6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 01:06 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 6 2010, 12:51 PM)
Pro Supex Blue Gear was the best string of its time!
I first used this back in early 2007. It blew my mind!
This is a good string, BUT compared to newer technology its not as great , but this string will make my top 10 polys for sure!

Hahahaha to be honest more expensive poly's die faster!
Why you think Luxilon is the most used poly in the ATP/WTA tour, its because it performs extraordinary well, but for a very limited time, I have heard pro's cut out the strings after 2 hours.Amateurs like us, or average income people cannot afford this luxury.....

The Taiwanese fella who beat Roddick is sponsored by Signum, hence the small 'S' at the throat area.
ohh... no wander sometimes got 's' sometime got 'X'..... rclxub.gif

wat is ur top 10 poly's?

correct me if im wrong: if the strung poly strings tend to move after hitting and need to re-adjust back, means its no more responsive and can considered as 'dead'?

then how bout cross fire...? since cross fire strings moves alot and need alot of re-adjusting... does it mean tht cross fires are less in performance wise?

cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 01:53 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 6 2010, 01:49 PM)
This one may be you will need to learn by yourself to be honest, I can tell a freshly strung poly from a poly thats gonna die, just by hitting a few balls x-p

I think with experience you will slowly learn how.
The characteristics of dead poly, the ball doesn't dip quite as well as it did before, you notice balls are landing longer ie pass the baseline,strings are starting to move around,etc

If you are happy with your string and it does not affect your game,and you think you are still playing well with the string,stick with it. Change when you notice a change, or when it snaps,whichever is earlier.
great tip! thx!

wats ur comments on cross fire?
cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 02:04 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 6 2010, 01:58 PM)
Cross fire when it first came out was a God send! It's still generally accepted as a very good string, if you use cross fire, either string it low....and see the crazy amount of spin, if you are feeling brave, string your racket with kevlar mains and use poly as cross's!!!
Have Fun :-D

Kipas .....
  Kipas ......
shocking.gif thts unexpected.....

and wats gonna happened if i string kevlar mains and use poly as cross's? cuz the more u say brave the more i feel scared unsure.gif
cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 02:26 PM

69 posts

ooo... wa u r very creative... ok next time i will try tht, thx icon_rolleyes.gif

i very long never use cross fire liaw.... cant remember the mains is suppose to me more tension or cross.... rclxub.gif

so for hybriding:
if i wanna hybrid pro supex blue gear with synthetic gut, if i string blue gear as main at 45lbs, then the tension for the synthetic cross will be at 7-10% higher from the mains, wil u recommend it?

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 6 2010, 02:28 PM
cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 02:39 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 6 2010, 02:37 PM)
oops may be you read that wrong I meant string 7-10% higher, if you are using full string bed for synthetic, not for hybrid.Hybrid if you poly you put 45 lbs, you can put synthetic at 45lbs as well or just a tad higher say 47 lbs, don't go for to much as you create uneven stress on your racket head which may cause warping.
ohh okok thx!

ya i heard u say 7-10% higher on full bed, correct. but i go and assume it applies for hybrid also doh.gif

Added on July 6, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(romeolee @ Jul 6 2010, 02:28 PM)
anyone here can explain to me the advantages of heavier racquets over lighter racquets?
i think heavy rackets have more control and lighter ones helps u produce power

i also felt heavier racket are more stable and so easier to block heavy and power shots, but need more strenght and skill do produce powerful shots

there are also head heavy and head light rackets tht u will wanna put in ur consideration:

head heavy generally helps u produce power (beware some super head heavy rackets helps u produce too much power until ball fly through the fence laugh.gif )

head light generally gives u control

i heard some ppl are very skillful in spining the ball and they use super head heavy rackets to generate spin... but this statement needs clarification from prae, or vobs, or any experienced players here smile.gif

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 6 2010, 02:49 PM
cartographer
post Jul 6 2010, 03:23 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Jul 6 2010, 02:55 PM)
@cartographer

so in terms of control, does it mean that its gives u the flexibility to put the ball where you want it to be?
in a way, yes...

IMVHO (in my very honest opinion):

control means:

1. ball is more consistent, unlikely to land long
2. easier to direct ball direction (cross court or down the line) for volleys
3. easier to place the ball (like what u said: put the ball where you want it to be) for volleys or half volleys
4. easy to block heavy powershots or power spin shots back to ur opponent court
5. easier to counter punch heavy powershots or power spin shots back to ur opponent court

all the above also will very much depends on skill

head heavy rackets also can allow u to direct ur grounstroke to whether cross court or down the line... it depends on ur skill and also what shots u are getting from opponent, eg: if ur opponent always give u heavy power shots, head heavy racket is harder to direct ur return shot unless u r very skillful; on the other hand, if ur opponent like me no power wan, then u can easily direct ur return and utilize ur head heavy racket to help u generate more spin or pace.

hope i din confuse u.....

and any body can correct me as of above if im wrong.. thx! notworthy.gif

p/s: pls refresh... corrected some spelling and grammar doh.gif errors... sorry

Added on July 6, 2010, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 6 2010, 02:53 PM)
hahaha carto dun always say me leh, waht you wrote makes alot of sense!!!
See you are slowly learning from experience, from your statement , keep up the good work!
thx alot for all ur teachings and encouragement.... nod.gif

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 6 2010, 03:36 PM
cartographer
post Jul 7 2010, 04:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 7 2010, 12:25 PM)
Never count Fed out who knows next year he may win calender grand slam, tennis is a very unusual sport, like last years US Open, who would of out money on Del Poltro beating Fed in 5 sets.....

This year US Open I also dunno who got chance to win, may be Fed, he one of the most excellent records in US Open history next to Ivan Lendl.
mayb federer lost in last year US Open due to frustration of the umpire give del potro challenge after more than 10 sec?
cartographer
post Jul 7 2010, 05:11 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(vobs @ Jul 7 2010, 05:04 PM)
maybe maybe, but anyway, let us look forward and see how he will do in US Open:)

I want to go tennis shopping again!!!! i want white colour pants, want some tennis shirt

The other day bought 1 wrong size shorts without pocket somemore, bugger!!!!! next time will check before rush into buying.......
ya i kena the same thing b4.... lupa 2 check whether got pockets or not..... doh.gif
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 10:17 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jul 8 2010, 08:27 AM)
Waaaaaa Yan & Inv, you fellas no need to sleep one ka??
Hijack abit..... so sad the young Germany team lost
; (
yaa i was hoping germany can win too....

the octopus damn accurate lah!!!!!

Added on July 8, 2010, 10:18 am
QUOTE(klboy89 @ Jul 7 2010, 08:18 PM)

Prae: I ply supreme toto 1..... 4D too little~ I wan tat type once kena....no need buy anymore~

'zha dou'....

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 8 2010, 10:18 AM
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 11:10 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(klboy89 @ Jul 8 2010, 10:50 AM)
if u bet from 1st round till now...spain won many $ for u liao ~ o.0~
klboy i know how liaw!!!

buy the octopus!!!

it can hep u win $$$$$

mayb even after world cup it can help u win mega toto

Added on July 8, 2010, 11:12 am
QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jul 8 2010, 11:01 AM)
klboy, bet not win or lose leh.
Got odds one la.
If bet spain from start to now, I think lose more than win.
hahahaha........

Hmmmm I wonder how paul the octopus tastes like
kekekeke....... > ; P
the octopus is now a million dollar animal, u sure u wanna eat it?

anyway i know how the octopus taste like:

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 8 2010, 11:12 AM
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 11:49 AM

69 posts

eh where all the melaka ppl go?

ie: ah wee, grinner?
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 12:04 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jul 8 2010, 12:01 PM)
Kev, careful man.
Now gomen closely monitoring on football betting.
You made a confession here already. Hahahahaa......

Yeah design I think 300 tour looks better.
kev is singapore pr ma.... no need 4 him 2 worry wan...
hehehehehe

Added on July 8, 2010, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 8 2010, 11:56 AM)
ahwee is in singapore already .. starting work next mth i think ...  so kevin got another kaki there ..haha
wa everywan go singapore liaw...

i also wan 2 go work there liaw................

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 8 2010, 12:05 PM
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 12:28 PM

69 posts

ck, we are in hell......
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 02:21 PM

69 posts

this one kenot... tht wan kenot...

but...

smoking in public area and give ppl 2nd hand smoke, can thumbup.gif

install white and super bright lights in ur car on the road at night to blind other drivers, can thumbup.gif

etc...

cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 04:21 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jul 8 2010, 03:37 PM)
betting is not good.. tongue.gif ... mine was just a pool with collegues.. we predicted scores among collegues and i was top.. smile.gif
can u beat paul the sotong? biggrin.gif
cartographer
post Jul 8 2010, 05:32 PM

69 posts

lets do 'operation: flick the sotong'
cartographer
post Jul 9 2010, 11:39 AM

69 posts

better quickly buy all the addidas things now... adidas gonna kena sue until bankrupt

apparently a lot of players are complaining to the FIFA president blaming the jabulani ball not flying straight...

NASA is already testing the jabulani...

adidas gonna have to pay making so many favourite teams lose! for designing such a funny flying ball to be snug into the world cup 2010

read here for more info

http://g.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup...wpphu-container

Added on July 9, 2010, 11:46 amnadal flying to south africa to support spain in the finals rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 9 2010, 11:46 AM
cartographer
post Jul 9 2010, 02:54 PM

69 posts

now the goal keepers are complaning not fair for them cuz they cannot catch the ball cuz ball flying zig zag
cartographer
post Jul 9 2010, 04:43 PM

69 posts

but then spain and netherlands will be super pissed

Added on July 9, 2010, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(Live4eva @ Jul 9 2010, 04:18 PM)
Man It would be cool if its world cup all over again! brows.gif  thumbup.gif
I want Germany in the fianls!
p/s: its not paul's fault... he only predict, but he is not the cause of who win and lose. so dont eat him like wat ckseong have in mind

This post has been edited by cartographer: Jul 9 2010, 04:45 PM
cartographer
post Jul 10 2010, 12:14 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Kelvynlim @ Jul 9 2010, 09:47 PM)
So now, anybody playing tomolo at sunway?
im playing 2mr...

c u guys

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0389sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:34 AM