22 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Gamers Gate., Steam hasth noth thou gameth?Look here!

talexeh
post Aug 23 2010, 07:57 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,085 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 23 2010, 07:42 PM)
why isn't this thread pinned ? since the steam promotion thread and the gog thread is pinned ?
Request has been made before & mod is currently in the midst of restructuring the GH subforum. Refer to this link:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1504101

Soon there'll be no pinned DD thread. smile.gif
talexeh
post Aug 23 2010, 11:35 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Aug 23 2010, 11:29 PM)
Now i have second thought of GamersGate

1. They screw my Men of War, the lastest patch is different from steam, so i cant play with my friends.

2. It also screw someone SaintRow2 Copy as well.
1. Can I know if it's something like Borderlands? Almost got it but put it aside last minute due to my SC2 multiplayer issue somehow got resolved.

2. Not trying to defend GG or anything but apparently SR2 in Steam received lotsa rants too. sad.gif Still it's not something to look forward to from GG. sad.gif

EDIT: On another note, are you gonna try submit a ticket to inquire about the Men of War multiplayer issue?

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 23 2010, 11:36 PM
talexeh
post Aug 24 2010, 01:44 AM

3,085 posts

This is a lil' late but just for those who are lazy or new to GG:

Summer Sale Week 4: We ♥ Indie
A Kingdom for Keflings slashed by 66% to end up at $6.79.
Against Rome slashed by 50% to end up at $4.99.
And Yet It Moves slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Avernum V slashed by 60% to end up at $7.98.
Beat Hazard slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Besieger slashed by 50% to end up at $4.99.
Bob Came in Pieces slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Braid slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Braid Mac slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Emberwind slashed by 66% to end up at $4.07.
Emberwind Mac slashed by 66% to end up at $4.07.
Fate of Hellas slashed by 50% to end up at $4.99.
Flotilla slashed by 66% to end up at $3.39.
Geneforge 5 slashed by 60% to end up at $7.98.
Machinarium slashed by 66% to end up at $6.79.
Osmos slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Plain Sight slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Saira slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
Seven Kingdoms Conquest slashed by 50% to end up at $4.99.
The Golden Horde slashed by 50% to end up at $9.99.
The Path slashed by 60% to end up at $3.99.
World of Goo slashed by 66% to end up at $6.79.
Zombie Driver slashed by 75% to end up at $2.49.
Zombilution slashed by 66% to end up at $2.37.

Will update you guys on the US region games in the morning.
talexeh
post Aug 25 2010, 12:18 AM

3,085 posts

FFFFUUUUUU.... was pew-pew-pew'ing in SC2. If only I was 10 minutes early! doh.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 25 2010, 12:20 AM
talexeh
post Aug 26 2010, 07:37 PM

3,085 posts

Anyone here purchased Plain Sight from GG? I'm wondering if players from GG & Steam can duke it out together. hmm.gif
talexeh
post Aug 26 2010, 08:26 PM

3,085 posts

Found something to share with you guys. I'm sure that most, if not all of us, are Steam users too. Once in a while, we do encounter the issue of Steam running out of game keys especially when it involves smoking hot games that were thrown into the offer bins. No matter what kind of issues we had with Steam (buggy games *cough cough* MTG: DotP *cough cough*), refund is near impossible (I was about to write impossible as I've never read about successful refund in the Steam forum but in case you guys seen 1 before hence the inclusion of near). Wanna see how easy it is with GG?

This might set a bad precedent but I find GG to be much more user friendly, at least they apply a certain degree of human touch when dealing with their customers & that's what I like about GG. rclxm9.gif

Noticed the respond speed from GG? wub.gif

Added on August 26, 2010, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(alex82 @ Aug 26 2010, 08:25 PM)
steam and gg plain sight is the same.. you are actually buying the key/client to register a online account to play
Thanks for the information. smile.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 26 2010, 08:29 PM
talexeh
post Aug 26 2010, 08:58 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Aug 26 2010, 08:41 PM)
The guy was a bit of a d*** though, but yar, it was good form from GG to accept the refund.

In Steam I have seen refund done "quite" easily for pre-order, seems you can cancel a pre-order and get a full refund quite easily for this.
Otherwise yar, Steam non-refund policy is quite strict.

Thing is, that was on facebook or twitter right? I am not so fond of having facebook being the main contact point for GG really, I am in China, I have to use my office network to access facebook, does that mean I am not entitled for quick customer service?
From echoes I got getting a quick reply from GG NOT from facebook is much harder. The "tutor" system does not cut it in my opinion, I am an advanced user enough to not bother customer support for the kind of questions the tutor system answers.

I totally agree it's not GG's fault that China is blocking facebook access but point is they should not, in my opinion, use a 3rd party service like facebook/twitter or whatever as the main point to get quick customer support, it's not it's purpose, it's not safe and it's not private enough.
It's on Twitter. I think it's inevitable that they have to embrace these new social media platforms such as Facebook & Twitter since you'll lose out a lot if you don't jump onto the bandwagon. biggrin.gif

I believe they have a certain employees assigned to their Twitter & Facebook since most of the replies were coming from Angie herself. My experience dealing with their Customer Support is pretty OK, almost comparable to Steam with the response time of 24 hours. IMHO, the Game Tutor is actually a great platform to have gamers help gamers & at the same time, you get to earn blue points if you manage to help resolve the issue!

Anyway, I think I'm starting to deviate to the point of bashing Steam if I go any further. biggrin.gif I still love both platforms but GG has been impressing me greatly since the day I started using them. cool.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 26 2010, 08:58 PM
talexeh
post Aug 30 2010, 01:05 AM

3,085 posts

Bounce! just got released not too long ago. Gameplay is almost similar to Portal, in the sense that you've to accomplish missions to advance further. It's an indie game, so don't expect too much.

talexeh
post Aug 30 2010, 03:52 PM

3,085 posts

Battlestations Pacific | -50% | $17.47

Pacific Liberation Force | -50% | $4.99
Ikaro | -75% | $7.48
WWI Aces of the Sky | -60% | $5.99
Wings of Prey | -50% | $24.99

This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 30 2010, 04:27 PM
talexeh
post Sep 1 2010, 03:26 PM

3,085 posts

Oh mai, it's Air Combat Week!

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 1 2010, 03:27 PM
talexeh
post Sep 2 2010, 10:36 AM

3,085 posts

Football Manager 2010 | -50% | $9.99
King's Bounty Crossworlds | -15% | $16.99
Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale | -10% | $17.99
Space Siege | -66% | $6.79
Warhammer 40k Dawn of War Complete Pack | -17% | $49.95 | Includes following games:
  • Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War
  • Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War: Winter Assault
  • Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War: Dark Crusade
  • Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War: Soulstorm

I'm really tempted to get Recettear for my waifu.

Btw ashx, with the rate GG is addding new games into their offer bin, I think it'll be hard for you to keep updating the first post. sad.gif
talexeh
post Sep 3 2010, 01:36 AM

3,085 posts

GG is going crazy. So many different offer series in a week WTF?! Adding Penumbra & King's Bounty series here.

King's Bounty Crossworlds | -15% | $16.99
King's Bounty Platinum | -10% | $31.45
King's Bounty: Crossworlds Game of the Year Edition | -10% | $26.97
Penumbra Black Plague Mac | -70% | $2.99
Penumbra Collection | -70% | $5.99
Penumbra Collection Mac | -70% | $5.98
Penumbra Overture Mac | -70% | $2.99
Penumbra Requiem Mac | -70% | $2.99
Penumbra: Overture | -70% | $2.99
talexeh
post Sep 4 2010, 05:54 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 4 2010, 05:48 PM)
i downloading demo via steam now.
might wanna get this if i rike it.

Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale | -10% | $17.99
is it me dunno how to navigate gamer's gate games catalog, or steam's way of showing the games is better?
i mean, with steam, i can do this:
http://store.steampowered.com/search/?sort...ort_order=DESC&
see all games, in list, sort by price, meta score etc.
gamers gate cannot do that? O_O
http://www.gamersgate.com/all?q=&list_type=compact

GG utilizes user ratings instead of metascore. You can sort the games by using the drop down Sort by: menu at the top. smile.gif
talexeh
post Sep 6 2010, 08:54 PM

3,085 posts

Patrician IV + Patrician 2 | -20% | $39.95
Tidalis | -30% | $6.99

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 7 2010, 09:49 AM
talexeh
post Sep 7 2010, 09:49 AM

3,085 posts

It's EA Week! Monday = Command & Conquer!

Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight | -50% | $14.97
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3 Mac | -60% | $11.98
Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 | -60% | $11.98
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3 Uprising US | -60% | $7.98
talexeh
post Sep 7 2010, 12:02 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Sep 7 2010, 11:42 AM)
the game is not priced yet hor.. the ea sale would be throughout the week and each day with different genre? damn gg dont have burnout paradise  cry.gif
Oops... forgot to turn off the VPN again. I've tweeted GG to confirm if these are region locked. From the look of things, it might be region locked since it's already Tuesday here. sad.gif

Still, some of us can get these games so I'll update this thread on daily basis for each day to come. smile.gif

EDIT:

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 7 2010, 04:02 PM
talexeh
post Sep 7 2010, 04:30 PM

3,085 posts

Dead Space | -60% | $7.98
Mirrors Edge | -60% | $7.98
Need for Speed Shift | -50% | $14.97

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 7 2010, 04:31 PM
talexeh
post Sep 7 2010, 04:45 PM

3,085 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Sep 7 2010, 04:40 PM)
mirror edge always goes on sale at steam for 75% but this time 60% at gg? the sale not as epic as steam sale
Well, we can't expect every DD platforms to match each others' offer all the time right? biggrin.gif

There will always be some games that are cheaper & some games more expensive for all DD platforms.
talexeh
post Sep 7 2010, 07:28 PM

3,085 posts

Hacker Evolution | -50% | $9.99

This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 8 2010, 04:53 PM
talexeh
post Sep 8 2010, 04:54 PM

3,085 posts

Crysis | -60% | $11.98