Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

llobak
post Jun 22 2010, 05:56 PM

344 posts

Hi guys,

I not sure whether u guys ad know bout this or not but i didnt see it in the topic so i think i would like to share.(sharing is wat ANDROID about)!

I've never used a HTC phone b4 but i think that the stock screen keyboard for MS just not so good. then i accidentally found the following website that enable MS user to use HTC keyboard.
I know with the physical keyboard of MS it's pointless to have on screen keyboard. but for lazy ppl like me who sometimes don like to flip out the keyboard, this HTC ported keyboard is excellent.
Well ever since i installed this, i seldom use the physical keyboard of MS even for long sms. ^^

http://www.droid-life.com/2010/03/29/downl...e-keyboard-v19/

if any of you know that there's ad a newer n better version, kindly let me know can? thanks.

ps: in my opinion, i can type faster using this HTC keyboard compare to swype.
llobak
post Jun 23 2010, 04:05 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(jeisern @ Jun 23 2010, 09:52 AM)
Brp SCPT are u using full SWYPE version or trial release? can u forward me to the site where u purchase it?

Wanna try SWYPE smile.gif
you can go to market n download shapeWriter keyboard.
i never use swype b4 la. but i think this shapewriter is something like swype...
llobak
post Jun 30 2010, 09:39 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Jun 29 2010, 08:31 PM)
Thanks anyway!  notworthy.gif

When I receive messages, it doesn't vibrate, is there something I can do about it? because sometimes I can't hear it in busy areas.
hi mayb u can try to download this "mobile profiles" app from market.
it can let you set your profile such as general, silent, meeting. Its the function that i would like to have just like symbian phone.
llobak
post Jul 5 2010, 09:30 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Jul 3 2010, 12:16 PM)
Do I get APNDroid from the market?

I shall try once again then.

If u still not able to download the APNDroid from the market, and if u also cannot find get the .apk from the net.
pm me and i'll email u the .apk file. hope your credit don get suck up anymore.
llobak
post Jul 5 2010, 09:43 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Jul 5 2010, 09:31 AM)
How do I get the .apk file from the net? I am currently trying to download the APNDroid from the market but it is not starting!

I've send you the apk file.

Can any1 teach us how to install the apk file without file manager??
i only know how to install using a file manager...
and clquek does not have a file manager i think.

advance thanks for the help
llobak
post Jul 6 2010, 03:20 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 6 2010, 01:49 PM)
just flash the sbf file then. pick the service version so that it will keep all your stuff. only took a few minutes smile.gif
just wanna confirm with u. if i flash it with service version, then i no need to do any backup?
going to try to flash it tonight. and i lazy to backup all my apps... hehe...
llobak
post Jul 6 2010, 07:10 PM

344 posts

i'm sorry but i'm confuse. From this thread got ppl say that flashing the SBF file to MS doesn't require root. but from the guide from Pandroid website, from wat i understand is flashing a SBF is actually rooting your phone wor...

Mayb my english too bad, can any1 confirm with me plz? Thanks and sorry for my noob-bi-ness... T_T
llobak
post Jul 8 2010, 06:55 AM

344 posts

yesterday just updated to 0.36 OTA. SG set. now the alarm works without any delay. and the back of the phone does not feel so hot when running apps. wow... smoothness still not sure yet... hhahaha... i love my MS more
llobak
post Jul 13 2010, 12:21 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(lloyd1030 @ Jul 12 2010, 09:24 PM)
Anyone here using SEA 02.36 sbf? Do you have the speech to text button in your soft keyboard and the search widget?
QUOTE(Nagashiro @ Jul 12 2010, 10:59 PM)
lloyd1030, there is also no speech function I think its for droid.

Correct me if i were wrong
I'm using SEA 02.36 sbf. I do have the speech to text thing. I don think it comes with the 2.36. the reason i have it is coz last time i downloaded it from a website(which i forgot the address ad).
But the speech to text i never use coz it does not work well with malaysian accent. i think it'll only useful if u can speak like amo...
if u interested in the apk, you can mail me i can email it to u.
pm me if u wan the apk.
llobak
post Jul 15 2010, 08:29 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:01 PM)
i've got the ringtone problem too..
how do i set the vibration in notification ringtone??
i tick the vibration but it only vibrates in incoming call but not sms.. sad.gif
any idea how??
If you familiar with nokia profile mode, mayb u can try to download a apps name "profiles" form the market. it resemble the profile setting from nokia. i'm using it and i think it's very good..

llobak
post Jul 16 2010, 03:16 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 16 2010, 11:36 AM)
Probably you don't read all of the contents but efuse already existed even in droid and milestone. So far nothing happened to those phones.

We might not get custom firmware but root is possible.

There is a reason why motorola lock the bootloader. More people with custom firmware means higher risks of bricked phones, thus more warranty claims. I hate their decision on this but when you compare the ratio between users like us and mass market users like our uncles or sisters who are not going to explore the phone like we do, it's a better approach in term of business.
actually warranty is not the reason for motorola to lock the bootloader. coz once u root your phone, your warranty will be void. HTC n other android phone did not lock their phone, and i'm sure alot of those phone had been bricked but we don hear issue ppl complaining claiming warranty from HTC. coz for those that flash their rom, they know the risk.

QUOTE(boonhoong @ Jul 16 2010, 02:53 PM)
Just tried rock player on my Milestone. Finally Divx, mkv and rmvb has been unleashed on our Android platform. Smooth as butter on the Milestone.
wow... i'll try it out tonight... yes divx here i come!!

edit: it's in the market!! btw which version u download? i downloaded the following version
ARMV7 1.0.28 [Google Nexus One, HTC Desire Incredible EVO , Moto Milestone XT800, Droid Series,Acer Liquid, Samsung Galaxy S, Sony Ericsson X10 ,Dell Thunder Streak, LG LU2300 etc .]

but when i try to play very good quality file(h264), its not smooth... sad

This post has been edited by llobak: Jul 16 2010, 04:27 PM
llobak
post Jul 16 2010, 04:33 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(boonhoong @ Jul 16 2010, 04:10 PM)
llobak,
Please edit the Rockplayer link when you "quoted" me. I was informed by another forumer that the earlier forum link I added discusses appz... Thank you.

JunkieG,
Please help remove the link as well. Thank you. By the way, watching 1280x720 resolution mkv on a 854x480 screen is a bit overkill IMO tongue.gif
removed the link..... wahahha... forgot that our screen is 854x480.... but still very impressive MS with the rock player can play such high quality file!

QUOTE(muok @ Jul 16 2010, 04:13 PM)
I have to charge my milestone TWICE a day. Do you guys have this problem as well? Can't last more than 12 hours and I don't do much with it. A few short phone calls and a few SMSs. Little browsing.
or u can try to download "power save mode enabler" from the market... last time i also have to charge twice a day but i'm a heavy user la(coz that time just get the phone ma)..
now i 1 day charge 1 time.

or u can download "APNdroid" from market which enable u to off all the 3G,EDGE,i not sure bout GPRS signal.... i use this when i goes to sleep... last time when i sleep, the batt drop more that 20%. after using the APNdroid to off the 3G signal when i sleep. the batt hardly drop.
llobak
post Jul 20 2010, 05:08 PM

344 posts

any1 have shazam .apk file??? i mean the 1 that have unlimited tags wan?

please send it to me thanks.... so sad the newest update only allows you to tag 5 songs then the rest need to charge ad....

any1 plz.. thanks
llobak
post Jul 21 2010, 11:30 AM

344 posts

yesterday i had my hands on an iphone 3GS, sad to say that although 3GS has the same processor speed with MS, seems like the iphone is smoother if compare with our MS. nvm la, android still better

and 1 more thing is, iphone keyboard is so much better than any keyboard that i've used. I've used : HTC, shape writter, better keyboard. but still feels that the iphone keyboard is better. any1 have any other suggestion for keyboard that can at least on par with iphone keyboard?

ps: i still love MS. just hope to get wat is good in iphone and port it over to android to make us better.
llobak
post Jul 21 2010, 02:30 PM

344 posts

ya i also don like iphone coz it has too much limitation. android is good.

i've not yet try droic x keyboard. will go give it a try hope it can at least on par with iphone keyboard. thanks
llobak
post Jul 21 2010, 04:21 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 21 2010, 02:50 PM)
You have to root your phone in order to use the keyboard because it will replace the stock one
so sad coz mine is unroot-ed phone. don plan to root it yet...

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 21 2010, 03:52 PM)
juz download handcent keyboard app..
the handcent keyboard got very bad review wor.....
llobak
post Jul 21 2010, 05:01 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 21 2010, 04:26 PM)
then try swype. i have both multitouch and swype but now i mainly use swype becos its faster. for sms words, u have to type it first for swype to learn them, after that every words can be swyped. smile.gif
do you have the apk for swype? i've tried to search online but i could not find 1... rclxub.gif
llobak
post Jul 26 2010, 09:03 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Jul 24 2010, 02:50 PM)
Up till now, I am still unable to download any apps from the Market through wifi so I gave up and started paying for mobile internet.  sad.gif

Just wondering, how can I get GPS apps like Papago or something which can run without any data plan?
I searched for Papago but it didnt show the map for Malaysia.  icon_question.gif please!

Thank you!  notworthy.gif
Did you send your MS back to the shop and tell them the Market problem that u facing???

For GPS i'm using google wan, would also like to learn how to use papago map...
llobak
post Jul 27 2010, 08:38 AM

344 posts

Good new!, Samsung road sms application had been ported out to all the other android phone.

roadsms apk
I think this link should be allowed right? coz it's from XDA forum.

I've tried it but this app does not work with our MS hardware keyboard. if can work with our hardware keyboard then surely i'll always use this!

QUOTE(Raiko @ Jul 26 2010, 09:40 PM)
anybody here didnt use screen protector ?
I'm using a matte SP coz i cannot tahan the finger print on my screen.... there's an article where they say although MS has gorila glass but it's not that "gorila" coz alot ppl has scratches on their MS due to minor minor problem.
llobak
post Jul 28 2010, 09:32 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 27 2010, 11:11 PM)
Or enjoy half of what the frozen yogurt tastes like
- http://www.droid-life.com/2010/07/27/frf91...rola-milestone/
according to some people using nexus 1, this half frozen yogurt is not froyo at all. Thanks to the stupid MOTO company which locks the bootloader.
this half froyo can be think of something like pirated VCD. something like a 2.2 skin on a 2.1 phone. performace will lose to real froyo coz we cant change the kernel.

I"m quite done with MOTO, they start to piss me off like how apple did. Going to sell off my MS very soon n jump ship to samsung or htc. although MS is really a very good build phone.

0.0239sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:22 AM