Hope someone can help me on this,
i have a land that inherit from my parent, if i sell it after one year, my question as below:
1)will i need to pay rpgt
2)how to calculate the tax
Real Property Gains Tax (rpgt) Question
Jun 20 2010, 08:54 AM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
77 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Hope someone can help me on this,
i have a land that inherit from my parent, if i sell it after one year, my question as below: 1)will i need to pay rpgt 2)how to calculate the tax |
Jun 20 2010, 09:42 AM
277 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
yes, inherit also kena.
Must be five years and 1 day then only you can escape. as for calculate go google for the table , good luck |
Jun 20 2010, 09:49 AM
Disposal within 2 years 30%
Disposal in the 3rd year 20% Disposal in the 4th year 15% Disposal in the 5th year 5% Disposal in the 6th and subsequent years 0% since my land from inherit so what is the cost, 1)how they calculate the cost? 2)will they use my cost as zero? This post has been edited by clicktiming: Jun 20 2010, 09:51 AM |
Jun 20 2010, 09:56 AM
277 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
nope, they will use your papa's purchase price.
nothing runs away from them, use logic. What you think of they have done R&D so its gonna be taxed all angled. but you can acculate all the cost your papa and you have done with the land , i.e maintenance , repair , reno, loyar fee , agent fee etc etc this can bring down the cost. |
Jun 20 2010, 10:24 AM
41 posts Joined: May 2010 |
RPGT has been revised to fixed rate for 5 years upon purchase. No more varying rates.
Jun 20 2010, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(simplicio @ Jun 20 2010, 09:56 AM) nope, they will use your papa's purchase price. so they won't user zero as my cost, my i right?nothing runs away from them, use logic. What you think of they have done R&D so its gonna be taxed all angled. but you can acculate all the cost your papa and you have done with the land , i.e maintenance , repair , reno, loyar fee , agent fee etc etc this can bring down the cost. since the land about 70 years old from my parent, then they will use very low cost? current rpgt rate flat to 5% ? This post has been edited by clicktiming: Jun 20 2010, 11:49 AM |
Jun 20 2010, 12:06 PM
314 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
in this scenario, in order to escape from RPGT, does it mean TS has to hold it for 5 years (upon inheritance)? or the 5 years is already over (because the 5 year of TS's father purchase)?
Jun 20 2010, 03:03 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |