iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 10:32 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(mikelim89 @ Jun 22 2010, 10:31 PM)
i keep pressing Home Button  tongue.gif  i sked i hv to send for repair soon due to sunken key  tongue.gif  now my button abit sunk
lol yea the home button usage increase much due to multitask,i can feel the pressure on my phone as well
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 10:57 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(jingyong @ Jun 22 2010, 10:54 PM)
how come i dont see my Folders in iphone 3G?
drag and drop the apps onto 1 another to create folders,AND only 12 apps per folder

it seems many ppl are still unaware confused on how to use certain features for ios 4.maybe we should post a guideline on page 1
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 10:58 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(dmaestro @ Jun 22 2010, 10:57 PM)
is there a way turn off the multitasking? smile.gif feel a bit annoying since need to kill the running applications one by one once open it.

Added on June 22, 2010, 10:58 pmis there a way turn off the multitasking? smile.gif feel a bit annoying since need to kill the running applications one by one once open it.
its a integrated thing which is supposed to bring benefits.actually i dun find the need to kill the apps unless there's some heavy 1s.bcoz it really dont seem to impact the performance and batt life much
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 11:05 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(dmaestro @ Jun 22 2010, 11:03 PM)
so if i let the applications running, will it off automatically or it will be there until manually off?
i think it will stay on until u decide to kill it...
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 11:08 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jun 22 2010, 11:06 PM)
Well i think the someone mentioned that the multitasking on Iphone is not true multasking since currently any app that you open when pressed the HOME key it closes but shows up in the multitasking tab..a multitasking app will continue where it was stopped but on the Iphone it restarts all over again..i tested this with games and it restarts all over...

and to be honest i dont see it having an adverse effect on the battery life with the so called "multitasking" app minimized might i say iOS4 has improved the battery life by a bit..my batt levels are at 42% with a few calls and sms'es and short games....

I think for the moment the multitasking is just to show what are the apps that you've opened recently when you invoke it it restarts..does it mean it runs in the background if it does it should continue from the point it was stopped but not with this one...so i can that you can give yourselves a break from double pressing the HOME button twice each time to close the app..yeah there will be a clutter of apps but i guess its just to show what apps you have used...and im only gonna clear it once a day  laugh.gif  since as i mentioned earlier, it doesnt seem to affect the battery life or the speed of processing ...well of course if you do have OCD then by all means go ahead and close the app each time by invoking the Home button... laugh.gif oh i have an Iphone 16GB 3GS btw..

and just a little bit of disclamer Ive come to this conclusion based on my test that ive done throughout today and results may or not vary if you decide to do what i did  smile.gif
for certain apps they will still do their job in the background,for eg youtube.users have reported tht youtube will cont to load videos the in the background while the user is busy at other things eg messaging or browsing
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 11:12 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ Jun 22 2010, 11:10 PM)
iphone loads the app again because most app out there does not support multitasking yet. we'll just have to wait until the developers update them to be multitasking compatible biggrin.gif
good point thr.i guess this is an issue with the apps instead of the multitasking itself
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 11:45 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(n406 @ Jun 22 2010, 11:44 PM)
where is the ibook? where is the mail different? how to set? @@
iBook need to download from app store.mail different...u need to refer 1st post.i myself does not use mail tht much tongue.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 22 2010, 11:49 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 22 2010, 11:46 PM)
ehh, after closed the apps then it will list down to multitask bar and you need to close it by urself?it wont close by itself?
i open more than 10+ apps and all the apps listed at the bar..i need to close it by myself =.="
yes but its not a big issue with me,bcoz the impact on performance and batt life is vry minimal.if thrs some heavy games or apps thn i will close it
ZeneticX
post Jun 23 2010, 12:32 AM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(kirii @ Jun 23 2010, 12:24 AM)
Erm..facebook for iPhone works perfectly with the new multitasking..bt buddy and windows live messenger aren't...any idea?or wait for apps developers to update?
it seems thrs bug for fb on os 4,the links under notification doesn't seem to work anymore,when click it jz stuck thr

for the multitask thg,ya for now jz have to wait for an update by developers
ZeneticX
post Jun 23 2010, 05:52 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

after about 2 days using OS 4 on my 3gs,imho i can say tht its not worth to upgrade to 4 frm 3gs unless u rly can afford it

with os 4 on 3gs,the only thing diff frm iphone 4 is the screen,design,vid call,camera and the added gyroscope.performance wise can't say much yet bcoz some apps haven't rly utilized the multitasking but so far the impact is minimal,same goes for batt life

but for 3g users i can say its rly a nice upgrade
ZeneticX
post Jun 24 2010, 06:32 AM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 23 2010, 07:16 PM)
this ZeneticX fella really blur or what?
iPhone4 is a different hardware. new glass, new camera, new every single freaking thing.
haven't pegang or try the real thing yet, what use is your opinion?
would be like if I review a new car (eg Proton Exora) by saying, "Aiyah same engine as Persona, nothing special la" ...
did u read imho?do u even know the meaning of it?

and did i bash the iphone 4 thr?no?

and before saying me blur,look at the points tht i've stated wats diff between iphone 4 and 3gs

AND before saying "o wai u missed out bla bla bla",yes i noe iphone 4 have a new proc.but i've stated my point thr tht the impact on 3gs performance is still minimal now,hence my opinion

"haven't pegang or try the real thing yet, what use is your opinion?" - tell tht to many ppl out thr rolleyes.gif

i doubt u even clearly read my whole post or understand it

sigh ppl this days doh.gif

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 24 2010, 06:53 AM
ZeneticX
post Jun 28 2010, 02:21 AM

stars for what
12,412 posts

holy cow comparing the size of the screen to 3gs

wondering 1 year down wat will happen to 5g
ZeneticX
post Jun 28 2010, 02:46 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(Shoki @ Jun 28 2010, 12:59 PM)
Thx. You've cleared my doubt. I'm more confident of cutting my own sim card now if Maxis is still so slow.

@ZeneticX
Isn't the screen still 3.5 inch?
The resolution
ZeneticX
post Jul 18 2010, 12:30 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

OS 4.0.1 is up.jz some minor update for the so called signal bar prob

ZeneticX
post Jul 18 2010, 01:11 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 18 2010, 12:41 PM)
err isn't it has been released few days ago?
lazy to chk whole thread,jz went through the last 4 pages

oh well i admit

0.1420sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:52 AM