4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

nimrod323
post Jul 12 2010, 09:24 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(angah_krl @ Jul 12 2010, 05:46 AM)
thanks for the information given but next time don't accuse me for a something that i'm not,that's rude..and please becareful on your words as it may makes people feel unpleasant.. i came to this thread to gain a quick info..if you ever feel annoyed because of a repeating question,then,yes,i'm sorry..
thats what lots of people do here, they rather not go through the many pages in this thread and yet ask the same questions, the mods have cautioned/reminded these types of people to read the info on the first page, its a no brainer really, or just use the simple search function below it will display nay previous posts on this thread regarding the reception issue.
nimrod323
post Jul 13 2010, 05:27 PM

2,664 posts

hmm some of the recent posts here seem to be more inclined towards finding trivial problems rather than looking at the bigger picture, folks get a grip you guys are never gonna buy a phone from AT&T or experience their signal pitfalls, even if its not an iphone any other phones on AT&T network report signal loss or dropped calls issue, so till we have our local Telcos offer them on a wide scale basis im not going to be judgmental, those whom bought it and currently using it have said good things about coverage,except for bro masamune, so yeah feel free to get other phones if you are afraid of this trivial matter, its just a freaking phone the problem it has will not put your life in jeopardy or affects your daily life in anyway or bring peace to the world, and rest assured that this post is coming from a Nokia 1208 user.
nimrod323
post Jul 13 2010, 08:51 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(back breaker @ Jul 13 2010, 06:59 PM)
Quite the character. So those who decide to wait out are all deemed skeptical? I guess everytime something comes out we all gotta act all kancheong and be the first to enjoy it before everyone else. Whatever happened to being patient, while making an informed decision ?
If you consider the hampering of a PHONE's BASIC function to make and receive calls, or surf the net on 3G, or etc while holding it trivial then by all means. But at least you're acknowledging there IS a problem.

And btw, AT&T is not the only network on which this problem has been identified on;

Optus @ Australia:
http://www.iphoneinaustralia.com/iphone-ne...with-optus.html

Vodafone @ Australia:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjFMhhM2_tg

O2 @ UK:
http://forum.o2.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=4192...=asc&start=3840
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZ3MxQfgfOE
Softbank @ Japan (Not so severe)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK_2Ac_iCwQ

Consumer Reports already stated its a DESIGN flaw, not a network flaw... Please remember Consumer Reports.org were ALSO the ones that scored the iPhone 4 higher than its main competition.

All im saying is that there is a prevalent problem, and while im very well aware that it does not affect ALL phones, the problem is there. But that doesnt mean it shouldnt be made aware of. People are going to pay a lot of money in this thing, why shouldnt they be allowed to know what the pro's n cons?
Lets talk about demographics shall we? Its interesting that you have gone as far as you did with those link to disapprove my assessment that its an At&t problem, still i dont see how At&t's incompetence over dropped calls with other phones could be rectified through your reasoning? my point of contention is, if it could happen to other phones why not that particular telco problem affect the iPhone 4(does it somehow feature and in built mechanism that could solve At&t's woes?).

Look here buddy, they sold 1.7 million phones, even 1% defective sets equate to 170,000, but i doubt the margin of error would be that high, and like it or not everything you and i have be it electronics or food is manufactured on an assembly line, and subsequently called mass production, thats how cost are kept low and there is still that margin of error even Beemers have issues, especially the N52 engine blocks on the E60, but does that mean people have to stop buying Beemers? No, they still do what is it then? Could it be BMW's awesome distortion field that make people buy the 5 series irregardless of the problem? No, people are not sheep or mindless drones that are steered by the likes of Apple or BMW, they buy it because they want it and could also live with the flaws and also the good that comes out of it be it sheer driving pleasure or a phone that could do everything you'll ever need on a portable device.

I told you before, till the day Maxis and Digi sell the iPhone 4 en masse, i will keep my judgement to myself, if there is a problem then fine i'll just send it in for a warranty claim or RMA, i have already decided that my 3K goes there why should i backoff midway? People out there would have already known about the issue through the Press, no matter how much you expound here, we kinda already knew about the problem exsists way before our local Star covered it, and your point is? I dont know about you but i for one do a thorough research about something before i buy something, i dont have to be fed by someone i barely know on the internet except for the select few i have befriended over the years here at applebyte(you guys know who you are tongue.gif ), no offense but i feel the Press(non biased ones with no bones to pick(AnandTech/Cnet/WSJ)) more newsworthy.

Lastly, do not fret the iPhone is not the last phone in the planet, Apple does not send out agents that put gun on yer head to get you to buy one, your wallets are safe people, get other phones that let you do whatever you wanna do in a phone and motivates you to not worry so much how its problem affect your daily life or the need to do a good in this world by yelping your heart in a public forum how it is the root of all evil.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 13 2010, 09:10 PM
nimrod323
post Jul 14 2010, 10:24 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(vampire @ Jul 14 2010, 08:56 AM)
Hopefully they will launch and start selling iPhone 4 in the next PC Fair at KL Convention Centre (6-8 Aug).
apple never needed pc fairs to sell their stuffs, i dont think they'll start now, if you guys are eager to get yerself an iphone 4 and are currently maxis postpaid users, dial 123 and say you'd like to be enrolled in the Maxis iphone loyalty program, state the colur and capacity of teh iPhone 4 you are interested in, when they do have the stocks you'd be given first priority
nimrod323
post Jul 14 2010, 11:35 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jul 14 2010, 11:12 AM)
Hi guys, i've some question to ask on behalf of my gf.
I've updated her iphone 3G to iOS4. Everything goes smooth,
but then recently she found that her phone will be automatically quit the applications and returned to the menu home screen. (For example, Facebook, Godfinger, etc).

Anyone know what problem is it?
Is it the iOS4 is still not that compatible on 3G? Should i restore back to 3.1.3? sad.gif
has her apps been updated to the latest version?
nimrod323
post Jul 15 2010, 04:20 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Jul 15 2010, 03:34 PM)
Hmmm

saw a video today.. About 1 iPhone 4 get burnt due to charging.

The USB cable and charging area of the bottom part get burnt down.

Seems like the quality control is really loosen a lot from Apple
isnt that because of the computer's USB port, read it well young padawan
nimrod323
post Jul 19 2010, 09:49 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 19 2010, 09:35 PM)
antenna problem or not.. i'll need a casing anyway... another clumsy person here tongue.gif
another clumsy person reporting in, eh hows the razor case guys? bro beavis?
nimrod323
post Jul 19 2010, 09:53 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 19 2010, 09:49 PM)
Nah... rather for 4GS. Never ever buy 1st gen products from Apple.

I started with 1st gen iPhone bought from the US and it was crap. Later, 3G from Maxis and it too was crap. Now, using 3GS from DiGi and all I can say... almost perfect.
i have been using 1st gen core2duo macbook white,first gen MBP 15 Unibody with little or no trouble and you do realize that the iphone 4 is the fourth revision and not a first gen product right? and if you arent biased with your statement even the first batch of F10 BMW 5 series have issues that doesnt make the whole line of product crap. Any products that is mass produced even sugar have a defective rate, that is what warranty is for people.
nimrod323
post Jul 20 2010, 12:45 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 20 2010, 12:07 AM)
I don't consider the iPhone 4 as 4th gen. Since it is total redesign, it back to 1st gen of new design. So, for now... it is crap. I can bet u Apple is fixing something without telling anyone. It is always their MO for a very long time.

IMO, BMWs are crap to begin with. Had the E32 and E46 once and full of endless probs from engine to gearbox. Sold both away and stuck to Japanese marques. No probs since.
again this what you think and not what the manufacturer think right? its a 4th revision of the first gen iphone and no amount of design overhaul will warrant it as a new breakaway product alltogather, it improves earlier designs with new components, the way it works and the functionality of the iOS remains the same. Every company will continuously improve and fix their current and future product without us the users needing to know or not isnt that what they are supposed to do improve their products?

Again the BMW thing is an anology of mine, i dont own one and i wouldnt like to speculate, but irregardless of the issues it might face(i bet proton is far far far worse in every way), i would like to own one. Your assertion about BMWs well lets just say anyone in a public forum can say hey i own a 360 Modena and its crap thats why i use a GTR instead, get what i mean?

Added on July 20, 2010, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 20 2010, 11:38 AM)
i think so......... but someone in the forum is champion...n claim that they saw the aussie unlocked set. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
maybe we can ask him to do a bulk for us too, iPhone Aussie from cambodia!

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 20 2010, 12:49 PM
nimrod323
post Jul 20 2010, 01:11 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(brian81st @ Jul 20 2010, 01:06 PM)
1st gen iphone was great, it changes the whole smartphone market in the way. if not, we could be still using phone with crappy ui. i also bought my 1st iphone from us, still works like a charm.

at that time, the manufacturer just boosting about how many mega pixel is their camera. once 1 came out with 3 mp camera, another came out with 3mp camera 2 days later, 2 months later, 5mp camera, etc, without making the effort of changing the ui. just seems like all of them made a deal or something, just change the camera n we can sell loads of it.

i respect apple for what they have been bringing in the smartphone picture. but the way they handle the reception issue, by throwing mud at other manufacturer is a bit, well, unmature!
i think the word you are looking for is immature? anyways it has always been the case for american companies to make direct comparisons with competitors with competing products,its just that in Malaysia our companies are afraid of naming their competitors in their ads but just name the by colors, good example of this would be maxis,celcom or digi. However having said that i feel Nokia and RIMs responses before the iphone antenna issue were blown off the water was immature too, since both phone manufacturers have this issue on selected models.
nimrod323
post Jul 21 2010, 07:40 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cynical66 @ Jul 21 2010, 01:55 AM)
LOL! i even already registered on maxis website for 16gb white one..hopefully they'll grant my wish..when i got 1, gonna polish it everyday..LOL!

btw, can iphone 4 can install with codecs so dat it can play .mkv, rmvb, etc? stoopid questions cos never used iphone b4..just play with it borrowed from frens & never occur to buy 1 dat time (luckily)
no point playing those formats, eats up a lot of battery power to decode and play, thats why they stick to m4v format, you can always get apps like handbrake taht could help you with conversion and its free
nimrod323
post Jul 21 2010, 08:51 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Jul 21 2010, 07:27 PM)
Bro, i have comverted some of my movies into .m4v format but it seems cannot be played on my iPod. U know how to solve this?
hmm thats weird it should play, i normally use handbrake to handle all of this for me.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 21 2010, 08:53 PM
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 01:00 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 22 2010, 12:34 PM)
u got to understand that its not apple job to make sure that it will compatible with every product that going to pair with the iphone,ipod, ipad n etc.
Those Alpine,kenwood,clarion n etc will have to update their firmware so that it will pair nicely to apple product.
do check with Alpine for firmware update.
n please name me the 10 problem they introduce (major one).
+1, oh and for the record my friends alpine ida X100 works fine with iphone 3GS running on iOS4.01
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 03:21 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 22 2010, 02:32 PM)
i doubt Singtel, M1 & StarHub will easily sell an iPhone4 to you without contract... where's the benefit to them?

online store FTW!
heres hoping that the Malaysian Online Store will follow suit.
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 04:14 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 22 2010, 04:06 PM)
anyhow malaysian telco are selling outright...so i dont think it will be a problem...
only Maxis offers this is think, reason why i ask because sometimes when they run out of stock takes them damn long to replenish it unlike the apple online store.
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 05:49 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(giovanni @ Jul 22 2010, 05:40 PM)
Go to DiGi and bribe the ppl there so when stock arrives you will be the first to get it
normally if you are a Datuk,high position feller/well connected you can get it faster/free depending lah.
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 08:35 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Jul 24 2010, 08:19 AM)
If celcom offers the iphone 4 deal. It am sure many will go towards celcom due to the signal and everything else. Price maybe be a little bit higher but they don't get signal loss when they are in a tunnel tongue.gif
i doubt that me dads line fluctuates and loses signal in smart tunnel, the longest tunnel in Malaysia PLUS and basement car parks. Its not a carrier problem its physics really signal cant penetrate thick walls or mountains(PLUS highway tunnel)
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 09:22 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Jul 24 2010, 08:49 AM)
I have been travelling via smart tunnel almost everyday and I am using celcom + digi on my iphone 4
No signal loss or bars dropping for celcom but my digi line will die when you just enter the tunnel  tongue.gif I am using the 3GS
Have not tried plus though. I went to japan,china,la,uk,india(ulu places) and celcom has the best signal quality
Other lines would just die in overseas country(ulu places) tongue.gif
this is the thing it varies from one user to another user, of course my dad doesnt not own an iphone just a normal SE, but yeah my hometown sad to say has less bars fro all three carriers (Perak tengah). Though im impressed that Maxis has very good signal in most parts of Sabah as opposed to 9 years back.
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 06:23 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Freshie @ Jul 24 2010, 04:09 PM)
I have seen many members around here mentioning iphone would be in september...Why can't it be in august? Singapore started the interest registration thing last few weeks and now they are selling the iphone 4 in about a week...Looking at that, Malaysia would be getting iphone 4 in mid august or if we are lucky, early august...
1st Malaysian Buying Power
2nd We are a second tier market for apple
3rd The Register interest with DIgi and Maxis is already on, check their website.
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 11:34 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jul 24 2010, 06:48 PM)
We are always behind Singapore. Check out education wise they are the best in Asia standing next to Japan. Most of our stocks etc comes from Singapore. Malaysia have much much to improve if u want to challenge Singapore.
this is a question you should ask the leaders of Malaysia what have they done for the past 50 years? sleeping? Oh, singapore is actually a warehouse depot for southeast asia so even Thailand/Indonesia and Philippines get their stocks from them.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0430sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:01 AM