I think what people are missing is a little perspective, or the context within which Apple is showing the other companies' antenna problems.
I will try to make an analogy, which might highlight the message as I see it, or maybe it might not work. In any case here goes:
Imagine the car industry. Think of Ferrari, who have steadily enjoyed unprecedented success over the years. Then at the peak of the euphoria, they introduce an amazing car that goes super fast!
Then one person says, "eh, how come this car so low one? My Honda CRV, never need to sit so low one, this will lead to bad back!!!"
(Ok at this point, you should be thinking, ni kan sports car, of course la low, obvious right? isn't it obvious also that when you put antenna OUTSIDE, that it may be more sensitive to touch? But because it is outside la is why it is also giving good performance. Same like the Ferrari, so low, that's why go so fast, but people missing the point)
Suddenly everyone concentrates on this issue "Omg Ferrari has height restriction issue, design flaw!"
Then as if not ridiculous enough, Ferrari haters or those who envy come and have a field day "hahaha damn man Ferrari so stupid what kind of car, cannot even put baby chair behind, my 6 year old Toyota also can mwahahaha, cannot even bring to IKEA damn fail car"
So, just in case, the Ferrari designers go back and actually check the design. Cos people making big deal about bad back. Mechanics also heran, designer also heran. Memang la can lead to bad back, this is Sports Car, not orthopedic car. Thought all this while part and parcel? All other cars like this what? Its a specialised car, have to sit properly in the bucket seats, cos high speed and performance involved. This isn't Kancil, with zero g-force.
Again, media has field day "Ferrari CEO says don't sit that way! How arrogant!"
Then they actually do study and what do they find? Eh, Porsche also sports car low what, McLaren etc. In general all car low. Also same thing, have special seats, you must sit properly, drive properly. What's going on? So they decide to hold press conference to highlight this to the people. What else to do? Not a design flaw what.
They then hold a press conference. "Look guys, we did studies, sports cars are low, that's how they are fast (amongst other things)" Look at Porsche, look at McLaren, look at Lamborghini". Its not a design flaw, its just physics! Lower cars go faster!
Know what the response is?
You guessed it lah! Other companies become angry, "Eh, don't try and involve us ok. This your design flaw. How can Ferrari use other company as example, sore loser man." Cos before enjoying their rival kena hentam. Now suddenly realise 'Oh shit! this could backfire on all of us!"
What do you think guys? Ok or not?
Lol, don't know if this makes sense or not. Just want to try and take the problem out of its context and put it in another perspective. I know, there will be many flaws in my analogy, but I think that the point is there (somewhere hopefully hehe). Basically, it could have stopped at the very beginning, it is something that is basically a non-issue, blown out of proportion out of a media hungry for sensation. C'mon seriously, would be shocked if a Nokia 1100 had poor reception? Would people be out in the streets with pitch forks demanding Nokia recall the phones? No, cos no one would give a hoot. There will be some disgruntled people in forums, some will return and get their money back. Some will check if there are workarounds, and maybe do that.
Life goes on.
Phew ok done. I welcome feedback, both positive and negative.
Bro, u r the best of the best of the best of the best....even hav talent to replace Steve Job in terms of explaining to those with head so hard can compare with diamonds...
wut u try to explain as example just now is wut those guys who already tested it, using it, even held a gathering to proof it to everyone here even thou they doesnt need to do dat, trying to tell everyone here...
a phone at rm2k++ (original price, not import from other country) people are complaining here and there,..i got a fren, using nokia communicator, bought at rm3k++ (also original price), always hang..also not yet complain this and that....
so, wut u said is correct..like it, buy it, dun like it, dun buy it..no need talk so much
from where i'm belong, all those complain of iphone even since 1st generation, its bcos they dun hav money to buy it,..so..."cemburu" ler
but when i ask those i knoe, if people will giv u free phone, choose iphone or blackberry,...10 out of 10 said wan iphone..