126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

edmundlah
post Jul 7 2010, 01:05 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Jul 6 2010, 05:04 PM)
Check first post of this thread, there's link under Root guides to the Phandroid forums which shows u how to flash sbf file. Step by step procedure with screenshots biggrin.gif
thanks! thumbup.gif
boonhoong
post Jul 7 2010, 04:32 AM

399 posts

This website gives you the ability to pimp your Milestone further biggrin.gif
sanosizo
post Jul 7 2010, 04:55 AM

4,553 posts

Battery cover decals wont last long, probably only takes a week to fall off if your phone going in and out of pocket a lot. I actually like the back screen decals but for $7 a pop, its quite expensive. But its nice to have mikey greetings the person in front of u when u slide the keyboard out biggrin.gif

Added on July 7, 2010, 5:12 amDetails of the update - http://www.droid-life.com/2010/07/06/motor...s-mr2-5-update/

Hopefully it applies to the 2.36 update that we had. Or perhaps there will be another update?

This post has been edited by sanosizo: Jul 7 2010, 05:12 AM
boonhoong
post Jul 7 2010, 08:00 AM

399 posts

The battery cover decal can be placed on the back screen as well. Problem is, after using swype, my hardware qwerty hardly gets used anymore.
TSscpt
post Jul 7 2010, 02:19 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(llobak @ Jul 6 2010, 07:10 PM)
i'm sorry but i'm confuse. From this thread got ppl say that flashing the SBF file to MS doesn't require root. but from the guide from Pandroid website, from wat i understand is flashing a SBF is actually rooting your phone wor...

Mayb my english too bad, can any1 confirm with me plz? Thanks and sorry for my noob-bi-ness... T_T
Flashing sbf in this case is just updating ur firmware, the latter part which flashes the vulnerable recovery sbf is a pre-requisite if u wanna root when using the official sbf files. But if u use GOT's sbf then it already includes the vulnerable recovery.

QUOTE(boonhoong @ Jul 7 2010, 08:00 AM)
The battery cover decal can be placed on the back screen as well. Problem is, after using swype, my hardware qwerty hardly gets used anymore.
That's the power of Swype! biggrin.gif I'm still using my hardware kb when in landscape mode

This post has been edited by scpt: Jul 7 2010, 10:11 PM
koaybl
post Jul 7 2010, 02:33 PM

119 posts

Hi all, i just got some updates on my Milestone around 30MB file size today, anyone updated yet ? It is NOT 2.2 Updates but i check on some website it stated it is some 2.1 updates to fix bugs like random reboot and alarm clock.

This post has been edited by koaybl: Jul 7 2010, 02:33 PM
V12Kompressor
post Jul 7 2010, 02:40 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

if you mean the 02.31 to 02.36, almost everyone in here has already gotten it either by auto update or flashing. smile.gif
fees_88
post Jul 7 2010, 03:54 PM

130 posts

yeah.. i manage to install Ndrive on my MS..
hehehe.. nice.

boonhoong
post Jul 7 2010, 05:15 PM

399 posts

7 day trial maps only though right?
under18
post Jul 7 2010, 07:16 PM

142 posts

im not lucky yet to get update 02.36.
mine is GB set. always late GB set to get the update..hehe
lazy to flash manually as bz rite now.
if i later update non service version, will it delete all the install program and contact in MS? i think want to get fresh new installation as free space currently low as i install and uninstall program.
i want to ask, do android totally remove all file if we uninstall a software or still leave the folder and some file in internal memory ? how to check the leftover file and can it be remove?
can use android-sdk-windows to do that? as i use to install the DroidX boot animation using android-sdk-windows way.
wong2
post Jul 7 2010, 08:16 PM

57 posts

Using SEA 2.36 now, hv only traditional chinese locale, wonder which version hv the simplified chinese locale? Thnx.
fees_88
post Jul 8 2010, 04:47 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(boonhoong @ Jul 7 2010, 05:15 PM)
7 day trial maps only though right?
mine was ok..
nothing problem.. thanks to the site.. hehee rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
llobak
post Jul 8 2010, 06:55 AM

344 posts

yesterday just updated to 0.36 OTA. SG set. now the alarm works without any delay. and the back of the phone does not feel so hot when running apps. wow... smoothness still not sure yet... hhahaha... i love my MS more
ky_guy
post Jul 8 2010, 12:17 PM

94 posts

is the 2.36 update same as the 2.5SW update on motorola website?

u guys can see it here on http://www.droid-life.com/2010/07/06/motor...s-mr2-5-update/
knownuts
post Jul 8 2010, 08:38 PM

46 posts

is there a way to disable the slide to unlock function when the phone is woken up ? thanks.
fhfoomelaka
post Jul 8 2010, 09:38 PM

135 posts

I wonder if doing hard reset, do I need to update the software again?
sanosizo
post Jul 8 2010, 10:59 PM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(knownuts @ Jul 8 2010, 08:38 PM)
is there a way to disable the slide to unlock function when the phone is woken up ? thanks.
Did u mean u dun want to lock the phone when u press the on/off button?

If that so then u can try the phone lock settings inside location n security options. Set the phone lock to pattern or password then set the security timeout to few minutes. This way it will only ask for unlock pattern or password after the specified timeout time, if u press the on/off button to turn off the display, pressing it again wont give u slide to unlock function.
knownuts
post Jul 8 2010, 11:11 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jul 8 2010, 10:59 PM)
Did u mean u dun want to lock the phone when u press the on/off button?

If that so then u can try the phone lock settings inside location n security options. Set the phone lock to pattern or password then set the security timeout to few minutes. This way it will only ask for unlock pattern or password after the specified timeout time, if u press the on/off button to turn off the display, pressing it again wont give u slide to unlock function.
thanks. appreciate it.
TSscpt
post Jul 8 2010, 11:23 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(fhfoomelaka @ Jul 8 2010, 09:38 PM)
I wonder if doing hard reset, do I need to update the software again?
Nope, if u are referring to the OS as software. Hard reset erases all ur settings,apps & data.
yokatasan
post Jul 9 2010, 10:47 AM

90 posts

rooting MS will void warranty o not?

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:19 AM