University Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS), Q & A
ItsMyUsername
Feb 14 2012, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ Jan 28 2012, 12:35 AM) Hi all. I was UNIMAS student graduated on year 2009. I would like to say to students there just enjoy your life and explore their culture and have fun. I enjoyed myself very much there as Sarawakians are very friendly. I' a banana and I got the chance to learn to speak mandarin for 3 years there and guess what...my mandarin are more fluent than canto! Sarawak is a beautiful place and I got chance to visit Bako Park, climbed Santubong hill, Damai Beach and etc. Cost of living there are moderate and I saved a lot since I stayed in hostel throughout my 3 yrs there. UNIMAS was my last choice since my CGPA not that good to apply the course I want so I put UNIMAS and UMS as 7th and 8th choice and I never regretted it! The only con is there u may not frequently bac to your own hometown and I felt happy that I able to spend my holidays with my hsemates, uni mates travel around sarawak rather than going back home.  Ya. I agree! I speak canto/Eng in my hometown but I have to speak in mandarin with my housemates because it's their main language. My mandarin is still abit rusted so i still have to brush up my skills  Have to go back to unimas soon.. This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Feb 15 2012, 12:27 AM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 10 2012, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(ahmike89 @ Jul 10 2012, 12:03 PM) Result is out today  Go check  Checked  Here's a picture of the beautiful lake in unimas  Pretty view of clouds above Cempaka
ItsMyUsername
Jul 13 2012, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(ahmike89 @ Jul 11 2012, 09:41 PM) Wow awesome Share more pls How's ur result? Which fac u from? So-so only. Fcshd  Masum!  QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 13 2012, 04:00 PM) Hi, I got offer for Human Resource Development course. To all the seniors, can you give me more details about what to study about this course? May I know more about this University? Can show some pictures of the university environment, campus and hostel? Is there got any shopping center around? Thanks in advance. Congrats for getting into Unimas  What you basically have to study in HRD are the management and psychology. Don't worry you will know more about it soon. The picture above is one of the hostels in Unimas. There are Giant, Boulevard, The Spring which takes about 30 minutes to reach. This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 13 2012, 04:20 PM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 13 2012, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 13 2012, 04:24 PM) Thanks  May I know that is UNIMAS a good place to study? Every uni has its pros and cons. You might be skeptical at first but trust me, you will get used to unimas in no time. That place is huge. Plus, you have an apartment style hostel  You're from West Malaysia?
ItsMyUsername
Jul 14 2012, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 13 2012, 04:31 PM) ohh, really?  Yup. I have seen some pictures from the uni. It seems that the U got modern building and facilities, is it true? I would also like to know that whether the flight ticket that we buy will be sponsor by government or ourselves? And is there going to be anyone to fetch us when we reach there, like the people in charge or seniors? Yup. Modern building but lacks of colour. Nope. You have to pay the flight ticket yourself and yes seniors will be welcoming you in the airport and take you to the uni by bus
ItsMyUsername
Jul 14 2012, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 14 2012, 04:14 PM) Ohh, I see. May I ask you what are the course you are currently taking? Human Resource? From your opinion, do you think Human Resource course is good? Yea HR. Up to now, I feel that it is good enough in terms of broadening my knowledge though some subjects you learn might not be relevant to the course itself. QUOTE(miku_91 @ Jul 14 2012, 05:38 PM) May i know the dress code for this uni for girls? Thx in advance =) Depends on your lecturer. You can wear baju kurung/collar tee+long pants, no shorts and formal attire during presentation. This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 14 2012, 08:38 PM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 15 2012, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 14 2012, 09:32 PM) Is it necessary to wear collar tee? Cos I've bought quite a lot of non-collar t-shirt. You're encouraged to wear collar tee. It's not a must. QUOTE(JetOfSang @ Jul 15 2012, 09:30 AM) Hi guys, I am from KL and I just got international economy in UNIMAS. This is my first time I am leaving outside my comfort zone and I am kinda nervous. So, there is some question I would like to ask. If I am going there, since we are on our own, is there any particular date? I want to start booking the ticket now, to get cheap airline ticket.Did you read the buku panduan? It's stated there. Then, since the attire is quite formal, will there be any restriction when we are in our hostel?You mean in the hostel compound? For guys, I don't think so. For girls, you are not allowed to wear shorts. How about the food and student activities? Are we allowed to go out the campus anytime we want or there is a strick curfew?There are cafes in every colleges. Yes, anytime you want. You have to be back by 12am or else the guards will ask for your details. Finally, the courses will be conducted in English, or Bahasa Malaysia?English. Thanks in advance. Hope this clear your doubts  Read the buku panduan. It helps. This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 16 2012, 11:47 AM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 16 2012, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 16 2012, 11:41 AM) Do you mean while we were in campus not hostel? She meant when you go to class etc. Actually yes you can wear to class but it doesn't look very proper. Make sure you don't wear slippers during exam. You can wear slippers in hostel anytime you want This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 16 2012, 12:42 PM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 16 2012, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Sha91 @ Jul 16 2012, 01:26 PM) other faculties are not as strict as HR tho. I heard that got students were forced to run back to their hostel just to get their shoes, kan? hey I'm still wondering who you are haha. I think so. If you were caught by Suaidi Otek then probably have to run back. Haha. Ohh I'm just a normal resident in Unimas
ItsMyUsername
Jul 16 2012, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 16 2012, 02:49 PM) I just saw the dress code for female. So is seluar slack the only pant allow? No jeans allow??? You're allowed to wear jeans to class but during your orientation week, you need to wear formal (blouse, slacks, formal shoes + black socks or baju kurung). During orientation week, usually you only need to wear formal in the morning. In the evening or night, you need to wear semi-formal which is collar tee, slacks and formal shoes/sport shoes. Don't worry. I'm sure they will inform everyone on that day This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 16 2012, 02:59 PM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 16 2012, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 16 2012, 03:14 PM) In the buku panduan, it stated that we need to apply 'dokumen perjalanan terhad' from Jabatan Imigresen Malaysia. What's that? Btw, do we need to do passport? Yes. DPT. It's a travel document for you to travel to East Malaysia. If you don't make it, you can only stay in the east for 3 months. Please visit here for more info ya. Just rm5 to make one. Wait for about an hour to get it done
ItsMyUsername
Jul 16 2012, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 16 2012, 04:53 PM) Thanks for all the information you have provided, and your time. Really appreciate it.  I'll ask you whenever I have questions later, hope you don't mind.  You're most welcome. Sure, I would be glad to help. Hope you will like unimas
ItsMyUsername
Jul 17 2012, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(ahmike89 @ Jul 17 2012, 09:00 AM) Enjoy to the fullest the time in uni. I'm graduating soon without any regret but filled with memories just to share with you guys : http://www.ahmike.net/2012/03/unimas-uni-w...difference.html
ItsMyUsername
Jul 17 2012, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(JenX @ Jul 17 2012, 01:31 PM) Today I went to do medical check-up and the nurse told me that I need to go again to see doctor. She said that I need to 'berpakaian kemas' -> blouse, slack pant. Did u wear formal outfit last time? Btw, the slack pant that we need to wear in uni must 'tanpa poket luar'? 'Ada poket luar' cannot? I did not wear formal last time. Just a simple tee and long pants. Maybe that clinic sets the rules that way? Hm, never heard of that rule. Any slacks is okay even ada/tanpa poket luar.
ItsMyUsername
Jul 21 2012, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(Leaf Paey @ Jul 20 2012, 10:50 PM) Newbie here! I got Cognitive Science! ..but I have some noob questions : 1. how to book for hostel? There's no need to book for hostel. You will register for it when you reach.2. since registration is on 1st & 2nd sept so is it okay to arrive on 2nd sept? ( im from west msia) Yes it is but you're encouraged to be there on 1st Sept cos there will be activities at night.3. seriously there's gonna be ppl waiting at the airport to take students to uni? Yes. No worries!4. is there alot of kes curi? (since some of my seniors from other unis told me about common kes curi laptops in their unis ) Depends. Nobody can curi your stuff if you keep them safely.first time travelling to east msia  BLUR. Feel free to ask if you have more questions. Good luck! This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 21 2012, 12:07 AM
ItsMyUsername
Jul 21 2012, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(JetOfSang @ Jul 21 2012, 04:49 PM) I have already booked my plane tickets and I will be there on 1st of september at 1345. Thanks to everybody who helped! Now I just have to figure what to bring and pack... Great! Pack slowly and double check the documents. Good luck
ItsMyUsername
Jul 23 2012, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(tammytms @ Jul 23 2012, 08:42 AM) LOLLLL! okay.then i cn fly back on sunday! xD THANKS alot! and hair must b BLACK?  Yea. Your hair must be black during MAP. I heard that if you have your hair dyed, either you dye it back to black or you wear tudung. QUOTE(Leaf Paey @ Jul 23 2012, 10:08 AM) Booked flight ticket for 1st sept will be arriving about 1145! Anyone from Selangor taking airasia flight for 0945? the kod etika berpakaian is it strict? really concern about pakaian to bring  guess there's no skinny jeans allowed oh and how's the food in the cafeteria and laundry service? I'll be staying in Cempaka.. Not that strict. You can just bring normal collar/non collar tees and jeans. Just a couple of formal attire. There are cafes in each kolej so no worries. You have to bring your clothes to the washing machine downstairs to wash for RM3. If not, you can always hand wash
ItsMyUsername
Jul 23 2012, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(Iscream @ Jul 23 2012, 01:45 PM) the deadline of paying the fees is it before 31st July? is it better to register as student then only pay for the fees or vise versa ? how about the facilities (eg.internet,food,atm...) in the campus,I'll be staying in Cempaka... You need to pay the fees first then only you can register because you need the reference number. Internet - Wifi Available Food - Available in every kolej-es and throughout the campus ATM - RHB Sha91 can give you a good tour around Cempaka
ItsMyUsername
Jul 23 2012, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Iscream @ Jul 23 2012, 02:27 PM) Ok,thanks for the info... Btw, how fast is the internet speed?  Depends. It will be quite slow during peak hours (at night). Some people cannot tahan so they buy broadband. Haha.
ItsMyUsername
Jul 23 2012, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 23 2012, 08:55 PM) wear proper attire during MAP and presentation, u cant go wrong with that. the worst cafeteria will be kafe bunga raya, my fren kena food poisoning after taking laksa from there, see their cleanliness already know..damn...that was 3 yrs ago, now don't know how is it. the best cafe will be alamanda cafe, their food very nice especially fried chicken. cempaka food is cheap. Yea. The cafe in BRC is still that bad. Everytime i drink the milo ais, sure pergi toilet one QUOTE(tammytms @ Jul 23 2012, 09:56 PM) LOLLLLL! i'll dye it BLACK asap now. xD dont want my hair to rosak. After orientation,tak mau dye. let it be.  THANKYOUUUUUUU so much. my fren was asking bout kettle and iron.is it provided?  Obviously not provided. You need to bring your own kettle (It's a MUST! If not, you will be dehydrated). Iron is not provided either. This post has been edited by ItsMyUsername: Jul 23 2012, 10:39 PM