymore? hope im wrong thou?
i think OS can downgrade, the only thing cannot is the baseband? i think lah. correct me if im wrong

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 23 2010, 07:26 PM
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 08:18 PM

299 posts

i notice that you can now disable cellular data now in iOS4 without needing us to load the carrier bundle file into the phone. is this feature completely disables the cellular data function?
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 08:35 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Feugo @ Jun 23 2010, 08:24 PM)
Guys how to turn off the "multitasking function" errr?? help~
why would you wanna turn it off? its a great feature.

Added on June 23, 2010, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(chuanchuan90 @ Jun 23 2010, 08:34 PM)
but i only can on or off the cellular data ,unable to manually setting.. sad.gif
try to find a ur carrier's carrier budle support file for iOS4? maybe can enable the cellular data network settings

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 23 2010, 08:36 PM
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 09:04 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(chuanchuan90 @ Jun 23 2010, 08:40 PM)
opps, just found that u r LX3 fan too.. rclxms.gif  carrier budle support file? wats that? sry,stupid question... blush.gif
here refer to this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226

lol yeah im a lx3 fan too (:
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 09:53 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(garyngkt @ Jun 23 2010, 09:15 PM)
Barteria-could you tell me roughly the steps you took to restore it, is it via the ipsw file then you restore from iTunes?.
yeah, 1st u download the OS file at the beginning of this forum. then open itunes, plug in ur phone, hold Shift n click on "Restore" button, then find ur ipsw file and select it. thats all. the rest is done by itunes n then u can sync back with ur old back up or make it fresh new iphone.

Added on June 23, 2010, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(jingyong @ Jun 23 2010, 09:33 PM)
anyone knows whether iPhone 3G will have the local notification thingy? coz i really like to have this feature without having to use internet for the push notification..
what do u mean by local notification?

Added on June 23, 2010, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(takenaga @ Jun 23 2010, 09:33 PM)
cancelled. again. i got this message;

"C:\Users\User\Downloads\iPod2,1_4.0_8A293_Restore(2).ipsw.part could not be saved, because the source file could not be read.

Try again later, or contact the server administrator."

what does it mean?
r u downloading thru itunes? try downloading thru this thread at the 1st page then follow instructions i gave above. hope this helps thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 23 2010, 09:56 PM
barteria
post Jun 23 2010, 10:28 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Jun 23 2010, 10:25 PM)
Bro...just take care of yr ass...ok... if u don't want to answer...nobody force u one...

(if u don't eat shit...nobody can force u eat shit...understand english ah ??)  cool2.gif

(if u want to KPC...go...& post at every forum...tell all forumers...don't ask questions here....just use GOOGLE....)  whistling.gif
he has a point. you should search before ask. ppl in this forum usually discuss about something that is rarely found on google. duh
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 12:05 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Jun 23 2010, 10:52 PM)
OK...NOTED....is my mistakes. I should not have ask the Stupid Question (instead of googling) ...
(what i can't stand, is his arrogant comment "if u can understand English...is a degrading & arrogant in my opinion..
i won't give should arrogant comment...even if I hold a PhD )..

to all Bro...so sorry..... smile.gif  (peace)
(Bro bacteria...if we don't post it here...how do people find the answer thru Google ?? Google is a search engine of internet postings right ?
many times...when i try to search some info via google...most of the times the answers,....and replies to the questions asked by Bro in lowyat forum or other forum itself shown in the Google search!!!)
well in this case its Apple, you can always go to their website n look for it. plenty of iPhone 4 & iOS4 infos there. im sure every single thing you wanna know is there. all he's trying to say is make a thorough search in google/particular web n this forum itself b4 asking. anyways, happy searching n hope u find ur answers soon. peace icon_rolleyes.gif
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 12:07 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Jun 23 2010, 11:53 PM)
Just wanna share my experience here on my i3G:

-wifi better. Even if the line is kinda weak, my i3G can still remain on wifi connection, as before this always drop.
-i experiment with two types of iOS4. One is the current one, the other one is the Golden Master Candidate (GM). Both .ipsw file are different only in term of size. The GM version slightly bigger than the current iOS4. After meddling with both version, I must say, the GM version felt much snappier than the current iOS4. App load faster, multitask less lag (I enable multitask function).
wifi better eh? didn't notice that coz my home wifi is strong enough. i always had that weak wifi signal issue b4. will look up to that one later when im going somewhere known with weak wifi signal.

btw, does the multitasking shows any sign of lagging the phone performance?
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 12:16 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(n406 @ Jun 24 2010, 12:14 AM)
Yeah, Camera faster...
there is 1 thing i wanted to ask.. what is that portrait oriented locked/unlocked??
in that Ipod Multitasking bar!
i think its to enable/disable auto screen rotation?
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 12:32 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Jun 24 2010, 12:30 AM)
Yup..I got my friend, using 3GS, on 3.1.3, cannot find any wifi signal whereas me, using 3G, using iOS4, can easily gain at least one bar, and maintained that connection.

For the multitasking part, yes it does decrease my 3G performance if I left all the backgrounded process running (Settings, Clock, Mail, Camera, etc). Thats why I gradually manually terminate all the process, either via tap-and-hold the icon and tap the "-" sign, or, using SBSettings. But I must say, even with all those running processes, my 3G perform much much better comparing using Backgrounder back in 3.1.x.
oh, now i feel kinda regret skipping that enable multitasking part. lol, nvm then. later on i'll play again. too tired of waiting everything to be completed haha
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 01:11 PM

299 posts

one more thing i notice after almost 24hrs upgrading to iOS4 is my battery life stands longer than b4. i usually off all the bluetooth,wifi,3g and cellular. of course that made my battery life go longer, but iOS4 made it last much more longer. my battery was around a quater left last night, and i woke up this morning its still that much while usually it'll go red in the morning. good job Apple smile.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 24 2010, 01:14 PM
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 09:46 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(EdG3 @ Jun 24 2010, 09:26 PM)
Why signal drops on the new Iphone 4.

A pretty major oversight by Apple.
Doesn't stop me from getting it when it comes here though.  tongue.gif
actually u can prevent this by putting on the bumpers that apple brought out as an accessories for the iP4. so yeah, nothing is preventing ppl from getting the iP4 (:

Added on June 24, 2010, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(cynical66 @ Jun 24 2010, 09:39 PM)
ahh!!! so many major issues...there was also many problems when 1st iphone 2g come out..still, iphone tops all phone sale till today...

come on, guys...all phones hav their own pros & cons...its not like if this issue is real, u guys not gonna buy it...lol

i'm sure big company like Apple wont do stupid things to harm their reputation...just dat some nosy people who like to make fuss over some small issue..

i'm using nokia 5800xm rite now...1 1/2 years & still going strong...there was time when ppl keep saying its made in china, plastics cover like junk, this & that..mine, i got no prob..even dat i just updated firmware to the latest last nite..feels like iphone..lol
dun misunderstand dat i'm asking u guys to buy 5800XM..me myself wan iPhone 4 too...heheheheh
SUMMORE - why do they like to complain instead of trying to help solving the issue? really NATO (no action, talk only)
u have your point there man n i totally agree with that. ppl kept reviewin the bad stuff come on nothing is perfect in this world? even the most expensive stuff got their flaws somewhere. same goes to us human beings who actually created these stuffs, wouldn't it be logic why theres flaws here n there?and theres solution to the problem anywaws thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 24 2010, 09:52 PM
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 10:50 PM

299 posts

the mystery of yellow spot on iphone 4 screen solved : http://www.engadget.com/2010/06/24/iphone-...-a-bit-of-time/
barteria
post Jun 24 2010, 11:08 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ Jun 24 2010, 11:02 PM)
guys quick one.
from 3.1.3, "Shift + Restore" > select OS4 = restore or update? kinda confusing here

and

after OS4 upgrade > "set as new phone" = all previous saved data gone?
if this is what it takes to fix the 3G signal problem
nvrr done this but i THINK as long as u've sync everything like mails, contacts, notes to outlook/windows or mac contact or whatever than can be saved on, then set as new phone u get totally clean like fresh out of the box phone but when u sync back everything back in their places. n i think except for smses. i don't think outlook or whatever softwares can sync with smses (correct me if im wrong).

but don't blame me if u cnt get back evrything coz im unsure myself, do at ur own risk bro icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 24 2010, 11:10 PM
barteria
post Jun 25 2010, 02:22 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(FreddieKam @ Jun 25 2010, 02:19 PM)
now u make me think twice bout downloading...others have experience facing this? help!?? rclxub.gif
i think maybe his iphone got soaked wet made it become that way. my 3g has been working fine for 2 days with ios4 now. altho theres 1-2 second lag in loading msg n camera, im still satisfied because other apps seems fine so far n battery life seems longer than b4.
barteria
post Jun 25 2010, 06:47 PM

299 posts

btw, is there any way iphone 3g can use that screen lock orientation? im getting sick of auto rotating if i accidentally tilt the phone a bit.

This post has been edited by barteria: Jun 25 2010, 06:49 PM
barteria
post Jun 25 2010, 09:42 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Jun 25 2010, 09:38 PM)
Any reception problem when hold it on bottom left of the phone when call someone??
I mean your hand totally cover like shown
aiyo no need to ask la any more lah. majority iphone 4 is having this issue n apple is aware of that from the beginning so thats y they make that bumpers. u urself hv read that in gizmodo as well as engadget too.

0.0466sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:17 AM