126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

objectifyme
post Jun 26 2010, 02:41 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 26 2010, 02:01 PM)
ah dude if you check before you type the 3GS uses a different broadcomm chip then iphone 4 for wifi, the 3GS is up to G only while the iPhone 4 is up too N,and also to be fair the iphone 3GS was having issues as well(took time to load as opposed to seamless loading speed)
Okay, I don't get it. What does that have to do with the antenna? Sure, it uses a different chip. But if the antenna is the problem, it doesn't really matter what chip it uses, does it?

Note: No intention of stirring up an argument. Just looking for answers. smile.gif

This post has been edited by objectifyme: Jun 26 2010, 02:42 PM
Masamune
post Jun 26 2010, 02:52 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jun 26 2010, 02:41 PM)
Okay, I don't get it. What does that have to do with the antenna? Sure, it uses a different chip. But if the antenna is the problem, it doesn't really matter what chip it uses, does it?

Note: No intention of stirring up an argument. Just looking for answers. smile.gif
It matters. N wireless network and G wireless network works at a totally different way. Not to mention different bands. But the iPhone 4 was mentioned to use the 2.4GHz only.

In my point of view..i think because most laptops etc during the keynote is using N-wireless and all this time iPhone presentation uses the G-wireless. But when apple launched the iPhone 4 with N-wireless capabilities the network got congested.

Just my 2 cents.
objectifyme
post Jun 26 2010, 03:05 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 26 2010, 02:52 PM)
It matters. N wireless network and G wireless network works at a totally different way. Not to mention different bands. But the iPhone 4 was mentioned to use the 2.4GHz only.

In my point of view..i think because most laptops etc during the keynote is using N-wireless and all this time iPhone presentation uses the G-wireless. But when apple launched the iPhone 4 with N-wireless capabilities the network got congested.

Just my 2 cents.
As far as I know, as long as the device (regardless of whether it runs wireless N or G) is connected to the same network, there shouldn't be any connectivity problems. For example, if both wireless N and wireless G are connecting to a 5 mbps connection over wi-fi, both would connect the same way except that N would have a higher speed cap and better range. I don't believe that all N wireless cards would connect through a N portal and all G cards would connect through a G portal. The only thing N gives, in my opinion, is superior speed cap and signal (due to the larger range it covers.).

If I am wrong please correct me with some sources. This is just from my own understanding. I have not done any research.
Masamune
post Jun 26 2010, 03:16 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jun 26 2010, 03:05 PM)
As far as I know, as long as the device (regardless of whether it runs wireless N or G) is connected to the same network, there shouldn't be any connectivity problems. For example, if both wireless N and wireless G are connecting to a 5 mbps connection over wi-fi, both would connect the same way except that N would have a higher speed cap and better range. I don't believe that all N wireless cards would connect through a N portal and all G cards would connect through a G portal. The only thing N gives, in my opinion, is superior speed cap and signal (due to the larger range it covers.).

If I am wrong please correct me with some sources. This is just from my own understanding. I have not done any research.
I didn't do any research also. But based on my experience in my shared apartment with my friends. Only my mac has the N-wireless capabilities compared to my friends. And i can see a noticeable difference in browsing speed etc.
objectifyme
post Jun 26 2010, 03:21 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 26 2010, 03:16 PM)
I didn't do any research also. But based on my experience in my shared apartment with my friends. Only my mac has the N-wireless capabilities compared to my friends. And i can see a noticeable difference in browsing speed etc.
Yup, of course. N-wireless covers better range, therefore it has better signal and speed.
ruztynail
post Jun 26 2010, 03:27 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

so what are u guys saying? if there are allot of base stations with N tech in it, in a single hall. it congest everything up and the network wont work??

funny... those bloggers and media people on that particular N hardware seem to be able to do live postings.. and hv no trouble at all..

weird isnt it.. IP4 got problems but no one turn to the other 500++ laptops

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Jun 26 2010, 03:28 PM
beavis68
post Jun 26 2010, 04:41 PM

I want my chicken Picata!! r u threatening me?
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 26 2010, 01:36 PM)
Great dude..where are u? When my iphone 4 arrives maybe need ur help cut..follow any guide?
Whoa..great addition dude..  rclxms.gif
I'm in KL pm mr if you need help in cutting the sim. One simple advice try not to cut into the gold area of the sim.
Masamune
post Jun 26 2010, 04:53 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jun 26 2010, 04:41 PM)
I'm in KL pm mr if you need help in cutting the sim. One simple advice try not to cut into the gold area of the sim.
Alright i'll let u know once my iPhone 4 gets here.
Anyway from all the guides i saw online u need to cut abit off the gold area of the sim. Am i wrong?
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2010, 04:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 26 2010, 04:53 PM)
Alright i'll let u know once my iPhone 4 gets here.
Anyway from all the guides i saw online u need to cut abit off the gold area of the sim. Am i wrong?
If your SIM is the older version, then yes, you will have to cut through the golden area of the chip. Latest simcards will have the gold chip size smaller and after trimming it down, it will still be possible not to damage any of the gold chip part.
Masamune
post Jun 26 2010, 05:01 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 26 2010, 04:56 PM)
If your SIM is the older version, then yes, you will have to cut through the golden area of the chip. Latest simcards will have the gold chip size smaller and after trimming it down, it will still be possible not to damage any of the gold chip part.
Great! Thanks for the heads up! How's ur iPhone?
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2010, 05:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 26 2010, 05:01 PM)
Great! Thanks for the heads up! How's ur iPhone?
Panicked for a while, because it took the iPhone longer to register and retrieve the Celcom signal. Probably because Celcom is not a supported telco. It registers after that. Also, make sure that after you trim your Simcard, that it seats on the microsim tray properly. I had a "NO SIM" message once but after reseating the sim properly, no more issues after that. Naturally, DO NOT trim your simcard SMALLER than the microsim size, otherwise the sim will be jangling around the tray and won't register contact between the gold chip area and the microsim contact area inside the iPhone. It is best to trim to a size slightly bigger than the microsim size, and then slowly chip away at the size until it fits nicely. I used the microsim I got for my 3G iPad as reference.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 26 2010, 06:09 PM
michael_cool
post Jun 26 2010, 05:56 PM

54 posts

I myself doesnt possess a iphone. If i not mistaken, now 3GS by using itunes can free update or install IOS 4, is it true? If is so but why stil got ppl offer or download fr internet for 3GS upgrade to IOS4? Or those jailbreak 3GS nid tis kind of "support"?

Is ther any1 try compare b4 => 3GS wit IOS4 COMPARE wit Iphone4 wit IOS4 performance? Same OS but diff hardware/hp~

thx!
bem69
post Jun 26 2010, 06:01 PM

K-Bem
2,657 posts

QUOTE(michael_cool @ Jun 26 2010, 05:56 PM)
I myself doesnt possess a iphone. If i not mistaken, now 3GS by using itunes can free update or install IOS 4, is it true? If is so but why stil got ppl offer or download fr internet for 3GS upgrade to IOS4? Or those jailbreak 3GS nid tis kind of "support"?

Is ther any1 try compare b4 => 3GS wit IOS4 COMPARE wit Iphone4 wit IOS4 performance? Same OS but diff hardware/hp~

thx!
You can read thru the thread... PLENTY of info smile.gif
INGfusion
post Jun 26 2010, 06:02 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,500 posts

i wan ask if os4 after i press the home button the apps wont close ? have to double tap home button and close it . normally should be closed but y os4 wont close
bem69
post Jun 26 2010, 06:04 PM

K-Bem
2,657 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jun 26 2010, 06:02 PM)
i wan ask if os4 after i press the home button the apps wont close ? have to double tap home button and close it . normally should be closed but y os4 wont close
you mean it goes back to the folder?
Masamune
post Jun 26 2010, 06:04 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Jun 26 2010, 06:02 PM)
Because of multi tasking
objectifyme
post Jun 26 2010, 06:16 PM

804 posts

Jailbroken 3GS phones can still update using iTunes with no problems whatsoever. The iOS 4 download on the web is just an alternative for people who choose not to use iTunes to download it. This is due to problems with the iTunes downloader, slower speed, etc.

iPhone 4 running iOS 4 should be much faster than 3GS due to the newer hardware (1 GHz processor and 512 MB RAM). Technically, the OS should run much smoother and quicker than before.
INGfusion
post Jun 26 2010, 06:28 PM

iPong Oren Leh
7,500 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Jun 26 2010, 06:04 PM)
you mean it goes back to the folder?
no i mean i playing game and i quit the game to menu by press home button.

and the i double tap the home button again it the program closed it wont show in multi task there ?

if it were there i need to hold the icon and close it
nimrod323
post Jun 26 2010, 06:31 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jun 26 2010, 03:05 PM)

look buddy we are not talking about congestion in a similar connection, its basically issues with overload bandwith, because there were 500++ personal mifi devices emitting either N or G wireless signals at the same time in a packed room it has nothing to do with connection speed,

This should explain the predicament better

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 26 2010, 06:32 PM
ksc_3688
post Jun 26 2010, 06:43 PM

1,138 posts

Just spoke to maxis CS. they said micro-sim is available for any walk-ins and they would be bringing-in the iphone 4 somewhere in september

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:50 AM