iPhone 4 and iOS 4 V2, Discussion Thread
yuvanesh
Jul 8 2010, 09:36 PM
i just wanted to share with iphone 4 i feel the wifi and the signal receiption is much better than the 3gs...but for those who using iphone 4 plz do make sure that you kill the app after using because the multitasking will eat up a lot memory causing your phone to jam....just incase if your iphone 4 goes blank screen (OS crashes) dont get panic...try put it in dfu mode and restore it..
just some information to share...
stringfellow
Jul 8 2010, 09:46 PM
Probably some misbehaving apps which are not iOS4 AND Multitasking ready. I've heard what happened from Harmeet & ksc_3688, a bit worrying I must admit. Touchwood that my unit is behaving well since it first came to life.
gzero
Jul 8 2010, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(cynical66 @ Jul 8 2010, 09:00 PM) LOL! U.S is a big country..their signal sure do hard to control with their so many tall buildings...dats y they dun get good signal..i'm sure some of other phone do hav similar problem there..just dat iPhone 4 is so popular & people are so sensitive on its behaviour... dun forget some of them might tried to create chance to sue apple to get big compensation, which we Malaysian dun practice this kind of attitude.. I repeat - those who are fear to problem that may occur to iPhone 4, dun buy it..USELESS to spread fear here ans there...just get yourself Nokia 3310.. Nokia 3310 - FINAL BATCH ALREADY OUT FO SO LONG....LOLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!! Added on July 8, 2010, 9:01 pmAND ME? I'M DEFINITELY GET iPHONE 4 MYSELF..JUST WAITING FOR DIGI OR MAXIS.. my god, so typical..control please..control This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 8 2010, 11:33 PM
Masamune
Jul 9 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jul 8 2010, 09:36 PM) i just wanted to share with iphone 4 i feel the wifi and the signal receiption is much better than the 3gs...but for those who using iphone 4 plz do make sure that you kill the app after using because the multitasking will eat up a lot memory causing your phone to jam....just incase if your iphone 4 goes blank screen (OS crashes) dont get panic...try put it in dfu mode and restore it.. just some information to share... Agree with u bro. I too have increased wifi reception. But my phone still have the reception issue when i use the 'grip of death'. Nothing a casing cant fix though. Hmm, i haven't experienced jam yet, thank god.
iceggy
Jul 9 2010, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jul 7 2010, 04:05 PM) I see. She probably meant somewhere else, not a factory. I'll ask her again. Because as far as I know, US only sells locked sets, but then she told me otherwise. I figured it could be true. Anyone here have any experience with this? Hey.. Please provide more information on this... I am currently in US... I have ask a few places and they all said that all the iphone 4 is lock to AT&T...
chizzu
Jul 9 2010, 01:12 AM
i have no problem watsoever with mine and phone reception has been great and 3G works faster (with tethering  guess O2 forgot to lock the tethering option for prepaid users  )
nimrod323
Jul 9 2010, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(iceggy @ Jul 9 2010, 12:50 AM) Hey.. Please provide more information on this... I am currently in US... I have ask a few places and they all said that all the iphone 4 is lock to AT&T... dude there is no way to get an unlocked set in the US, he was probably misinformed, fact of teh matter is he even said Apple factory in the US when there was never any, even if they do sell unlocked units its probably imported from the UK or France.
youngkies
Jul 9 2010, 09:35 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(chizzu @ Jul 9 2010, 01:12 AM) i have no problem watsoever with mine and phone reception has been great and 3G works faster (with tethering  guess O2 forgot to lock the tethering option for prepaid users  ) I thought they activated the option purposely and charge £2/day on usage, or you can opt for bolt-on 3gb per month for tenner.
tmsuxxk
Jul 9 2010, 10:09 AM

Has anybody facing the iso 4 upgrade problem??? Every time when i need to upgrade my 3gs 3.1.3version to iso 4 from the itune.. I always stuck in 99.9%, then come up the window said I've a problem with my connection= = after that I've to download again & again... Anybody can help???
g3n0c1d3
Jul 9 2010, 10:15 AM
fring just launch video calling for its apps for iphone 4 and can use 3g data also.... fring video call for iphone 4This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Jul 9 2010, 10:20 AM
objectifyme
Jul 9 2010, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 9 2010, 09:10 AM) dude there is no way to get an unlocked set in the US, he was probably misinformed, fact of teh matter is he even said Apple factory in the US when there was never any, even if they do sell unlocked units its probably imported from the UK or France. I'll double check. Let you guys know in a few days.
banana
Jul 9 2010, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jul 9 2010, 09:46 AM) I'll double check. Let you guys know in a few days. i am in US too. Just asked apple and they said it is locked set and selling at 599 usd without at contract. dear all, what does a lock set means? Is that means if i put in malaysia sim card and it will not work? I heard from the apple salesperson, we still can use it in malaysia but the warranty will be void, is that true?
davidgary73
Jul 9 2010, 02:29 PM
Music Producer
QUOTE(banana @ Jul 9 2010, 02:26 PM) i am in US too. Just asked apple and they said it is locked set and selling at 599 usd without at contract. dear all, what does a lock set means? Is that means if i put in malaysia sim card and it will not work? I heard from the apple salesperson, we still can use it in malaysia but the warranty will be void, is that true? Please read the guide provided here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/871684Lot's of infos for you to read on both unlock and lock iPhones. Cheers
banana
Jul 9 2010, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jul 9 2010, 11:59 AM) Please read the guide provided here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/871684Lot's of infos for you to read on both unlock and lock iPhones. Cheers Thanks but i still dont really understand after i read thru the infos. Anyway, is there anyone/ any shop out there already firgure out how to unlock iphone4?
xaw5126
Jul 9 2010, 03:11 PM
banana locked = can only be used with that particular carrier. Eg. my friend bought a UK iPhone 3G[S] thru Vodafone UK, 2 year contract. So even though she asked for them to unlock the phone, they refused.
unlocked = generally more expensive, this means your iPhone will work anywhere in the world, with almost any SIM card. for iPhone, warranty is still local, and currently not available in most countries.
benny888
Jul 9 2010, 03:32 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jul 9 2010, 10:15 AM) fring just launch video calling for its apps for iphone 4 and can use 3g data also.... fring video call for iphone 4This is a good and positive development. So no more restrictions and can now video call to other phones too eg Android.
viknes36
Jul 9 2010, 04:20 PM

Hi guyz,
Do you think i should upgrade to IOS4 for my 3GS? Not sure should or shouldnt i.... any1 face any problem in the new OS?
xaw5126
Jul 9 2010, 04:39 PM
lots of people are finding their hacked / jailbroken / modified iPhones are giving them problems.
if you have a 'clean' iPhone, you should DEFINITELY go to iOS 4.
viknes36
Jul 9 2010, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 9 2010, 04:39 PM) lots of people are finding their hacked / jailbroken / modified iPhones are giving them problems. if you have a 'clean' iPhone, you should DEFINITELY go to iOS 4. thx for the recommendation.... lucky i'm didnt jail break my iphone... thx again... will do it tonight...
cynical66
Jul 9 2010, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(gzero @ Jul 8 2010, 11:27 PM) my god, so typical..control please..control wut so typical? Nokia 3310? I still hav it & gives no problem till now & i still love it...its my most durable phone i ever used....aint that true? please read previous posts on this thread b4 complain...& also, i'm using a Nokia 5800XM now...So, dun make it like i'm talking bad on Nokia products.. p.s. - you should read those posts dat complain this and that on iphone 4...dats y people here are frustrated.. so, ssshhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Added on July 10, 2010, 1:54 amCHECK IT OUT! do some make up for your iPhones...dun worry, i dun own it..just found it while surfing.. A Malaysia site claims to offer iPhone 4 & accessories :- http://www.iworld.com.my/webshaper/store/v...t.asp?catID=358 Added on July 10, 2010, 3:39 amfor those of you guys who owned an iPhone 4 sets, dun worry bout the sim card, check it out below:- http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Micro-Sim-Card-Cutt...=item2eae56ee14This post has been edited by cynical66: Jul 10 2010, 03:39 AM