Newbie setting up a mini HT. Need advise

TSRobbie
post Jun 19 2010, 11:20 PM, updated 16y ago

38 posts

Yo bros, I am a newbie in HT and planning to setup a mini HT system in a 14.5ft x 15ft room with a budget of around RM11k smile.gif
The usage of the system is: 80% for watching movie and 20% for listening to music/radio.
Here are some of my thoughts on the basic requirements for the system:

- A projector with a screen size of up to 100 inches for viewing Blu Ray movies.
- A budget receiver which can handles Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD.
- A set of 5.1 small size speaker systems.

So far based on my research, I've the following system in mind:

1) 100" Electric Projector Screen 16:9 by FAVI, HD-100 (I've already purchased this from Amazon). The price including shipping to Malaysia is around RM1000.
2) Panasonic AE4000. Have checked with a AV shop in Singapore and the asking price is SGD3499 (Around RM7600 after minus the GST)
3) Onkyo HT-S3300 5.1 (Around RM2000)
4) HDMI Cables (25Ft), Speaker Cable etc.

For all the items above except for item 1) which I've already purchased, i am still deciding and surveying around whether there's a better combination or alternative to build a better system blush.gif

Hope all the bros and Sifus here can chip in some comments and your advise will be greatly and truly appreciated notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

htkaki
post Jun 20 2010, 10:17 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You have a very good FHD visual but a paltry audio system (no offense) Unless you are a video purist, the audio is not going to make the cut. With about RM2.5K left, there is nothing much out there to choose sweat.gif .

A RM7K+ for audio system will be a good start to match your nice pj. Then again, it's individual preference smile.gif
azbro
post Jun 20 2010, 10:56 AM

4,403 posts

Check this out for the AVR, BDplayer and speakers:

Pioneer BD Home Theatre System, VSX-919AH-K + BDP-320 + HTP-RS70 (Home Theatre)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1462317
TSRobbie
post Jun 20 2010, 11:17 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 20 2010, 10:17 AM)
You have a very good FHD visual but a paltry audio system (no offense) Unless you are a video purist, the audio is not going to make the cut. With about RM2.5K left, there is nothing much out there to choose sweat.gif .

A RM7K+ for audio system will be a good start to match your nice pj. Then again, it's individual preference smile.gif
Bro htKaki, thanks for the comment rclxms.gif notworthy.gif . Hmm, any idea on how to balance the system without increasing the budget tongue.gif ? E.g. Change to Optoma HD20 and make use of the extra money save for a better AVR and speaker systems?

Appreciate for your advise biggrin.gif

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 20 2010, 10:56 AM)
Check this out for the AVR, BDplayer and speakers:

Pioneer BD Home Theatre System, VSX-919AH-K + BDP-320 + HTP-RS70 (Home Theatre)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1462317
Bro azbro, thanks for the suggestion notworthy.gif . This speaker systems looks bulky though sweat.gif , because the room that i going to put all these equipments is actually my bedroom tongue.gif hence i am looking for a set of small speakers to save some space for my bedroom. Sorry forgot to mention that earlier in my post:x .
htkaki
post Jun 20 2010, 07:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Rob, since you are in Spore, scout around Adelphi. Do drop by KEC and look for Clarence or Violet. Tell them that Max intro. They will surely come up with something that fit your budget wink.gif .

azbro
post Jun 21 2010, 05:51 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Robbie @ Jun 20 2010, 11:17 AM)
Appreciate for your advise biggrin.gif
Bro azbro, thanks for the suggestion notworthy.gif . This speaker systems looks bulky though sweat.gif
Actually, you have to see it first to say its big.

Pictures can be really deceiving smile.gif Just think of McDonald burgers you will understand laugh.gif

Seriously, thats the minimum standard for a 'floorstander'...any smaller it will become a 'tallboy' category.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 21 2010, 05:57 PM

0.0150sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:49 AM