iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread

giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 08:00 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jul 17 2010, 02:59 AM)
it's good 2 noe u accept feedback...and eventually im not here to start fighting with all of you

i nvr say it's wrong 2 criticise ..but when u critise without owing the phone...it doesnt giv true and fair view

like wad u ask me..i ask u b...when u noe there is problem...y u wan buy it? y u wan recommend it?

contradiction begins here...
p/s: if u do think the sample size is not accurate... there is possibilty tat the complaints from iphone4 users is so minor as well...tat we could say it's not
       material...but i think tis happens bcos of high expectation leads to bigger disappointment
Now, I think I have the right to pass my judgement since I was an owner and I settled for a refund from Apple and have first hand experience with the situation in Apple Store for the past few weeks. I have to say the statistic shown by Steve Jobs isnt accurate. Take me as an example, I didnt call in to make a complaint. I went into the shop to make one. Nobody took down my details or even take note of it. All they could offer me was : wait for the software update.

My view is that it doesnt solve the problem. Giving free case or bumper is just a superficial non feasible solution. Now, y do I need an external part for my phone to function properly? I expect my Iphone to function independently out of the box. What if I dont like a bumper or a case over my Iphone?

Just like a lot of ppl here, I think when we buy something expensive we expect it to be fully functional as advertised. With all the given features and the enticing advertisement of course you will buy it if you can afford it. After spending so much on it of course we should grumble if it is flawed. It is supposed to be a phone and function like one under normal circumstances and holding it in your hand should be considered as one.

For ppl who haven't owned one but are grumbling and passing judgements, I think they have every right to do so too because they are waiting to get one and are potential owners. I think they do share the same pain as the existing owners and are frustrated because it may affect their plan to get one. rclxub.gif

Added on July 17, 2010, 8:02 am
QUOTE(dzerg @ Jul 17 2010, 07:45 AM)
I still don't get it why people all around the world still talking s**t about iPhone's grip of death and all other bad stuff about it.
I may sound like a total Apple/Mac/iPhone fanboy, but this is just a mere perspective from a humble customer of another product.
People can bash and complaints what ever they want, and I respect them. Its their rights to voice out.

But still, all of the people's complaints are showing one thing...
These guys love Apple. You want it to be perfect as you want it to be.
This antenna problem causing a very large crowd of people to complaint from all over the world.
What am I so surprise about is the magnitude of people complaining regarding the antenna issue, and they still keeping their iPhone.

Normally, when people buy stuff, when the stuff that they bought facing any problem, they return it back to the shop:
1. If you bought a car, suddenly suffered some acceleration pedal stuck on the carpet, you return it back.
2. If you bought a faulty blender, you send it back.
3. Bought a can of sardine, without realizing the sardine inside is polluted, you send it back.
but...
4. You bought an iPhone, it have some antenna problem, you keep it.........(huh?)

I just dont get it...........
Because u want to own it and you know it's flawed but the developer doesnt want to do anything about it...thats y the big hoo haaa

This post has been edited by giovanni: Jul 17 2010, 08:08 AM
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 08:17 AM

1,898 posts

Guys, this might sound like a conspiracy theory. It's only my speculation so don't take my words as gospel.

Don't you just smell something fishy with the 30th Sept timeline for Apple to give out free bumper? Y that specific date anyway? What will happen to ppl after that?

This is what I opine:
The bumpers or cases cater for the few million units that are already sold or are already available for purchase in the market. With those units Apple can't do anything. A total recall will be too costly for Apple so Apple can only at best offer them that. Since they can't cope with the number of bumpers they have to dish out, they rope in 3rd party manufacturers.

They might already have a new hardware design in place n are silently going to put it into the new batches. This is why after 30th of September ppl might not need bumper anymore to alleviate the signal attenuation problem. If you ask me y 30th September, then I say probably Apple has already checked with the other manufacturers n its own production and think they need 2 to 3 months to come out with the number of bumpers or cases for these ppl. Silently that is (to avoid another major uproar from existing customers crying foul over their flawed units)

They wont be dishing out free bumpers forever because in the long run it will cut into their profit margin. The more feasible solution is for them to redesign the antenna to be fitted into the new batches.

Just my two cents. Dont bomb me for that. Cheers!

This post has been edited by giovanni: Jul 17 2010, 08:33 AM
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 08:30 AM

1,898 posts

ya bro, just wait abit then
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 10:26 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 17 2010, 09:58 AM)
Giovanni : your conspiracy theory won't be a theory. I am pretty sure Apple will upgrade its hardware as Steve repeatedly say " it is the best smartphone in the world". From a biz point , Steve will never acknowledge is a hardware issue now, imagine the backlash and unhappiness from the 1.7 million users.
Apple will discretely improved it ; and 2 months later to have an improved version out is likely. They might not not even announced any improvements made. Over the next 2 months , all the furor will subside
Yo bro, let's pray hard it's true and won't take so long. Or I'd have to return my next one again out of frustration.heheh
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 10:48 AM

1,898 posts

Wow wow wow...chill ppl. Don't want another bout of war. This is a forum and everyone has right to voice his/her opinion. To be fair, all I see is a bunch of potential owners (most if not all) raising their concerns over a problem that really exists.

They have every right to do so because it's their hard earned money and they hope the investment is worth it. This isn't an Apple bashing party and I don't see this sort of element here at all. Go and read the Apple Insider forum ....that's what i call bashing and name calling.....

So please....chill!! Now don't bomb me for trying to maintain peace

V
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 06:14 PM

1,898 posts

I will still get one. After looking at the retinal display, I am addicted. That is one hell of a confession to make. But I vow to return it again if I still get zero signal here n there in my office or lab. I dislike the perception of the Apple Specialists putting all signal issues into one big cluster. I told them I am constantly getting low signal. Nothing to do with signal attenuation. My fren's 3gs has more bars than mine at the same spot (4 vs 2). Isn't that weak signal?

Told them that but was shown the door with just one simple explaination: Software problem and update will come.

I bet they can't say that again if it happens the next round. Touchwood, hope not.
giovanni
post Jul 17 2010, 06:42 PM

1,898 posts

Then I think better read the terms and conditions laid down by Maxis. Ask them before you purchase.
giovanni
post Jul 18 2010, 12:29 AM

1,898 posts

I think alot of u should be happy becos by the time u got it, there won't be anymore issue since I think they are fixing it silently.

http://www.ifixit.com/blog/2010/07/is-appl...-antenna-issue/

Have a look
giovanni
post Jul 18 2010, 02:42 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 18 2010, 01:39 AM)
Giovanni, congrats of the iPhone 4 purchase. You can be of valuable asset to the survey being conducted by Chizzu which is to determine the signal attennagation by how you hold your iPhone. If you have received the survey request, I hope you have answered the queries to the best if your ability, otherwise I may request either Chizzu or DG to forward the survey to you. Your feedback can help determine the signal attennagation issue while on Malaysian telcos/location.
Yo bro, do forward it to me. But I am not in Malaysia atm so I can't really comment much on signal attenuation issue based on Malaysian Telco smile.gif I can however let you know of the way i hold it. Cheers!

By the way guys, the antenna issue isn't really a deal breaker. Call me bad, if everyone else is suffering the same fate, then we call that 'Standard flaw' so no choice I will still get it since I really like it. But because I know some ppl have perfect units, of cos I beh song a little bit n want to get the perfect set oso. rolleyes.gif Sorry ppl, I know u will call me names like kiasu, evil etc ...but I think that's human nature right? Hahaha...maybe not for all of u but it applies to me......... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by giovanni: Jul 18 2010, 02:52 AM
giovanni
post Jul 18 2010, 05:57 AM

1,898 posts

Bro, I think the Americans are crazier la. I don't see long queue here at all in Glasgow
giovanni
post Jul 18 2010, 04:26 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jul 18 2010, 12:20 PM)
Just got my iPhone 4 from UK. Face none issue for the signal =)...I hold it like da Death Grip and my signal still full...
When did u get it bro? look at ur serial number starting with 870xx the xx tells u which week it was manufactured. Tell us that number if u dun mind bro. thanks
giovanni
post Jul 19 2010, 12:55 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jul 18 2010, 09:52 PM)
alright..mine is 85027
week 27 and same like mine. Lucky u cos dun have problem. Now shipment has been delayed and according to some its becos of antenna modification in the production line. I hope it is true
giovanni
post Jul 19 2010, 05:49 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(xtrifor @ Jul 19 2010, 05:33 PM)
no need to worry la... if u live in a big city like KL... not much worrying about reception lor... but never try reception at my kampong in kedah... lolz! last time i used normal hp... maxis just got 2/5 bar... i wonder how my iphone 4 will take... sweat.gif
Sorry bro, where are now? smile.gif
giovanni
post Jul 19 2010, 09:44 PM

1,898 posts

from where my friend??

Added on July 19, 2010, 9:44 pmHey ppl, let's all try Facetime together when we r free

This post has been edited by giovanni: Jul 19 2010, 09:44 PM
giovanni
post Jul 20 2010, 05:59 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 20 2010, 12:07 AM)
I don't consider the iPhone 4 as 4th gen. Since it is total redesign, it back to 1st gen of new design. So, for now... it is crap. I can bet u Apple is fixing something without telling anyone. It is always their MO for a very long time.

IMO, BMWs are crap to begin with. Had the E32 and E46 once and full of endless probs from engine to gearbox. Sold both away and stuck to Japanese marques. No probs since.
Bro, fill us in with the info of crappiness. I want to know too. smile.gif
giovanni
post Jul 22 2010, 05:40 PM

1,898 posts

Go to DiGi and bribe the ppl there so when stock arrives you will be the first to get it
giovanni
post Jul 24 2010, 06:16 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(ck_yoong @ Jul 24 2010, 02:57 AM)
Aww man I am also disappointed, I want a white iphone. Anyway already wait so long might as well wait a bit longer. Or maybe just join the dark side  icon_idea.gif
but if wait til next year might as well just get IP5
giovanni
post Jul 28 2010, 04:07 AM

1,898 posts

Chizzu, how long did it for you to get your second batch of IP4?? I don't know why this round it takes so much longer. The first time it took exactly 2 weeks. I will report to you again when i get the new batch whether or not there is signal problem
giovanni
post Jul 30 2010, 03:39 AM

1,898 posts

Guys,I got my new iphone4 today. My unit has no antenna issue unlike my first unit.tried to grip it tight.drop only one bar or sometimes increase by one bar.could it apple did silently fix it?my production week is 30
giovanni
post Jul 30 2010, 08:46 PM

1,898 posts

Yeah next year sure new iPhone 4g du.then another hype

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0518sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:15 AM