MMO World of Tanks - Tanks are better than Orcs, South East Asian server !!!!!!

H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 09:40 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

Hey guys, just wanted to chime that I'm in the beta as well (Just started last night)... In that little time, grinded my way to a T-26 (And I'm LOVING IT).

That being said, there's supposed to be an NDA on this game, so I'd be careful about talking about it so openly.
H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 10:07 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(dezz @ Jul 13 2010, 10:03 AM)
wait, there's an NDA? but with all those promos they're doing... ^^;
Well it is a Closed Beta (And if you try to access the forums without logging in, they tell you that everything that isn't there is NDAed.

In most cases, this just means you can't talk about specifics. You can still talk in general though.

Then again, assuming they don't find this thread here, we'll be fine I guess.
H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 11:47 AM

6,727 posts

I iz Velonius... Only played last night. Been romping around in the MS1 and T-26. Me likey this game!
H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 12:13 PM

6,727 posts

I only just discovered that you can play other games if you're wrecked early, meaning I can pretty much double the fun biggrin.gif
H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 04:25 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jul 13 2010, 04:22 PM)
u bought premiums? i got 450 gold but i dont know where to spend. anyone using Windows 7 having problems?
The general consensus from the forum, seems to be that its the best way to progress (Pretty much cuts your grind in half). Every other use for it seems to pale by comparison.
H@H@
post Jul 13 2010, 04:35 PM

6,727 posts

Maybe you should post your problem in the beta forum.
H@H@
post Jul 14 2010, 08:48 AM

6,727 posts

Arg, screwed up my grind order. (Picked the T-26 instead of the BT2 as I thought I was headed for my personal fave, the T-34).

And I'm well behind the curve on the grind. Average credit earnings are still sub 2k per battle.
H@H@
post Jul 19 2010, 05:09 PM

6,727 posts

The jump from T2 to T3 is like going from playing with sand castles on a beach to trying to make a 3 inch mound of mud in the middle of a 4x4 offroad track.

I'm so dropping my plan to go for the T-34 since speedy tanks don't really suit me that well... Gonna go for the T-28 instead and perhaps start on the TD track.
H@H@
post Jul 19 2010, 06:05 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jul 19 2010, 06:00 PM)
U wan slow tanks? Then KV is for u hehe. Get the IS le, heavy tanks which moves like a medium.
Yeah, that's the path I'm headed to... Even now, I don't die nearly as rubbishly in a T-46 as I do in a BT-7.
H@H@
post Jul 21 2010, 01:45 AM

6,727 posts

Man, the jump from 72 to 85mm on my T-28 is MASSIVE. Finally, I can actually hit other MEDIUM tanks! Woo!

Plus, managed to penetrate a Tiger from the front with it just now... hehe
H@H@
post Jul 21 2010, 01:51 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jul 21 2010, 01:48 AM)
haha u still can tahan with a t-28 ar. Normally in games i see them getting 1 or 2-shotted xD
Its surprisingly decent in a sniping or camping position (This new gun reloads so freaking slow, I can't be a frontliner anymore)... I think I'll stick with it for awhile. I'm really liking the T-34-85 after seeing it in action, but the path to it doesn't suit my playstyle at all.

I'm also using a JagerPanzer I as my XP farmer... Its ridiculously effective at that.
H@H@
post Jul 22 2010, 12:34 AM

6,727 posts

I had the most peculiar game just now...

I shot a Tiger II in the front with an AP round from about 300+ meters, it took quite a bit of damage (30%+), which was really high. The Tiger then retreated and I started aiming for other targets. Within a minute the Tiger suddenly blew up, out of sight and I was credited with the kill.

Game ends, we win, I survive, doing little else (I think I just had that one shot hit and another detection) and I got a whopping 1.3k XP since I effectively killed that bugger with one shot.

Awesome biggrin.gif
H@H@
post Jul 22 2010, 09:59 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jul 22 2010, 12:50 AM)
wah u muz haf started a fire when u hit its engine haha. Then spread to ammo rack....BOOM!
Hehe yeah, but I always assumed you could only pull that off with HE rounds. Still, that was one hell of an AP shot anyway (Since my AP rounds can only take down a VK360's HP by 15% per hit mostly)

QUOTE(Roland San @ Jul 22 2010, 01:11 AM)
always happens to me.
i get accused of warping occasionally too sad.gif
Apparently, warping IS a gameplay mechanic. Its supposed to simulate the inefficiency of radio broadcasts of enemy positions at range against fast moving targets.
H@H@
post Jul 22 2010, 12:39 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jul 22 2010, 11:40 AM)
wow, i hardly use AP rounds with my current tank.....always bounce =.= dam sad.
I too used to bounce a lot until I got my magnificent 85 mil cannon... I wub.gif it.

QUOTE(Roland San @ Jul 22 2010, 12:00 PM)
Yeah, that's fine, I get that too and I've always considered it normal, because as I approach the warping stops. But some guys are accusing me of warping at close range it seems. Ping is about mid 300s.
Those ppl are idiots.
If you are lagging, chances are everyone else will start warping, not the other way round... That's not how lag compensation works (And if it does work like that, then the developers should be shot)
H@H@
post Jul 22 2010, 04:50 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(dezz @ Jul 22 2010, 04:45 PM)
press ctrl + right click on the minimap to open the bird eye view. you'll figure out what to do from there tongue.gif
Pressing "shift" (Sniper mode) works as well
H@H@
post Jul 23 2010, 02:23 PM

6,727 posts

9 million gold, lol
H@H@
post Jul 23 2010, 03:51 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 23 2010, 03:39 PM)
health 2760... wondering required how many light tanks in order to kill it... sweat.gif
A near infinte amount since they probably won't be able to penetrate the armour. I am curious as to whether that tank is as susceptible to module damage as the other heavy tanks.
H@H@
post Jul 23 2010, 04:51 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Jul 23 2010, 04:32 PM)
i dont play WOT, so what's use of Light Tank if you cant penetrate Heavy Tank?
Well, the majority of Light Tanks are basically newbie tanks.

But generally Light Tanks have only one thing going for them:
Speed

This is important in this game since there's no such thing as "radar". The only want to relay information of enemy tank positions (For your artillery and Tank Destroyer snipers) is by having a friendly "scouting" them out.

Light Tanks pretty much fit this niche. Drive in, avoid enemy fire, light up enemy positions, let the arties do the work.

Unfortunately though, game balance is quite against light tanks since their view range is often shorter than that of bigger tanks and some of the medium tanks can give them a run for their money in terms of speed.

But, generally speaking, they're mostly regarded as the newbie tanks.
H@H@
post Jul 23 2010, 06:06 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(dezz @ Jul 23 2010, 05:58 PM)
not leopards tho. leopards can annoy spgs and heavies greatly... if the gun fails, leo can always ram and die for the team tongue.gif
Oh yeah, forgot to mention that the only thing they can destroy are SPGs but yeah, generally annoying heavies (Or the slower mediums like the T-28 sad.gif )
H@H@
post Jul 24 2010, 01:49 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Jul 23 2010, 06:46 PM)
T-28 not dat slow la, juz dat it has paper armor and its friggin looooooooooooooooooooooooong =D
Lol, it is kinda slowish compared to the T-34 line and the German mediums.

But I still love it despite being ominously shaped like a coffin.

0.0424sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:17 PM