Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

great2bcool
post Aug 18 2010, 10:45 AM

320 posts

Hi All,

I have been facing this network connection problem for quite sometime. When making calls, the connection will suddenly goes off & conversation was cut off. Then the connection will regain back thus have to redial again.

This matter really annoying me. Anyone facing such problem & any solution to this? I am using Celcom & in KL area. The phone is ORI & not rooting.

thanks!!

great2bcool
post Aug 18 2010, 05:46 PM

320 posts

[quote=gajahwhite,Aug 18 2010, 04:34 PM]
never experience this kind of problem..
try to flash to latest version.. smile.gif

Added on August 18, 2010, 3:45 pm

Hi Gajahwhite,

thanks for your suggestion.My unit has already been updated to latest version.

but still encountered such issue few times & every time i hard reset again, then sometimes it works. However, soon the problem will be back again.

So was thinking to highlight here & maybe if anyone experience such issue & how to solve it.

thanks!
rclxub.gif

great2bcool
post Aug 18 2010, 06:56 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Aug 18 2010, 07:16 PM)
Oh..already latest.. 2.1update1 la if so? Hmm..

Try follow the 1st post of this thread..
Scpt already list some "milestone 2.1" issue.. and telling the solution is
flash to HK SHOLS_U2_02.34.3 sbf or SEA SHOLS_U2_02.36.0 sbf
Oh, how do you flash to the HK or SEA Version? What i did is go to Setting/about phone/system updates- & click on the "confirm data usage" & the unit will detect whether my phone is the latest version.

The build number is "SHOLS_U2_02.36.0", so is this the SEA version?

thanks again!
great2bcool
post Aug 19 2010, 11:48 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Aug 18 2010, 08:27 PM)
any of the ORI MS here rooted their phone oredi?

connection problem could be related to ur ear touching the hold button or end call button press accidentally..
No woh, i called using bluetooth so this matter does not arise. Really disappointed with this problem. Few times during phone call the line just cut off & you can see the signal bar drop to nil & the red cross "+" appear & later signal bar back to full.

This is not good as people thought i am being rude just cut the conversation like that...ooohh mad.gif

If no solution i guess i might want to this unit to service centre... vmad.gif
great2bcool
post Aug 19 2010, 05:11 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Aug 19 2010, 05:45 PM)
Weird..
I never experience any prob with mine.. mine is rooted also.. plus overclock to 800mhz..
Will monitor for few more days, maybe is Celcom problem? Noted since yesterday the Celcom broadband service has been very bad, maybe this also affect their network ..??
great2bcool
post Aug 20 2010, 01:56 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Aug 20 2010, 12:13 AM)
mayb got hantu there dat y the cross appear rolleyes.gif

try with other sim kad..maybe coverage problem

now my problem is still crackling speaker n call quality

try with talking tom (funny app cat dat repeat everything u said), the outcome was crackling voice

for those who had ori set, i will pm u for info on how to root

i want to root if no froyo coming.. brows.gif
wahlau..u telling me my phone trying to chase hantu away. blink.gif

now trying to use 2g network instead of 3g & see whether this hantu problem is remain.

aiya...when will this Froyo coming ?? if no froyo update from motorola, this will be my last phone from motorola. vmad.gif

Added on August 20, 2010, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(great2bcool @ Aug 20 2010, 02:56 PM)
wahlau..u telling me my phone trying to chase hantu away. blink.gif

now trying to use 2g network instead of 3g & see whether this hantu problem is remain.

aiya...when will this Froyo coming ?? if no froyo update from motorola, this will be my last phone from motorola. vmad.gif
I am doing some research online & found this "dropped call " issues really happened & is being reported in US.

https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/1...art=75&tstart=0

Seems like my problem is not alone in US, but strange, here in M'sia no one has such issue.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by great2bcool: Aug 20 2010, 05:16 PM
great2bcool
post Aug 20 2010, 05:45 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(clquek @ Aug 20 2010, 06:29 PM)
Hey people!

I need send my phone to Motorola since I have been unable to download from the Market ever since I got my phone.

Problem now is, how to I backup everything from my MS now?

Thanks!  notworthy.gif
back up your application using Astro or ES File Explorer into Micro SD card under the "backups" folders.

use SMS Backup & restore to back up all your sms. You can also using this application to email your "back up sms file" & save in computer.

I am using AK notepad & one thing good is that your note can be stored in their website & sync back everytime your reboot your phone.

all this application can be found in market.

the rest file like photo & documents will be stored in your sd card, just sync your phone to computer & copy all the data in sd card will do.

for google email & contacts, it can be restored when you reboot the phone & do a sync with google account.

Hope this will help.
great2bcool
post Aug 23 2010, 06:14 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Aug 23 2010, 04:36 PM)
check how frequent ur update setting

i usually "refresh" it after open
I believe the Sync button is not selected.

Maybe you can try to add the "Power button" widget on your screen (long press on the screen & a list of widget will appear, scroll & select the Power button widget".

From the screen, select the "sync" button & let it on all the time. Your phone will be able to sync with Gmail & update you when got new email.

Hope this one help.
great2bcool
post Aug 24 2010, 10:31 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Aug 23 2010, 08:58 PM)
The sync function for my gmail account is switched on all the time. the widget you mentioned is a shortcut to the sync setting found in Accounts & Sync Settings. I had this turned on since day one I got the phone. the weird thing is that it was doing very well initially, but now seems not to be doing it anymore (unless I press refresh in GMail). Annoying... to say the least.
So maybe last option is to hard reset the phone lo...
great2bcool
post Sep 7 2010, 04:39 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(realheng @ Sep 7 2010, 10:36 AM)
its become blank message  shakehead.gif
I believe this has nothing to do with the Google pinyin. My phone is not installed with Google pinyin but i can received chinese SMS.

Is your unit from Brightstar or bought in other country?
great2bcool
post Sep 7 2010, 05:56 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Sep 7 2010, 06:18 PM)
i've downloaded the google pinyin but i can't even find the directory to open it. there's no icon at the menu too.

btw how come my phone can't type chinese?

and does everything that we've downloaded from the market will be stored in the phone's memory rather than the sd/memory card? cause my phone is low on space. i didn't even downloaded a significant amount of games and applications.
Bro,

go to settings/language & keyboard & tick on the Google pinyin
When wanna write in chinese, long press on the input area, a "input method" screen will pop up, click on it & select "google pinyin" , you will be able to input using Google pinyin

For android 2.1 every application will be stored in phone memory.

Go to setting/applications/manage applications & see what application has eaten up your phone memory & uninstall from there.

good luck!

great2bcool
post Sep 8 2010, 05:15 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Sep 8 2010, 06:12 PM)
set your message notification ringtone to silent in your default messaging option..no need to root it..
dun need to delete the original sms application la, later if handcent no good you can use back the original one.

anyway, when you delete the message in either Handcent or in the ori sms software, both also will be deleted.

Just do like what alvin yong told is good enough

Added on September 8, 2010, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(pufferfish @ Sep 8 2010, 06:09 PM)
is there a new OTA update for milestone?
just check my phone, no latest update.

This post has been edited by great2bcool: Sep 8 2010, 05:17 PM
great2bcool
post Sep 13 2010, 08:07 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(pcphobic @ Sep 13 2010, 02:15 AM)
Do to some reason, Google has disabled the Voice Turn By Turn Navigation for Android phones outside of the USA.
But no worries, because some kind soul has been cracking Google Map and post in on the web for us to download a special version called Brut Google Map (now is version 16).

Using the Brut Google Map, I get the some feature as the original Google Map with the added function of the Voice Turn by Turn Navigation. See my video below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyHOO7B38u4

Alternative is to install Papago X5 with MalFree Map (which I am also using).
dear pcphobic, thanks for sharing the tips on navigation, I have installed brut on my milestone but guess it is an old version.can share how to install the latest version 16? thanks!

great2bcool
post Sep 15 2010, 04:22 PM

320 posts

my milestone is just 5 months old now got version 2 already...seems like my phone life cycle is soooooooo short...
great2bcool
post Sep 27 2010, 06:23 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(zenz86 @ Sep 27 2010, 09:35 AM)
bros,

really need help here...
my usb cable seems missing...
n i cant update via OTA...
plz help me solve prob for OTA update...
everytime i try,says cannot connect wif server..
aiyooo
cool2.gif go buy another usb cable lo icon_idea.gif

great2bcool
post Nov 10 2010, 01:46 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 7 2010, 12:26 PM)
i flashed to GOT, and then update to CM6 ard..

i'll try to make a simple step-by-step tutorial:

1. backup you data
contact can be sync with your gmail. sms and setting can try Sprite Backup
for apps it is better to fresh install after flash to CM6 than backup & restore.
(my backup with Sprite can't be restore. maybe because different OS version?)
media files such as picture, mp3 and video just copy to computer, later coy back to card.

2. Vulnerable recovery hacks
follow the steps (and files) as link below
http://modmymobile.com/forums/564-motorola...e-recovery.html
RSD Lite and USB driver can get from here: http://groupoften.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/install-via-sbf/
(in my case, the long filename and file at desktop makes the RSD Lite unable to start the flashing. renaming it to recovery.sbf and put the file at C:\ fix this error)

3. know your bootloader
hold UP on the keypad while boot your MS to load bootloader,
if 90.78, later, to enter recovery mode is hold X then press Power
if not 90.78, HOLD Camera button then press Power

3. Recovery Mode and making nandroid backup
follow the instruction on link below, start at step 2 as we already done step 1:
http://modmymobile.com/forums/563-motorola...-19-2010-a.html
as we are going to flash diff ROM then update with diff ROM, it is advisable to do wipe data (factory reset) when in this mode.
also advisable to do nandroid backup of your original ROM, so if bad luck when flash, you can still restore directly from your SD card.
in this mode also have the function to root and mem hack, which if needed can be done after finish update to CM6.

4. flashing to GOT
get the file here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=810726
(i use the RETAIL EUROPE - RTEU)

flashing instruction here:
http://groupoften.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/install-via-sbf/
(again, use short filename with no space and put at C:\ to avoid any problem)

5. update to CM6
the files and instruction as below:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=784750
CM6 have a bootloop with bluetooth problem. update with this files afterward:
http://code.google.com/p/cyanogenmod4miles...10.11.03%29.zip

if you want to use Goggle apps, you also need to update another file after you update the CM6, files as below:
http://www.tap3w0rm.com/hosted/android/gap...1025-signed.zip
same as CM6 put the files in folder /sdcard/OpenRecovery/updates

while you still in recovery mode, you might want to use the root, mem hack, and overclock function.
Memhack is enable by default in CM6 (credit to scpt)

6. Congratulation!
your Milestone is now running on Froyo. biggrin.gif
EDIT: update few of the steps.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on my side, didn't feel Froyo is snappier than my stock Starhub Eclair. but loving the install to SD card tho, now i still have >100MB in my phone memory. ADW launcher feels lagging and harder to move to next home screen when compare with Launcherpro. uninstall ADW. Wifi still have the problem as when i using Eclair, it will DC for no apparent reason even when i'm browsing or download.
Hi, isn;t milestone internal memory is 60MB? why you can get >100 MB? unsure.gif

Added on November 10, 2010, 1:47 pmHi All,

wondering what casing is you guys using? I am currently using Epikcase Hard casing but after used it for sometimes, the casing broken & now looking for other option, any recommendation?

This post has been edited by great2bcool: Nov 10 2010, 01:47 PM
great2bcool
post Nov 11 2010, 05:40 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 11 2010, 09:25 AM)
Milestone internal memory is 133MB

btw, the epikcase you using, is the inside part that come into contact with the MS body also hard? does it make the MS body scratches?
just install Universal Androot. then one press of the button to root your device.
Yea the inside part is also hard material, just that surface is glossy bit, it won't make the MS body scratches, just that the casing is fragile & dun think can really protect my MS if the phone fell.

Wanna ask if install universal androot, when i want to unroot back to its original, is it also as simple as one press button?
would if affect my upgrade to Froyo later if the phone is already unrooted? I am using Brightstar ori unit, thanks!

Added on November 11, 2010, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Nov 11 2010, 09:41 AM)
used epikcase, broken in one week. otterbox should be decent, on amazon for 19.99 usd.
any local dealer selling this Otterbox MS case?

This post has been edited by great2bcool: Nov 11 2010, 05:42 PM
great2bcool
post Feb 9 2011, 05:03 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Feb 8 2011, 09:02 PM)
nice skin but currently using otterbox casing, no point to apply this skin..haha..anyway,good luck in your sale..
Hi Alvin Yong,

Gong xi Fa cai! where to get otterbox casing?
great2bcool
post Feb 10 2011, 12:19 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(alvin_yong_87 @ Feb 9 2011, 07:04 PM)
got it from bro sanosizo last time..gong xi fa cai to you too.. smile.gif
Thanks bro , i tried searching sanosizo but fail to locate his contact, do you have his contact? how much is the price ? thanks!
great2bcool
post Mar 15 2011, 11:07 AM

320 posts

383. Mar 14, 2011 8:11 AM (in response to lexcyn)
Froyo 2.2 - Milestone & Flash
Dear Milestone Users in India, 2.2 Froyo Upgrade available from Saturday Mar 12. Pls check n confirm.
I have upgraded my device and is working fine.

From Motorola Owners' Forum, India getting 2.2 already, when is 2.2 coming to malaysia??

0.0434sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:29 PM