Confessions of a Fat Girl, My insane journey to a healthier me :)

TSInklink
post Jun 19 2010, 12:07 PM, updated 16y ago

Well, well, well.
Let's start with WHY I want to lose weight.
I am afraid of high-blood pressure, diabeties, heart problems, breathing difficulties, and all those related with being overweight.
And I am tired of people assuming things about me, just because I am fat. The side glances, the whispers, the looks when people see me. I am tired of it all.
So if I wanted to talk about the crap I get for being fat, it will take a day or two.
And yes, I want to look better. And fit into clothes that normally I wouldn't even dare to try =(

So this is my journey and so I thought I'd share it on here (probably no one is going to read it). So for people who have like tips and tricks, PLEASE share it. I am begging you smile.gif
And maybe some advices if you think what I am doing is wrong or if you can help me improve it hehe.

My Stats

Age: 19 (turning 20 in October and hopefully will achieve what I want then hehehe)

Height: 173cm

Weight:
Before I started any form of exercise or dieting (30/4/2010) :: 98KG yawn.gif D:
After (19/6/2010) :: 85KG =)

Err body fat, water thingy, all that I tak tahu D:

So let my confession begin? LOL.

nandayryu
post Jun 19 2010, 12:13 PM

1,072 posts

note her height ,but yes,u still need to do more exercise in order to re-shape your body
deathbringer
post Jun 19 2010, 12:17 PM

I'll Pwn j00 !!
1,160 posts

a b4 and after photo would help.
TSInklink
post Jun 19 2010, 12:21 PM

Let's start.

Believe it or not, the current weight that I am in was my weight back in 2008. Since late 2008, I have been gaining weight. I have always found solitude and comfort in food. And those were the years when things sucked. It still sucks now, but it's getting better =)

I already mentioned why, I am trying to lose weight. My main goal is to get healthy. Seriously. Appearance wise, I actually am ok with myself, but it will be nice to be able to fit into some nicer clothes smile.gif

What did I do to lose weight?
Joined Original Bootcamp.
Swimming/ Some hiking
Ate Breakfast. Cut off late night snacks.
Cut down to eating half of what I normally ate.
No alcohol whatsoever.

In the beginning of Original Bootcamp (1/5/2010), I cut down a lot of carbs, which promoted my weight loss. But after two weeks of that, one day, after bootcamp, I came home feeling SUPER dizzy, and before that I had a lot of dizzy spells and I felt tired a lot.
I guessed I didn't have enough of carbs and glucose and that really messed me up sad.gif
So I went back to eating normally. but only half of what I usually ate. Funny thing is, I realize, after exercise, if I were to eat breakfast, I wouldn't feel hungry ALL DAY. And that's a first for me. And also, I used to be able to finish like a whole plate of rice, but now, half plate, I am already stuffed.

So I don't actually have a diet plan...but things seem to be working out fine for me..hmm..

doinkboy
post Jun 19 2010, 12:23 PM

115 posts

put pic la...cover the face...
TSInklink
post Jun 19 2010, 12:24 PM

Err, I was busy updating, so I didn't notice anyones comment..

Yeah I am working out hardcore, to reshape my body smile.gif

Before and after picture, ok, I can try to do that. I look the same though IMO. Not so much of a double chin....and tummy...
Syd G
post Jun 19 2010, 01:04 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Good job. I would go with less carbs on rest days and eat more carbs on training days.

SUSGreenSamurai
post Jun 19 2010, 01:18 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

What you're doing now is fine..just give it some time. You can't rush these things. Remember Rome wasn't build in a day. Good luck girl =)
KuzumiTaiga
post Jun 19 2010, 02:00 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

I'm 16 now, 176cm-ish. was nearly 90kgs when i was like.. 14 or something. Then I started doing stuff like this, walk to a mamak shop 15 minutes away from my house, buy 3~4 packets of Iced Teh 'O' and walked home, did that once a day every day in the morning, sometimes twice. Ended up 64kg after 2 months. Of course, I cut down on food less by 30% or around that.
soket
post Jun 19 2010, 02:03 PM

♥ chu chu
885 posts

dun swim too much, later shoulder big big GG
SticH
post Jun 19 2010, 02:09 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Jun 19 2010, 02:03 PM)
that would take few years tongue.gif

To thread starter, STOP all the junk food and carbonated drinks, I lost my tummy after that, keep it on! flex.gif
cheezzzz
post Jun 19 2010, 04:03 PM

610 posts

TS all the best,

there isnt really any tips or tricks.. just eat right and you've already won half the battle. strength training has proven to increase metabolism in the long run if done consistently (actually a proper diet and cardio helps too, if done consistently haha)

gaining weight and losing weight is just the effect of a consistent eating plan.. if we eat too much and enter a calorie surplus.. it causes us to gain weight, like wise if we eat less than our daily required calorie intake and allow the body to be in a calorie deficit.. it results in weight loss.

change your lifestyle, change your self and your image biggrin.gif
likimikuku
post Jun 22 2010, 01:01 AM

564 posts

Hi TS,

Welcome, am in the same situation. Trying to feel and look healthy.

1st of all rulz to be successful to achieve your target.

"Never give up"

2nd - Eat right

3rd - lot of cardio (everyday if you can/will)

All the best
mikehuan
post Jun 22 2010, 01:21 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Jun 22 2010, 01:01 AM)
Hi TS,

Welcome, am in the same situation. Trying to feel and look healthy.

1st of all rulz to be successful to achieve your target.

"Never give up"

2nd - Eat right

3rd - lot of cardio (everyday if you can/will)

4th - get enough rest

All the best
added tongue.gif
Neek
post Jun 22 2010, 02:05 AM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

I noticed you only mentioned eating half of what u used to eat.
whats a better diet is to have MORE meals. but overall consumption is LESS.
having a 5 meal a day plan (but less calories) will keep your body in constant metabolic burning which will improve fatloss AND energy levels.
having breakfast is the RIGHT thing to do. well done. but time to fix the other meals of the day.

other simple tips:
never drink calories. only eat them. means you can only drink water. no fruit juice. no soft drink. no whatever. only water. lots of it!

Eat alot of vegetables.

read up on low gi type of carbohydrates too. you may want to google this info.

all the best. good luck

edit:
oh just in case you didnt know yet, fat loss is about caloric deficit.
means calories IN is LESS than calories OUT.

This post has been edited by Neek: Jun 22 2010, 02:06 AM
Microsuck_360
post Jun 24 2010, 01:01 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Inklink @ Jun 19 2010, 12:07 PM)
Well, well, well.
Let's start with WHY I want to lose weight.
I am afraid of high-blood pressure, diabeties, heart problems, breathing difficulties, and all those related with being overweight.
And I am tired  of people assuming things about me, just because I am fat. The side glances, the whispers, the looks when people see me. I am tired of it all.
So if I wanted to talk about the crap I get for being fat, it will take a day or two.
And yes, I want to look better. And fit into clothes that normally I wouldn't even dare to try =(

So this is my journey and so I thought I'd share it on here (probably no one is going to read it). So for people who have like tips and tricks, PLEASE share it. I am begging you smile.gif
And maybe some advices if you think what I am doing is wrong or if you can help me improve it hehe.

My Stats

Age: 19 (turning 20 in October and hopefully will achieve what I want then hehehe)

Height: 173cm

Weight:
Before I started any form of exercise or dieting (30/4/2010) :: 98KG yawn.gif D:
After (19/6/2010) :: 85KG =)

Err body fat, water thingy, all that I tak tahu D:

So let my confession begin? LOL.
good luck.... thumbup.gif
redninja
post Jun 29 2010, 09:39 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Jun 19 2010, 02:03 PM)
Isn't that a myth? If that is possible and I'm thinking not anyways as how can one change your bone structure ... why wouldn't one want 'bigger' shoulders anyway to balance the body out? As an ex-swimmer hate this stereotype.

Anyway to TS good luck!
faceless
post Jun 29 2010, 12:18 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Inklink, you are on the right track. Gradually cut the carbo. I eat 5 table spoon of rice per meal (3 meals a day). That is all the carbo I need. I consider my kung fu exercise vigourious (twice a week). The instructor is worst than a drill sargent it the military program. At the end of the session, even my undergarments are soak. In spite of that, I do not eat more to compensate for it. I gone from 85kg to 66.9 kg in 1.5 years. Very soon I will be in the right BMI (height 163cm).
senyii
post Jun 29 2010, 12:40 PM

519 posts

so TS how's its going?Getting the result...I remember when I first came back frm UK my weight shoot to 80 KG now i do regular exercise mostly on the weekend and watch my food too and now manage to drop to 68KG

But still I can't resist food!Its so tasty even if i'm not hungry if there is a place of yummy dish in front of me i'll definitely take a bite!

0.0167sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:49 PM