University Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) thread V3, ~Uniten Generates Professionals~

thatisazam
post Apr 26 2011, 04:21 AM

439 posts

I'm new to this board but I'd share this freshie guide for those coming to Putrajaya Campus smile.gif

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/?jnajequm6m6wlj2

This post has been edited by thatisazam: Apr 27 2011, 05:47 AM
thatisazam
post Apr 27 2011, 01:00 PM

439 posts

I think it's open in block B (A2) ground floor if i'm not mistaken
thatisazam
post May 4 2011, 02:33 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ May 4 2011, 01:37 PM)
whatever footwear u like. But wear slippers to lab..sure kena chase out. Lol
been there, done that. LMAO. But CoIT aren't that strict...
thatisazam
post May 4 2011, 03:08 PM

439 posts

slacks probably on formal day which i only follow when i thought of going to the admin xD
thatisazam
post May 5 2011, 12:34 AM

439 posts

tmr probably be orientation for each kelompok smile.gif
after paying, proceed to accomodation office of the Kelompok u're assigned to. the officer will then giv u the key n u may put all ur stuffs in b4 the facilitator calling every new students for orientation depending on which time of the day that u checked in since the orientation might've started somewhere.
thatisazam
post May 5 2011, 02:15 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ May 5 2011, 01:56 AM)
oh. for the kelompok, isit only for the orientation ? so orientation will be held at different times for different kelompok, some kelompok start early, some kelompok start late. am i right ?
For Kelompok orientation, I think it'll start according to the Kelompok's committee planning and might be at same time too. Probably in the noon smile.gif
thatisazam
post May 5 2011, 11:12 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ May 5 2011, 10:52 AM)
Cheh. Now I know kelompok is the apartment sections. But yestd I saw students touring the admin centre in groups, and I thought that is a kelompok. Btw, when is today's orientation for cendi? Any idea guys? Anyone here taking foundy may intake also?
later today there'll be some activities at Dewan Sri Sarjana and tomorrow morning will be a tiring day. so heads up for u to sleep early tonight wink.gif
thatisazam
post May 5 2011, 07:33 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ May 5 2011, 01:17 PM)
hmm. why ? i think maybe today i skip la. but tomorrow one day cannot skip already lo coz im staying there later.
not suggesting u to skip tonight 8pm at Dewan Seri Sarjana because there'll be important n informative briefing. plus there's possibility if you skip tonight, you'll face hard time applying for apartment next semester unless yeah u planned to stay outside smile.gif
thatisazam
post May 6 2011, 12:19 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ May 5 2011, 11:07 PM)
I'm still unsure of tomorrow's activities, what will they do?
Cendi and Amanah students will gather at Amanah by 7am for aerobics then explorace from 8.30 sumthing til 11am
there'll be short break for Friday prayers and lunch then there'll be apartment cleanliness competition.
idk bout night activities but prolly thr'll be some performances etc. and be done by 11pm.
thatisazam
post May 7 2011, 12:39 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(swasts @ May 7 2011, 12:25 AM)
Just want to ask one question..Did PTPTPN cover all the tution fees for the foundation programs ?
during my batch they paid short 1k of the tuition fee but when got into degree, they reimbursed tht 1k somehow...idk bout now
thatisazam
post May 7 2011, 01:19 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(swasts @ May 7 2011, 01:17 AM)
Owh...sorry......
The chance to get the full loan is high or not ? Just curious...Because, i think my father  salary is about RM5-6K monthly....
what about ur mother? if ur mother's salary around thr too i think high chance u get partial but they'll eventually become full like some of my frens received...
thatisazam
post May 7 2011, 01:37 AM

439 posts

yeah high chance tht u will smile.gif
thatisazam
post May 8 2011, 08:40 PM

439 posts

Proxy info:
In computer's Internet Option, under Connection tab, click LAN settings and enter as follows:

1. Tick use proxy
- Address: 172.16.3.237
- Port: 8080

2. Tick bypass proxy for local addresses.

there're several other proxy too that u can find out urself smile.gif
thatisazam
post May 9 2011, 04:26 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(play05 @ May 9 2011, 03:39 PM)
Im really in deep problem sad.gif

Next sem i will take project 1 but the problem is i didnt take yet 1 pre-requisite subject for the project 1 which is IT communication.
Currently in this sem i taking the pre-requisite subject for IT communication which is Business English.

Can i take project 1 and IT com next sem?Did anyone before encounter same problem?
same case as mine. u may write an appeal letter to skip business english and take IT communication first to the IKAL dean. that's how one of my friend did...my case is for not taking discrete structures yet but i just xtend a semester.

QUOTE(hafez13 @ May 9 2011, 04:09 PM)
now i'm not using any proxy in cendi,
how to increase the speed?
so slow..
any tips on how to configure using mac?
unfortunately I have no idea about Mac configuration, sorry.

thatisazam
post May 9 2011, 11:35 PM

439 posts

I recommends Maxis Broadband or P1 4G as internet connection alternatives.

It's sufficient to surf with current apartment's connection speed and download may reach up to 900kb/s-1.2mb/s at around 4am-7am using proxy.

But for online gaming, p2p, etc that use other than allocated ports, u have to use outsource. hope that helps.
thatisazam
post May 11 2011, 01:36 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(bastart @ May 10 2011, 09:54 PM)
Oi people. Wake up la. We paid a lot for internet connection. Why bother subscribe to fark up bb? Push la admin. Finance can haz new waiting chairs, why no improvement to apartment ?

Any lurking uniten staff here? Two words. FU. Hehe
Oh wow, to be honest, compared to last time when I first use the campus internet, it was fast before some selfish people abuse the connection given. Then some restrictions were imposed and a connection speed upgrade is made and yet there're still abusers (tunnelling, bypass etc.) we can't blame the management for restricting the internet use by blocking p2p and online game because ppl're paying here for study environment not much of gaming/entertainment kind. if u want those stuffs, u gotta abuse ur own pocket money. that's one way to see it. You'll realize how fast the campus connection is if you're updating ur windows. 1.8gb worth of windows updates in less than 3 hours. not bad at all.

QUOTE(cyewe @ May 10 2011, 11:21 PM)
i have one question here. on my timetable on friday, i see a 'see advisor' section. what does that mean ? is it a class ? what should i do ?
advisor is important. please see them once a semester or so for the sake of letting them notice u ^^ u'll find them come in handy once in awhile smile.gif
thatisazam
post May 11 2011, 02:53 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(bastart @ May 11 2011, 02:22 AM)
Implying people uploaded only movies and games on file hosting sites.

Abusers only abuse because there's restriction. Want get rid of abuser? Don't block anyhing
everyone has their own opinion. i respect yours. seeing your suggestion is for students to start learning how to abuse to get better connection. and no, mediafire aren't blocked. how big is an "useful" document anyway to be uploaded in other file hosting site? email is sufficient enough and the uploads are fast in there so yeah, ppl just whine because they can't game with others or download anything fun. i'm just looking towards educational side. i'm a MMORPG player myself, and i get myself a broadband to satisfy that need.

you might say that we pay for the internet connection in UNITEN but that's just what u get. unlimited bandwidth (but shared) and some restrictions to certain sites.
i'll be on ur side if they start blocking social network sites smile.gif

This post has been edited by thatisazam: May 11 2011, 02:55 AM
thatisazam
post May 11 2011, 11:48 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ May 11 2011, 08:55 AM)
Are you new in uniten? if u are, you had no idea how effing slow it used to be a year ago, be grateful u can even open a wikipedia article in 4 secs and not 20 minutes. Plus, we're only paying 10 bucks for the internet connection, last time the rent in cendi is 235, you have to suscribe for the internet before they made it compulsory and raised the price to 245, and the net at that time is still slow like hell. Facebook games? they give you white page or loading page for 30 minutes. Of coz later they increase the rent again to 280 back to original price.

Oh and i dont see any file hosting websites getting blocked, gimme a link of one that's blocks hmm.gif
rapidshare should be one of the file hosting that are blocked...idk...didn't check.

QUOTE(kuaq11 @ May 11 2011, 11:41 AM)
Who stay at cendi....y my room dun have a pillow and study table  biggrin.gif ...and where is nearby shop in uniten...i dun see any retail shop in uniten....
table outside, pillow buy urself, nt provided...u wanna sleep on a pillow tht's being used by others in past semesters?
retail shop, there're some in UPTEN foodcourt, there's also a mini one in cendi besides surau...
or u cn do monthly grocery shopping at mines/alamanda tongue.gif

thatisazam
post May 11 2011, 11:50 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(kuaq11 @ May 11 2011, 11:49 AM)
is it tru...it will be pain in the a** after all....what a bout the cafeteria i didn't see any cafe also in cendi.
no cafe but thr should be 1 close enough to walk to at Dewan Seri Sarjana.
thatisazam
post May 11 2011, 12:36 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kuaq11 @ May 11 2011, 12:01 PM)
oww....at cendi got internet connectivity or not....and how about the laundry service...kind a regret now after quit from uum...ahh man this suck....after all uum facilities are far too good than uniten hehe.....now i know y En. H that currently work in uniten said uum better than uniten in facilities category....
got. set proxy in
Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections > LAN Setting

Address: 172.16.3.237
Port: 8080
ID (if requested): STUDENT\[ur student id here]
Pass (if requested): urpasshere**

QUOTE(cicakubin @ May 11 2011, 12:11 PM)
that is why many student choose to subscribe mobile broadband or rather staying outside where you can subscribe Streamyx student package and get a laptop free which you can sell for profit. The rent and bills shared are way cheaper than amanah or cendi.
I'm one of those outsource internet subscriber. LOL.

0.0477sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:08 PM