Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

ligter
post Jun 19 2010, 12:47 AM

78 posts

wat i think is i mayb won't stick with milestone 2 or watever in the future...bt definitely stick with Android~Android is really awesome~
ligter
post Jun 20 2010, 10:49 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(WLFung @ Jun 20 2010, 10:20 AM)
Just to share.
I can use the MotoNav now as it is full version....  rclxms.gif

Just to tell, the official MotoNAV is taken from iGO8.
It is just special version for Milestone.

After I uninstall the build-in MotoNAV and get the * version iGO/MotoNAV.
It's work!!  rclxms.gif
Sadly the most update map is dated 2009.03....  sad.gif

And I had hard search for the 3D Buildings & POI for Malaysia...  cool2.gif
To say that, Out station location is pretty crappy & less details as I can say...  brows.gif
As you can imagine the 6.7MB iGO map is how details you can get.

Think they won't update anymore.

If you are in Europe/US, then iGO is great!!!
They got the most complete collection of map for the whole world that I think...
Mind share where u gt the software?I'm using google navigation(brut version) bt i'm willing to try tis software also smile.gif
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 12:37 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(jansonChan @ Jul 2 2010, 11:09 PM)
My milestone just get a update to 2.36. It is a brightstar set...
a Froyo upadate...haha(quite inpossible)
or juz 2.1 service update?
mind share wat had change or new on the update?

This post has been edited by ligter: Jul 3 2010, 12:42 AM
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 01:33 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(cheeshyan94 @ Jul 3 2010, 01:01 AM)
where to update? mine also brightstar set, without root?
setting>about phone>system update
i juz finish download and installing nw...
exciting to find up wats changes will it bring to my ms~^^

This post has been edited by ligter: Jul 3 2010, 01:33 AM
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 02:23 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(hizperion @ Jul 3 2010, 01:59 AM)
so i guess these updates no need root ones
maybe in few days can get mine updated also then happy.gif
ur ms is a brightstar set?if it is...then follow the step to updates...u can get the update tonight also^^
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 01:47 PM

78 posts

After few hour playing with my ms with 2.36 update...
i found an important changes to my ms which is>

MY MILESTONE IS NT LAGGY ANYMORE~hahaha
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 01:55 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 3 2010, 01:48 PM)
im didnt have MS yet..planning to buy it next week..thats why..still newbie..astro file manager..what function dat app..izzit an app that u can install any app from memory card to ur internal memory?
actually astro fiile manager is an app for viewing all the files in ur hp...u can browse the .apk file downloaded inside ur memory card and install using the app manager
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 10:41 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Jul 3 2010, 09:07 PM)
If all apps have been wiped sure la faster laugh.gif All South East Asian sets should have the 2.36 update already. Yep, since build 2.34 they fixed all the bugs, including the water ripples effect in the LWP.
My apps didn't wipe out bt still its nt laggy~haha
ligter
post Jul 3 2010, 10:56 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jul 3 2010, 10:52 PM)
Where can I manually download this update?

Trying the Moto web is futile...
Only found the Android 2.0 > 2.1 update.
http://and-developers.com/motorola_milestone:sbf
ligter
post Jul 4 2010, 12:42 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ky_guy @ Jul 4 2010, 12:36 PM)
i dont understand the update....i chck on my MS,it still says current update to 2.1 update 1 and SHOLS 2.31. How to do the update manually? btw....does it need a rooted device? cause mine is not....
it need nt a rooted devic because its an official update
go to setting>about phone>system update
ligter
post Jul 4 2010, 10:50 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Jul 4 2010, 09:16 PM)
hi all.

i'm planning to get myself an android phone this month..currently i'm struggling whether which android phone should i get..
still choosing around in between milestones, nexus 1 and desire..
which one do you guys recommend??

like milestones so much because of the qwerty keyboard but i heard the news of paint peeling off from the camera button and also the 'echo' sound when making/receiving calls..software/firmware buggy or not i am not sure..

for nexus 1 it can firstly get froyo update in this planet but i kinda don't like the design and also the trackball..

desire almost same spec as n1, works great in sense ui function but i gotta feeling that it will get froyo update very very late...

can anyone please choose for me?? sad.gif  sad.gif
I perfer milestone because it have a physical keyboard and better looking

i have use my brightstar set for months and the camera button didn't peel off

and milstone may get froyo update in tis few month since droid will get theirs in tis month
ligter
post Jul 5 2010, 12:07 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 4 2010, 11:35 PM)
oh..means if u buy ORI..root our MS..stil under warranty meh??
warranty void after root ori ms
ligter
post Jul 7 2010, 12:31 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 7 2010, 12:07 AM)
im newbie ..juz bought milestone today...can anybody guide me to install flash plugin..n any app can play the flv video format..im using 2.1 firmware
2.1 still cannot use flash...need wait until 2.2 froyo come out only can use~
ligter
post Jul 11 2010, 04:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Nagashiro @ Jul 11 2010, 04:11 PM)
Today juz get my 1st android phone..
Still exploring..
Im using prepaid ..
How do i stop it from draining my $$ for unnecessary usage?
Use APNdroid..can doenload it in android market
ligter
post Jul 12 2010, 05:29 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(RieZky @ Jul 11 2010, 11:17 PM)
haa 1250 ori set..really meh??gimme the link?
are you sure abt the price...even ap is more expensive than your price~swt
ligter
post Jul 23 2010, 05:37 AM

78 posts

After having know that milestone may not get froyo2.2...i'm totally fed up wih motorola company...i saw other europe forum stated that if motorola didn't provide froyo2.2 they will have a lawsuit against motorola since they stated that milestone is flash-ready and demand for a full refund~

Added on July 23, 2010, 5:50 amand i found another problem here~anyone notice that brightstar malaysia website is gone ard?

This post has been edited by ligter: Jul 23 2010, 05:50 AM
ligter
post Jul 24 2010, 03:26 PM

78 posts

u guys is using brightstar set or ap set?

ligter
post Jul 28 2010, 10:32 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(llobak @ Jul 28 2010, 09:32 AM)
according to some people using nexus 1, this half frozen yogurt is not froyo at all. Thanks to the stupid MOTO company which locks the bootloader.
this half froyo can be think of something like pirated VCD. something like a 2.2 skin on a 2.1 phone. performace will lose to real froyo coz we cant change the kernel.

I"m quite done with MOTO, they start to piss me off like how apple did. Going to sell off my MS very soon n jump ship to samsung or htc. although MS is really a very good build phone.
TOTALLY AGREE~IF MOTOROLA DON'T PROVIDE US WITH 2.2...THIS IS THE LAST PHONE EVER I BUY FROM MOTO~
ligter
post Jul 31 2010, 07:47 AM

78 posts

Guys...anybody here can check if brightstar website still on...coz i cant load into it
ligter
post Jul 31 2010, 08:07 PM

78 posts

there are a leak on milestone getting froyo at late sept by O2 germany and italy(if not wrong)~juz hope we get it same time as Europe did

0.0506sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:01 PM