LYN Official Tennis Thread V8, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

romeolee
post Jul 20 2010, 04:02 PM

115 posts

hi guys,

another question, when im using my new racquet and when i hit the ball. It doesnt have the solid feel. i was wondering where the problem lies. Is it because of my string tension, my racquet, or is it just me? im a beginner btw.
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 09:29 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jul 20 2010, 04:06 PM)
wat u mean by no solid feel?
is it the racket too much vibration?
or cannot feel the sweetspot?
well i not sure what is it called in tennis term.. like whenever you hit it.. got one sweet sound to it wan.. but when i hit it.. like doesnt have that solid sound..i would assume its my racquet since its a very light racquet..
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 11:22 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jul 21 2010, 11:12 AM)
oic...
may i know...

wat is ur racket head size?
wat string and wat tension u use?
wat is ur racket weight?
wat is ur racket head balance?
do u always brush up on the ball (topspin) in ur strokes?
do u feel vibration in ur racket when u hit? and do u use a dampener?
headsize = 110
string tension = 55
racket weight = 270+g
head balance = 0.6 pts Head Heavy
well i must admit that i do always brush up on the ball
yea i feel vibration in my racquet when i hit and i use a dampener.
btw how do u define vibration btw.. sorry im new to this game..
still got lotsa thing to learn..

This post has been edited by romeolee: Jul 21 2010, 11:24 AM
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 12:27 PM

115 posts

@angel-ice

well not too bad la.. but like i say.. i might be too new to know.. haha..
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 12:54 PM

115 posts

@angel-ice

oh.. what do u mean by tennis elbow??

yeap thats what i meant.. the ting ting sound.. feels like hitting using a papan lidet.. i would prefer to have a "tak" sound.. feels more solid..
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 04:42 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Jul 21 2010, 02:16 PM)
oic... i think the ting ting sound usually its bcuz of the string... sometimes the racket also may cause this kind of sound, and therefore have to use a bigger dampener

u can try using a synthetic string with the same tension and see whether its better for u or not
another thing u can try if u dun wan 2 change ur string yet is to put a longer/bigger dampener (since u are already using one but i suppose u are using a small wan), or use a thick rubberband

if u brush up alot in ur strokes, u can try swinging more forward movement instead of just swinging upwards alone, to get more 'pop' sound. but be careful though, bcuz since u are using a large frame and light racket, u need to topspin alot. ur ball may go long if u swing too much forward... so try to swing forward but dont compromise ur brush up (topspin) movement

hope this helps
its definately a great help.. ill try it during the next tennis session.. in fact, ill try to come at some of the weekend sunway session and learn more.. thanks alot..
romeolee
post Jul 21 2010, 07:18 PM

115 posts

i may not be a good tennis player.. but those racquets are darn good to look at...
romeolee
post Jul 23 2010, 06:23 PM

115 posts

@ jules
dun worry bro, beginner here too.. tmr will be my first time.. maybe we can do some strokes together.. my stroke damn not consistent especially since now using a new racquet.

@klboy
great.. u'll be there tmr.. at least i can recognize someone.. tmr must ajar me how to play.. haha..
romeolee
post Jul 23 2010, 11:32 PM

115 posts

@klboy89

haha.. whoever willing to teach me i will accept 1.. btw im bringing a fren along who doesnt play tennis but wanna know more about it.. so hope u guys help me poison him la.. at least i got newbie to play with me..
romeolee
post Jul 24 2010, 01:20 PM

115 posts

just came back from the session.. really thanks alot to kevin82 for his guidance today.. i feel my stroke is much better than last time d.. and also nice to meet ppl like jules, ckseong and others.. unfortunately i have a movie to catch.. so cant stay long.. will join u guys again..

btw carto, saw you but didnt manage to meet u.. was rushing.. haha.

@vobs

welcome back.. hope u get well soon.. told few of my frens bout your event but when they realized its postpone.. they kinda potong stim.. but brought some of them to the usual weekend session la.. haha.. btw do lemme know the new date.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by romeolee: Jul 24 2010, 01:54 PM
romeolee
post Jul 25 2010, 11:23 AM

115 posts

@Daang

dun worry.. yday when i was there was uneasy.. but they are really frenly ppl.. i think kevin82 will approach you wan if he sees any new faces..
romeolee
post Jul 26 2010, 01:18 PM

115 posts

just for curiosity, why so many ppl ordering from kevin? isit like alot cheaper over there?
romeolee
post Jul 26 2010, 11:07 PM

115 posts

just got back from a game of tennis with frens.. realized that my forehand has improved alot.. thanks kevin82 for your help the other day.. but still have problem with my backhand.. personally i prefer the one handed backhand.. but it seems like many ppl saying that two handed backhand is better.. whats your view on that? i dun wan later been to used to one handed and decided two handed is better..

and also my serve.. today 3 consecutive double fault... damn memalukan.. someone please help me!!!
romeolee
post Jul 27 2010, 10:53 AM

115 posts

@ live4eva
nola, havent really get the consistency yet. anyway wed tennis at ur place? on? try to arrange doubles as me and huachoon are ready to play with you guys d.

@kevin82
yeap. will check out on those videos. thanks for the tips. so this weekend are u goin to be in sunway or will be at sg?

@vobs
great advice! i used to be in the same situation. Money becomes a constraint of the things i loved to do. At the end of the day, when i look back after few years. Now having the ability to afford, i missed out on the years that have been wasted. I would be a better in what i do if i have just do it few years ago. And with the busy work schedule now, i hardly have the time now. But of coz, if you still cant afford, well, just have fun. Life is too short.
romeolee
post Jul 27 2010, 01:40 PM

115 posts

haha.. funny the way u call him Mr Left handed.. he okay la. same like me only.. still needs more consistency.. ill ask him to come over.
romeolee
post Jul 27 2010, 02:30 PM

115 posts

@ckseong

hey doing great..yeap. its fun. one week i think i played like more than 3 times. haha.
btw will u be around this weekend? i need someone to help me on my backhand and serve. kevin82 my sifu not around. haha.

haha..both sports still runs in my blood.
romeolee
post Jul 28 2010, 04:49 PM

115 posts

i also wanna ask.. did we meet last saturday? are you the one that say you only post in this thread once? damn i forgotten the name of the person..
romeolee
post Jul 30 2010, 09:56 AM

115 posts

anybody knows where got public courts that can be access for free..? well besides sunway college of coz.. damn not siok if play but then have to jaga the time.. cannot take time off for a chat or rest..
romeolee
post Jul 30 2010, 10:28 AM

115 posts

how bout any place in Klang or Subang/Sunway? Taman Desa too far for me. that time my petrol itself maybe can cover the court charges d. If sunway college go at night, will they on the lights ah?
romeolee
post Jul 30 2010, 10:40 AM

115 posts

@carto

so are u meaning that we actually need to book and pay? or just book?
hmm.. maybe next time go must bring those fluoresent light and connect it to a car battery (like those pasar malam). haha.. maybe i shud ask around ppl from BU and DJ on those courts and update the people here..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0375sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:34 PM