4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Movies Ready Player ONE, MMORPG Movie: Gamer meets Willy Wonka :D

6so
post Mar 22 2018, 08:19 AM

135 posts

Was helping my wife again to screen a preview for pr people and critics. All I gotta say this is the geekiest movie you can watch.

“This is not a film that we’ve made. It is, I promise you, a movie.” That was the quote Steven Spielberg made during the world premier. It basically telling everyone this is that classic Spielberg who defined the 80s pop culture. You will be transported to the thrilling roller coaster ride with a sense of wonder on every corner of the movie.

The middle action sequence will made you shed couple of geek tears as you are too busy to cross reference how many pop culture icons you can identify on the screen. Storming the castle sequence is a blueprint for DC Kingdom Come style of epic battle. The scope of it almost on another level.

The bad is the real world stuff a little thin and a weak villain overall. Pissy book readers will nitpick how it is not faithful...blah,blah,blah.

MCU take note this is how to do meaningful character banter and not cramming every cringey quips you can force into a scene.

To those still on the fence, perhaps give a try at Mamoru Hosada's Summer Wars to get a sense of idea what to expect. This is that more expensive and funnier version of that. 3D is a must for this one.

netmatrix
post Mar 22 2018, 09:40 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,728 posts

I'm so hyped for this movie. I hope it wipes out MCU domination. It is relevant as it has many pop cultural references from many decades.
+Newbie+
post Mar 22 2018, 09:59 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

I'm really looking forward to this one. The trailer has done a good job of that, that's for sure. Far more interesting to me than Pacific Rim.
6so
post Mar 23 2018, 09:10 AM

135 posts

Bust a nut...otakus!!!
shinchan^^
post Mar 23 2018, 10:53 AM

K66
21,256 posts

can become movie of the year or not?
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 28 2018, 10:04 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

i heard this movie very gooding
skylinelover
post Mar 28 2018, 10:58 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 23 2018, 10:53 AM)
can become movie of the year or not?
Haha why not laugh.gif rclxms.gif
shinchan^^
post Mar 28 2018, 11:06 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 28 2018, 10:58 AM)
Haha why not laugh.gif rclxms.gif
not sure it can attracts non gamers
skylinelover
post Mar 28 2018, 02:25 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 28 2018, 11:06 AM)
not sure it can attracts non gamers
Sure can one😄😄👌👌
dlct87
post Mar 29 2018, 12:43 AM

474 posts

Read the novel, it was a bit meh to be honest, so when I heard that the movie version is a lot different than the book, I was intrigued..

no joke, Spielberg (or the writers) changed almost 70-80% of the detail, however, it made the movie a lot better than the novel, 8/10 from me

2 minor gripes about the changes though:

tonYe
post Mar 29 2018, 03:48 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Mar 29 2018, 12:43 AM)
Read the novel, it was a bit meh to be honest, so when I heard that the movie version is a lot different than the book, I was intrigued..

no joke, Spielberg (or the writers) changed almost 70-80% of the detail, however, it made the movie a lot better than the novel, 8/10 from me

2 minor gripes about the changes though:

Spielberg couldn't secure the rights for everything featured in the book and the others he wanted.
dlct87
post Mar 29 2018, 09:02 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Mar 29 2018, 03:48 AM)
Spielberg couldn't secure the rights for everything featured in the book and the others he wanted.
ya I understand that he couldn't get every rights for every character he intended to put in the movie that's why its just a small gripe for me, however

This post has been edited by dlct87: Mar 29 2018, 09:06 AM
skylinelover
post Mar 29 2018, 09:09 AM

11,248 posts

9/10 for yesterday early screening drool.gif rclxm9.gif as an ex-gamer (retired since i started self-employed) this is a wet dream come true laugh.gif rclxms.gif 1999-2017 my appetite in gaming those years are glorious😄😄✌✌definitely can relate 2 my past surely hahahaha i going 4 round 2 soon
tonYe
post Mar 29 2018, 10:49 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Mar 29 2018, 09:02 AM)
ya I understand that he couldn't get every rights for every character he intended to put in the movie that's why its just a small gripe for me, however

Yeah man those moments got me screaming inside haha
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 29 2018, 08:48 PM

4,308 posts

Goro !!
Ahlok
post Mar 30 2018, 12:07 AM

NERF THIS!
1,088 posts

Nice movie...saw some familiar gaming characters...lol
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 30 2018, 09:43 AM

4,308 posts

not everyone's cup of tea.

75% animated, 25 % real actors.

feels like watching an anime though....
Dominic Toretto
post Mar 30 2018, 09:51 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Mar 30 2018, 09:43 AM)

ThalaFan
post Mar 30 2018, 10:54 AM

Movie was awesome!

Except kissing scenes, the film is watchable by all ages (6-60)

Spielberg seems to have been heavily inspired from anime (BTOOM for example)

Entertainment in its purest form! Visual feast but for some (like myself) would feel themselves to have been bombarded by VFX over 2 hours
skylinelover
post Mar 30 2018, 12:10 PM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Mar 30 2018, 09:43 AM)

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Mar 30 2018, 09:51 AM)
haha the first animation + live action ever laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 30 2018, 12:10 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0271sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:56 AM