[WTA] Samsung LED TV, Which to buy?

TSmiseralim
post Jun 18 2010, 01:13 PM, updated 16y ago

81 posts

Hi to all the Sifu outside, I'm planning to purchase a LED TV myself these few days, I've narrowed down to Samsung LED TV as it has the best picture quality i've seen, and its slim design is a killer, I'm a sucker for aesthetic designs.

I need to buy a LED TV which has local dimming for its LED panel, but the problem for me is that I've no idea which series of TV should i buy and their model number is kinda confusing for me, and the "friendly" people in Harvey Norman are less than helpful about the specifications.

Anybody can help me with this? A simple 40" LED TV with local dimming should be sufficient, no need for DLNA, 3D etc...

It would be great if i can have the price as a reference as well, thanks!
TSmiseralim
post Jun 18 2010, 03:27 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Jun 18 2010, 03:23 PM)
Slim design is only for edge LED. Backlit with local dimming normally thicker than normal LCD TV.
But i thought edge LED also got local dimming? No?
TSmiseralim
post Jun 18 2010, 06:17 PM

81 posts

Edge LED means the LED are placed at the four sides of the TV, but the thing i don't know is if Local Dimming can be possible on edge LED TV.
TSmiseralim
post Jun 23 2010, 05:33 PM

81 posts

I think I'm getting a UA40C6900, it has local dimming and a slim design, that's both style and substance combined together!!!
TSmiseralim
post Jun 29 2010, 02:55 PM

81 posts

I got my Samsung UA40C6900 last night, and its marvelous, I could connect to my computer via LAN cable and share media, I can watch you tube on my tv online!!! I'm sure it has many more little things for me explore tonight.

I watched Netherlands V Slovakia last night with that tv, though i don't have astro beyond, it still hurts to see slovakia score that late goal, make me lose money...

0.0154sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:54 AM