iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

nokia2003
post Aug 10 2010, 02:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 10 2010, 12:20 PM)
The White IPhone 4.

Is coming to HK.

Do not drool. tongue.gif

Source: http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/?prod...598&tid=4489197

** Note: Look at the box, it stated iPhone 4, 32GB, Black.
But how come the set is in white  icon_idea.gif 

Anyhow, white i4 still very chio.  thumbup.gif
white is not 'chio' la.

looks weird with the 2 camera lens and proximity sensor.

white was only nice on 3G & 3GS.

however since you are gal, I suppose that you pull it off.

this one will probably cause a dent on my male ego (doesn't look good on my online dating resume/profile)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 10 2010, 02:36 PM
nokia2003
post Aug 17 2010, 09:49 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(anonymous4privacy @ Aug 17 2010, 09:46 AM)
good day to all,

I am not sure which is the appropriate thread to post this inquiry, so I am posting it here in hopes someone could shed some light.

my wife is an iphone 3g user and she loves iphone very much. Since the release of iphone 4, I wanted to get it for her. I went down to Lowyat to survey the phone and the price with my wife and also allowing her to play with it. She loved it and it reaffirmed my intention of getting her one.

to my surprise, upon survey, the price for iphone 4 16gb simfree/factory unlockec is going in the range of 3500-3800. Maybe "you can swindle me" is written all over my head. this discouraged us and we decided to drop the intention.

my question is:
1. what is the market price for simfree/factory unlocked phone?
2. should i get iphone from the dealers in lowyat which claims it is from UK/US/SG?
3. should i wait for maxis to launch the phone?
4. is it cheaper, when maxis launch the phone?
6. i think i saw somewhere here that maxis phones are unlocked phones?
7. we are going to migrate to Europe in 2 months time, so if i do get the iphones from maxis, which is supposedly unlocked, can i use it in Europe.

thank you for your time to look in to my queries. i m just a little disheartened now with the treatment we received from the sellers in lowyat and appreciate if anyone could shed some light on this queries.
1. i don't know what is the actual market price. but the price that i have quoted the fellow LYN members here has always been AUD999 for the 32GB (outright and officially unlocked)

2. IMHO, don't. they can be extremely devious and better to do be on the safe side.

3. sure why not? if you are that patient.

4. your guess is as good as mine.

5. yes.

6. congratulations on your migration. yes.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 17 2010, 09:50 AM
nokia2003
post Aug 17 2010, 10:07 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(anonymous4privacy @ Aug 17 2010, 09:54 AM)
thank you for your prompt reply sir.

at least it gave me a slight idea. thank you again.

correct me if i am wrong, you sell a 32gb iphone 4 at 2,843.08 MYR(after conversion)?
i'm not selling or attempting to profit from this.

i'm merely helping fellow LYN members to procure their iPhone 4.

however i have since stopped because i reckon 6 iPhone 4 are enough.

because each time i do that, i have to ask my friends to come along with me (in australia, each person can only purchase 2 units)
nokia2003
post Aug 17 2010, 10:27 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(anonymous4privacy @ Aug 17 2010, 10:24 AM)
thank you for your reply.
maybe i dont understand or see the justification for the sellers to price the phone at such a value, but  3,800+-RM is pretty "impressive"

conversation:

me: hi how much is your iphone 4?
seller: 3800RM
me: what is the best price you could give me?
seller: 3500RM
me: is it for simfree/factory unlocked?
seller: yes, if you want a locked unit, 3300RM but i charge you 50RM for unlock.
me: so does it come with any free gifts?
seller: nope. i already give you best price, if you want normal price, 3800 + free gifts.

disheartened and walked away.

i think i can safely say that i would get it from maxis, authorized and reliable. Thank you for your advice and input.
supply and demand.

there are people who are willing to pay such an amount.

different people perceive the value of money differently.

the seller is attempting to conduct a legit business transaction and he/she isn't pointing a gun, forcing anyone.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 17 2010, 10:28 AM
nokia2003
post Aug 17 2010, 05:52 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(johnthe692006 @ Aug 17 2010, 01:31 PM)
Thanks for the clarification biggrin.gif but anyway would really appreciate those 3g or 3gs(IOS4) user can post more as i believe not all of us afford to have ip4 at the moment.
erm, i would say the extra features that iPhone 4 processes are mainly hardware (facetime, retina display, 5MB et cetera) related.

so discussing iOS4 for the 3G, 3GS and 4 (and perhaps not so much of 2G) will eventually lead to the same thing.
nokia2003
post Aug 19 2010, 08:08 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(fuiyo @ Aug 19 2010, 07:55 PM)
Hey,

How is iPhone 4's speaker quality compared to 3GS?
With the volume increased by 100% in iTunes.
I heard thats not much different as its impossible to enhance the quality due to the slimmer design.

not too sure about quality.

but i realised the maximum sound on the iPhone 4 isn't as great as the one in 3GS.
nokia2003
post Aug 21 2010, 04:58 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Aug 21 2010, 12:02 AM)
Dear all iPhone masters and sifus,

I somehow stumble across a thread (not remember where and when), but some say Celcom network not so suitable with iPhone, including my iPhone 4.
At first I kinda doubt that, but lately, it happens to be kinda true. Whenever I turn off my 3G to preserve battery, when I make a call, for sure the call will drop in about 2-4 seconds after the call is picked up. Same happened on the other way around, when I received a call.

This doenst happen at all when I am on 3G network. Only happen when I'm on EDGE or GPRS. To say it's because I'm JB'ed my phone, I'm pretty sure I have done my homework by not JB'ed my iPhone 4 and after that try make a call using EDGE or GPRS network. Same happens.

Is it because of Celcom?

Thank you for any clarifications.

Cheers!
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 21 2010, 09:13 AM)
There are people here who's using Celcom for their iphone 4 as well doesn't face any problem that you faced.
yup. i don't recall stringfellow having this problem

Added on August 21, 2010, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 21 2010, 08:41 AM)
@megatron007,
Ah.. Yes.. I remembered someone mentioning they got their MicroSIM free... don't know how U got it but thus far, when I check there's a RM25 price to it.  Since I've cut my SIM and when it was tested on an iPhone 4 and it works, I'll just use it till it stops working biggrin.gif

@beavis68,
Eh.. U not using ur bumper, can I pinjam it first...?! *smiles* [prepping for the arrival of her iPhone 4!]
heh! did you do, like what i did for my micro sim?

yup. the micro sim cutter isn't 100% precise.

so i had to use this;

to smooth out the rough edges.

after a few manoeuvres only my hotlink sim card became a perfect fit.

and yes, beavis68 is right. you cannot hesitate whilst pushing the lever down; has to be swift and steady or else...

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 21 2010, 04:59 PM
nokia2003
post Aug 23 2010, 02:52 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM)
I sync the same app, audio, movie on my ipod touch, iphone3gs, iPad, iMac and macbookpro. ( last 2 for audio, movie, audio book only) If I want to sync another i have to wait 1 year, deauthorized all and resync again. Is standard apple policy
not necessarily

just email the iTunes support team, and they will be more than happy to reset it for you
nokia2003
post Aug 23 2010, 03:04 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 23 2010, 03:01 PM)
I tried that last year but was rejected
oh no!

i have tried twice in a year before to be honest.

because my apple ID is being utilised to its brim.

made worse, cause i boot camp my mac.
nokia2003
post Aug 23 2010, 05:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 23 2010, 05:39 PM)
Here's a quote from a reputable figure.

“You acknowledge it; you address it; you deal with it,” Lehane said. “Apple must protect its brand image, its crown jewels, at all cost. Apple has enormous consumer loyalty but it depends on whether people believe it’s credible.”

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Lehane

Regards, Joey
adui.

first and foremost i acknowledge that you are entitled to your opinion(s) and i truly respect that.

but i reckon that it would be great if you can keep this thread less "political" and more of user experience and knowledge sharing.

i mean the last bloke has already given up and stopped posting with regard to this manner.

and now why would you ignite the barrel again by posting this?

Added on August 23, 2010, 5:51 pmhence you ask me, i'm inclined to believe that you are the "hostile" one instead or rather deliberately asking to be mauled

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 23 2010, 05:54 PM
nokia2003
post Aug 23 2010, 06:11 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Aug 23 2010, 06:00 PM)
I appreciate your kind gesture. Honestly, the piece was posted as a news to be shared amongst others in this particular thread. It is a discussion thread, am I right?

I'm not creating a brouhaha over the retrofitted bumper for Apple's iPhone 4 or wanting to incite any unwarranted exchanges of fiery words across the thread.

You seems to be sensible person. At least you acknowledged the fact and not being ignorant over the issue which plagued the iPhone 4. Period. Please keep in mind, it was a piece of information that I deemed worth to be shared.

They are individuals with micro perspectives and they are individuals that look at the macro perspectives. Information is power.

Regards, Joey

p.s: I'll keep my tabs around here, especially in the Apple section. No worries.
i'm not your typical, (pardon the derogatory term) apple fanboy.

i researched the iPhone 4 sufficiently to ensure that it wasn't an issue for me (and it is still not an issue until this date)

secondly, i consider myself as a neutral party and your comments (at least for today) in this subforum, is far being un-hostile.

so my most honest suggestion is, if this place sked the shiat of of joo and you are paranoid of being maul rike a piece of rag , no point extending your stay here.

and i'm not saying this in a manner, in retrospect that this place belongs to me et cetera.

i'm speaking with the intention of the well-being of this subforum.
nokia2003
post Aug 24 2010, 09:56 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Aug 23 2010, 09:52 PM)
any1 noticed when in lowlight situation, the photo taken by the camera has pinkish colour that surrounds the photo?
it has been reported around the world before.

apparently it is more obvious, when pictures are taken under fluorescent tube lights.

but good news is apparently it can solved by a firmware upgrade.

so if the magnitude of this problem is sufficiently large, apple will definitely address this isue
nokia2003
post Aug 26 2010, 11:10 AM

5,786 posts

unfortunately, empty vessel make the most noise.

a very sad truth, and yet there is nothing much, that we can do about it.

so let's sing to jphlau's song!

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 26 2010, 11:12 AM
nokia2003
post Aug 30 2010, 01:07 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 30 2010, 12:38 AM)
No, it isn't. Try to do a hard reset and total restore to see if it helps. If it is still the same, make an appointment with Genius bar.
S-C-O-R-E!

blind leading the blind? brows.gif
nokia2003
post Aug 31 2010, 08:26 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Aug 31 2010, 08:00 PM)
How could you make such an assumption? Malaysians (or in fact anyone) from all over the world can log in here to commentright?
you have obviously never been to /k/

that place can be as Malaysian as it can be laugh.gif

besides, look at what the top banner of this forum stipulates;

"Lowyat.NET - Insanely Addictive Malaysia Forum"

0.0410sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:37 AM