Baju Melayu, already acquired. pix at page 4.

TSnetmatrix
post Aug 31 2010, 10:41 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 31 2010, 10:22 PM)
WTF when I told you to be a pioneer and get a linen BM made you made all sorts of noises about it being way out there. And here you are now extolling the virtues of the linen BM.
Wow! Why r u getting worked out over my choices? Did i max out your credit card again daddy? laugh.gif I wanted a traditional satin one. I don't want that linen number. I said it since last month. What i was really impressed with the Granoff number is how they made the collar. U need to check that out. I did not notice that with the purple one. But this blue one really caught me there. If there was one regret i did not do with the current one, is having a high collar like that. Its amazing to me anyway. Maybe next year? icon_idea.gif

TSnetmatrix
post Sep 1 2010, 04:24 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 1 2010, 02:00 AM)
Naaa....my family had to go there with my co driver...caught in last minute appointment...but plan to do all around shopping next week...will check out Jalan TAR and KLCC ..needs to get a proper info as I only have limited time....darn..one of our US principal..Cogent System just had been taken over by 3M yesterday.....(so called total diversification..whats really happening at NYSE???)
Next week will be packed! confirmed. Malaysians like to do last minute in everything! I really have no idea what is happening in USA, i just know they are in slump. 3M!! my favourite sticker company!
thumbup.gif
TSnetmatrix
post Sep 2 2010, 07:50 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Sep 2 2010, 01:32 PM)
I believe malutapisangatmau works for Granoff. Probably Mansor's brother.
Is it? I really dunno. If he/ she is, i really kena played kaw kaw. hahahah

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 2 2010, 02:04 PM)
I think that Granoff BM to be very much to my idea of the ideal BM. The colour is not fuchsia pink (don't laugh, I've seen it before), it is linen, and it even has a pocket square of enormous proportions.

They might actually do BMs better than western suits.
The pink/ fuchsia one isn't as attractive as the current blue one. But if your feedback was used for their creation, great. Stalking in forums does produce results! I think its way much more easier to infuse western detailing in baju melayu than the other way around.

QUOTE(beau @ Sep 2 2010, 04:12 PM)
I saw someone who was in the process of turning his David & John Anderson fabric to a Baju Melayu ( without the sampin ) Not sure if this fabric is available in Malaysia. Another friend made one in Soktas from Jackal. Lovely fabric but extremely overpriced.
I wonder how suiting material looks like as a baju melayu? I mean i have seen from Jln Tar quite a few made with shirting materials. We already seen many made with linen. Really curious here.
TSnetmatrix
post Sep 3 2010, 12:07 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Sep 2 2010, 11:02 PM)
A nice plaid for the sampin perhaps? Not sure if it's practical for the shirt & pants.
Naaaahhh.... i don't think so. Most songket already look like plaids. Kain pelikat maybe? Cotton with box check. The colors are much more stronger deeper for sampins. Kain sarong anyone?

Suiting material for BM. Thats a thought. Maybe i sould go to the drapery section to hunt for carpets to be made a BM? hahah. Thats crazy.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 20 2011, 11:03 PM

6,733 posts

Wahh... so fast 1 year already. And the story i wrote is now 1 year old... hahaha. Anyway Mydin just restocked new Baju Melayu. If you are on budget, can go check them out. The new stocks have XS (Extra Small) First time i see. Kamdar is clearing out some old models this month. Lowest i saw was RM47 for baju melayu set. RM25 for the top only. I think the next few weeks, if you have the time can go look in Giant and Carrefour. Expect to pay about RM90 this year for better looking ones.

I do not know if tailoring charges are raised this year. But everything is. But i'm not buying any of those sort this year. Already crossed out the to do list.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 29 2011, 02:05 AM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Jul 27 2011, 05:51 PM)
which kamdar? is it nationwide? hmm.gif
Mydin will have lower price than Kamdar. Kamdar every branch also same discounts. Just the stocks might differ in color and size. But only Mydin have XS size if u are skinny.
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 2 2011, 10:42 AM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Aug 2 2011, 10:10 AM)
xs for me would be really nice. which mydin??
All Mydin have same stocks.
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 3 2011, 02:24 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 3 2011, 01:05 PM)
giant carefour tesco all sell baju melayu as well
honestly I wouldnt mind buying from them instead of tailoring one
cos i only gonna wear it during first day raya
after that it will stay in my cupboard only
TESCO, Giant & Carrefour all also just stocked up. Price from RM59.00 this year. Unlike last time can have one for RM50. Inflation bebeh. But the designs every year differs. Still got embroidered collar and cuffs type, which is a little bleah.... But now they have piping on hems also bleah..... I think the design cannot be improved on anymore. They never did try new cuttings or fittings. I haven't go to Jln TAR to look around what is the trend yet. Maybe this weekend or something.
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 3 2011, 07:05 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 3 2011, 04:27 PM)
Depends entirely on whether you think people will remember what you wore last year mate. Anyway sometimes tradition comes into play, like wearing something 'new' for the first day of the celebration etc
Ermm.... if chinese, new year means everything new. All that celebrate CNY like that. My friends always go buy new stuff for CNY. I also does that. But the thing is, what i buy usually end up in my daily wear also. Its not really a keeper. But Hari Raya i dunno la. I mean we all grown up here we see many adoption of every culture in Malaysia. Like angpows (Chinese), greeting cards (western), Curry dish (indian) blah blah.

Unless the people who saw u wearing the same stuff from last year talks about it, what would u think of the person? I mean if me, i would be embarrassed a little there and then. It depends how u want people to see you. If wearing last years clothes is a crime, then god forbid i should be in the timeless "Kings New Clothes" look aka naked. laugh.gif
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 8 2011, 06:55 PM

6,733 posts

The promo in front of Jakel. The promoters are wearing complete baju melayu (yellow color one). The promo for the day was, RM200 for a set of baju melayu with sampin. It is cheap if u compare it to departmental store one. Maybe somewhere has better deals.

Lastly this stall probably has the cheapest baju melayu set among them all. But the fabric is thin. If budget kaw kaw, then this is the stall to go to. But it would be better to go to hypermarkets like Carrefour, Giant & Tesco to look around. Tesco this year is interesting, the design came from Melinda Looi. All the good sizes already got taken since the first week.

Oh yeah, baju buttons are much more cheaper this year. RM5 can get decent one. Last year need RM7 and nicer ones cost more. cool.gif

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Aug 8 2011, 06:57 PM
TSnetmatrix
post Nov 2 2011, 12:24 PM

6,733 posts

Wow! Kinda late to celebrate Raya is it? haha TESCO does sell Baju Melayu. But they only sell it for about a month before Raya. Really approximate because they do it as consignment only. While Giant, Carrefour & Mydin does it in consignment and committed stocks. Committed stocks usually cheaper. But they usually hang up as dead stocks for unpopular colors. That is why if you browse around the racks, you could see a few pieces leftover.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 25 2012, 04:28 PM

6,733 posts

This year... bleah..... No new design also. A lot of people pushing for embroidery. Also hidden buttons. And a lot of bright colors. I haven't been to Jln TAR yet also this year. Year 2 already!!! This year, TESCO and CARREFOUR is a big FAIL! Very bad selection and choice of stocks. C4 is the worse. Haven't check out GIANT. Mydin is a good bet again this year. Very consistent. But some colors like black or white is missing? Got XS in stock again. Price from a RM29.00 up to RM89.

Yes Jln TAR is potong kepala price. Nothing less than RM90 there since the last 2 years. This year i dunno but expect the same. Bulk sellers have pop up since last week in Mudah. Not good price at all. There was one bulk seller offering RM29 for 100 pcs. I think the cheapest. But the rest is above RM50. Explains the high selling price at Jln TAR.

So if any of u getting new stuff for raya, do post here for kicks. hahaha.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 26 2012, 07:11 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jul 25 2012, 10:30 PM)
I prefer my baju melayu plain and traditional with none of those fancy design gimmicks. Got mine tailored at Omar Ali TTDI.
Yeah how much does Omar Ali in TTDI charge? I did not ask them when i went to their branch in Jln TAR.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 27 2012, 09:59 AM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jul 26 2012, 11:48 PM)
If you use their material, the price range is RM400-600+, depending on the type of cloth that you picked. Workmanship alone is RM200+.
Wow! The workmanship price has raised? Or Omar ali charges more in their branches? I got mine made at BAK Tailor for RM150 only workmanship. The fabric i got from JAKEL.
TSnetmatrix
post Jul 30 2012, 11:34 AM

6,733 posts

I think the polka dot is small dots one la. Not the clownish big dots one. hahaha
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 13 2012, 04:27 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(almertfrenzy @ Aug 13 2012, 04:10 PM)
like this.... thumbup.gif

As expected. The picture captured that part only, i u just ask me i thought baju kurung. tongue.gif
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 13 2012, 04:35 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(micpling @ Aug 13 2012, 04:32 PM)
I am just going to buy 1 at a departmental store size S. Won't be wearing it more than 10 hours a year really.
If you don't want fancy shiny fabrics and dun want to pay more than RM 100 for one. I suggest Mydin under the Excellent brand. The quality is nice. RM79.90.
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 14 2012, 09:55 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Aug 14 2012, 09:48 PM)
I got a light blue baju melayu and am not sure what color sampin and button should I match it with? Its similar to this color, (without the dark blue floral pattern)

That one looks more like turqoise. Very hard to match anything. If it were light blue then it would not look greenish. But last time i had a bicycle and i painted it turqoise and lilac. Much like your purple baju. Both color match kaw kaw. So u probably should be looking at a purple sampin i think. But depends la how your taste. Its either you dress to impress or dress for self fulfilment.
TSnetmatrix
post Aug 14 2012, 10:41 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Aug 14 2012, 10:21 PM)
Was thinking of striking red and match it with a pair of  Red nikes af1 clot, it's actually for a school event to celebrate national day so by all means I want to dress to impress tongue.gif
Wooo.... no wonder the clash of the titans. hahahah
TSnetmatrix
post Mar 30 2015, 03:22 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Mar 30 2015, 09:03 AM)
hmm first time here trying to tailor make a baju melayu

went to jakel mall to get the material RM18/meter for valente? or something like that i cant remember how it's spelt haha

so now trying to find a tailor. seems like Bak tailor is recommended? is it still RM150 per baju melayu? or varies depending on branches?

any help is much appreciated
Few year already this. sweat.gif Actually there isn't really a challenge to get it tailored by any of the people at Jln TAR. Workmanship about the same i think. all traditional style. The only challenge is when u want to get something like this.

Slim fitted style one. I don't think the old style tailors can do it without making a few first. When i got mine its traditional. I thought i wanna go vintage kaw kaw and have the pants width at the hem same as the thigh same like 1950s one. sweat.gif

Whatever the case, i think if you can find anyone to do it for less than RM100 more desirable.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0285sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:45 PM