QUOTE(cradowx @ Jun 24 2010, 10:49 AM)
i restore from jailbroken 3.1.3 straight to iOS 4. no problem at all.iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread
iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread
Jun 24 2010, 04:16 PM
343 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Jun 24 2010, 04:20 PM
138 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Any different with you guys who go update directly through itune or restore from external restore file? I did the external file method and now my 3GS is sluggish. Scrolling safari is sluggish, scrolling app at home is sluggish and even photo album. App also seems to pop up slower. Anyone?
Jun 24 2010, 04:21 PM
20 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Jun 24 2010, 04:27 PM
2,149 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Malaysia |
Any iphone 3GS users here experiencing incoming call lag for few seconds (1-2 sec) before the phone start ringing on iOS4 ?
Jun 24 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(bluehyppo @ Jun 24 2010, 03:20 PM) Hi there, after you upgrade to iOS4 did you "restore" the data, OR "setup as new phone" and then sync back the data? Bluehyppo,I have not tried it out yet but I read someone else post in LYN (sorry, I can't find the exact post at the moment) saying if you "restore", will get the few things missing you mentioned. The poster said he/she then try to "setup as new phone" and sync, and by doing this way he/she did not get the problems. Hope this helps and please let us know if it works for you or not. I chose restore data rather that factory default. Now i'm trying to do that and hopfully it will recover. |
Jun 24 2010, 04:39 PM
13,783 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
950 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
427 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
my friend ,there is a 8GB 3GS .. new release , but not reach malaysia yet ...
Jun 24 2010, 04:48 PM
281 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(luxmania @ Jun 24 2010, 02:55 PM) I just upgraded my 3GS to iOS 4 and few things missing.. For MMS, try going to Settings>Messages and set "MMS Messaging" to On, just in case it's off.1. I cannot do MMS 2. My internet connection did not work I already reset the phone many times and it still there...any suggestion? For internet connection, I read somewhere, try putting your iPhone in Airplane mode a few times. 3-4 times, and see if internet comes back. |
Jun 24 2010, 04:49 PM
263 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Jun 24 2010, 04:50 PM
Guys,
Thanks for the tip from Bluehyppo, i manage to get back the MMS and internet connection. Yes, i think u need to set it as fresh phone after upgrade to iOS 4.0. Thanks!! |
Jun 24 2010, 04:59 PM
292 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: PJ |
QUOTE(luxmania @ Jun 24 2010, 04:50 PM) Guys, Glad to hear it worked, credit to the person who originally posted it in one of the threads (I will try to locate the exact post when I am home later...)!Thanks for the tip from Bluehyppo, i manage to get back the MMS and internet connection. Yes, i think u need to set it as fresh phone after upgrade to iOS 4.0. Thanks!! |
Jun 24 2010, 05:11 PM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Strawberry Island |
update directly from itunes 378mb and if download from this thread is 579mb?
Jun 24 2010, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(Alviano @ Jun 24 2010, 04:20 PM) Any different with you guys who go update directly through itune or restore from external restore file? I did the external file method and now my 3GS is sluggish. Scrolling safari is sluggish, scrolling app at home is sluggish and even photo album. App also seems to pop up slower. Anyone? i restore using external restore file. my i3GS working fine. no problem at all. |
Jun 24 2010, 05:49 PM
825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
I m still on 3.1.2, can I skip 3.1.3 directly jump to ios4?
Jun 24 2010, 05:51 PM
2,715 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: The backyards of boleh land |
I did at times notice the lag on iOS4 for incoming calls and it seems to me that when you swipe your finger across the screen, it doenst flow smoothly to the other page as it used to in Version 3.1.3,
but these are just tiny lil things, to say them being major issue's would be nitpicking of an OS that has served me so well so far, I guess i got used to them after 2 full days of usage , battery life has been great for me and that alone is enough to keep me satisfied Added on June 24, 2010, 5:52 pm QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jun 24 2010, 05:49 PM) JB? non JB? if JB restore your phone first before upgrade. non JB just jump to V4 no issues This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 24 2010, 05:52 PM |
Jun 24 2010, 06:03 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
yup yup, i did that too...
Jun 24 2010, 06:05 PM
825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(triple02 @ Jun 24 2010, 05:51 PM) I did at times notice the lag on iOS4 for incoming calls and it seems to me that when you swipe your finger across the screen, it doenst flow smoothly to the other page as it used to in Version 3.1.3, just now I tried to update thro iTunes, it only show update 3.1.3. Is this normal?but these are just tiny lil things, to say them being major issue's would be nitpicking of an OS that has served me so well so far, I guess i got used to them after 2 full days of usage , battery life has been great for me and that alone is enough to keep me satisfied Added on June 24, 2010, 5:52 pm JB? non JB? if JB restore your phone first before upgrade. non JB just jump to V4 no issues |
Jun 24 2010, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(bluehyppo @ Jun 24 2010, 03:20 PM) Hi there, after you upgrade to iOS4 did you "restore" the data, OR "setup as new phone" and then sync back the data? i restored my i3GS from jailbroken 3.1.3 to iOS 4 and restored my back up. everything ok. nothing missing except internet tethering but it already missing since 3.1.2.I have not tried it out yet but I read someone else post in LYN (sorry, I can't find the exact post at the moment) saying if you "restore", will get the few things missing you mentioned. The poster said he/she then try to "setup as new phone" and sync, and by doing this way he/she did not get the problems. Hope this helps and please let us know if it works for you or not. Added on June 24, 2010, 6:10 pm QUOTE(hellwaker @ Jun 24 2010, 06:05 PM) update your itunes to 9.2This post has been edited by userONIX: Jun 24 2010, 06:10 PM |
Jun 24 2010, 06:11 PM
308 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
HI,
Sorry, may I know what does internet tethering means here? I notice many ppl said it is missing.. Is it the one at Settings > General > Network > Internet Tethering? We can use this option as a modem by connecting the iphone via USB or bluetooth.. Why is it not working? Sorry if i ask a silly question here.. |
| Change to: | 0.0193sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:44 PM |