Unifi Latest UNIFI Coverage, Latest UNIFI Coverage

wyyam
post Mar 20 2013, 08:33 PM

226 posts

i dun agree ler..

coz i asked b4 the TM staff here my taman got unifi cable or not n he said yes but they dun dare to launch coz election coming.

Then recently search wifi using iphone n i saw someone SSID xxx@uinfi.

Btw, my taman is not new n i stay in melaka.
Ahn3hn3h
post Mar 21 2013, 03:45 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Mar 20 2013, 08:33 PM)
i dun agree ler..

coz i asked b4 the TM staff here my taman got unifi cable or not n he said yes but they dun dare to launch coz election coming.

Then recently search wifi using iphone n i saw someone SSID xxx@uinfi.

Btw, my taman is not new n i stay in melaka.
People who are used to being spoonfed will always want it to be that way even if one day you decided to put food on the table they'll refuse to feed themselves.

In the case of TM HSBB, the Government pump in RM2.4billion to subsidize Phase 1 of the project, that was the very reason why the project saw efficiency and the project moved along well.

Now that the Government has seize to continue subsidizing the project, TM will refuse to budge except if there are developers who are willing to commit by paying to include the network build out on their part. The motivation seemed to have vanished.

It is already starting to look like the entire project is now abandoned( "terbelangkai" ) halfway through its course.Why? No more food, so complain not enough energy to work anymore?

In the first place like what LKS has mentioned in his blog about the RM2.4billion funding was just spoiling TM with taxpayers money. Earlier there was a closed tender between 2 parties with TM suggesting the HSBB which required Government subsidy and another party which suggested the HSBT project without any subsidy help.

Despite the other party didn't even require Government help in subsidy and only required private funding/loans to facilitate their project, the Government will decided to award the HSBB project to TM.

These were the other questions which LKS threw in but they were shoved under carpet.
Here's what he asked:
A few questions to conclude:

1) Isn’t the RM2.4 billion subsidy unfair, Telekom is already too dominant?

2) Why allow Telekom to defer third party full access to the HSBB network for 7 years when Telekom is already the dominant player? It will be their right if they funded it 100% themselves but with public funds, there should be no delay at all.

3) Will the government listen to all stakeholders – the public, IT industry and broadband industry as to the best way forward for the HSBB project through a study because it is now a public project with public funds involved?

4) Why is the government protecting the revenue of one entity Telekom when true liberalisation will develop the industry, potentially returning revenue many times more for the country?

5) Will the government put in a proviso in the agreement with Telekom HSBB project to ensure open access to all service providers at reasonable price that includes annual audit by a third party? Failing this, will the govt ensure since there is interest, for at least one more HSSB provider within a year?
Article: The RM 2.4 billion Telecom HSBB (High Speed Broadband) subsidy - LKS's Blog

Why did TM chose to ignore and skipped important key economic areas such as:
Georgetown , Ipoh, Malacca, Kuantan, & Kota Kinabalu ?

They started off well thanks to the RM2.4billion lubricant but how come Phase 2 seemed to have quiet down so much by now? Phase 1 has just ended like 3 months ago only.

We haven't reach the finish line yet, ok?
jasonkhlim
post Mar 21 2013, 06:20 PM

Taman Bukit Mewah 10 Kajang Selangor, They had just installed the UNIFI box on the pole and also the fibre cable
last month, but my house address still not appear in the website of Unifi portal cry.gif
biggred
post Mar 22 2013, 12:04 PM

13 posts

I recently moved to (not so) new housing area SP Heights in Sg Petani, with more houses than the residents.

I asked TM staff to transfer my streamyx to my new unit, sadly to be informed there are no infrastructure installed by the developer. They then sparked interesting idea of Unifi-ing my new unit as they said, they will be able to install as long as I applied for Unifi.

After weeks of waiting for the good news, and becoming unrest, I went to TM again to be told that SP Heights is not in their plan of Unifi because of limited demand.

What makes me cringed is that they even PROMISED to install Unifi as it is available in my residential area. But all that are just sweet words which in the end let me down.

Hate them.
Ahn3hn3h
post Mar 22 2013, 03:03 PM

82 posts

Here're more insights for the previous HSBB contract awarded by our Government MCMC Dept.

Source of article taken from Malaysia Alternative Voices.
http://malaysiavoices.blogspot.nl/2008/09/rm-11.html

There were actually 3 proposals which got to the final stage of consideration before the Government insisted on awarding the RM11.3billion HSBB project to TM and taking out RM2.4billion to subsidize the project from tax payers money.

The 3 proposals were:

1) TM with its HSBB Draft
Funding source: Private with RM2.4billion subsidy from Government. TM owns and operate the entire network and they can choose to sell wholesale services to other ISPs.

2) HSBT Draft
Funding source: Totally private with Pahang government having a 20% stake in HSBT via its wholly owned subsidiary, Pahang Technology Resources. Main source of funding would be its strategic partners, while the rest would be raised from sukuk and other forms of funding.

3) Jaring's then CEO Dr Mohamed Awang Lah Draft
Establishing a neutral infrastructure company that owns a fiber optic backbone network throughout the country that will cut the total HSBB cost by 80% savings.
This is pretty much a "FTTN" network which wire up fibre optic to streets and then ISPs can lease them for their own FTTC/FTTB cabinets, LTE wireless base stations, or last mile FTTH etc. ISPs can save on laying their own fibre optic network throughout the country only for their own sole use. This is what Time is doing to bring their FTTh netowkr to multi dwelling buildings.
Funding source:
Can be private or government funded tapping from the USP fund.

Eventually, both 2nd and 3rd suggestions were ignored and lost their bid to Option 1 from TM.

The HSBT tender lost on the basis that it was introduced late to the table but as you know, they came out with a plan which could save the government RM2.4billion. Should they be given a chance?
That's RM2.4billion couldn't it justify for just a late entry, that's plenty of money to be saved!

As for Jaring's CEO suggestion, his idea was also shoved into the bin for the basis that it couldn't gave a steady income stream for the TM monopoly. TM argued that they were the best player to own and operate the public network and they can always sell wholesale services to other ISPS.

totally_skint
post Mar 25 2013, 03:56 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Mar 22 2013, 03:03 PM)
Here're more insights for the previous HSBB contract awarded by our Government MCMC Dept.

Source of article taken from Malaysia Alternative Voices.
http://malaysiavoices.blogspot.nl/2008/09/rm-11.html

There were actually 3 proposals which got to the final stage of consideration before the Government insisted on awarding the RM11.3billion HSBB project to TM and taking out RM2.4billion to subsidize the project from tax payers money.

The 3 proposals were:

1) TM with its HSBB Draft
Funding source: Private with RM2.4billion subsidy from Government. TM owns and operate the entire network and they can choose to sell wholesale services to other ISPs.

2) HSBT Draft
Funding source: Totally private with  Pahang government having a 20% stake in HSBT via its wholly owned subsidiary, Pahang Technology Resources.  Main source of funding would be its strategic partners, while the rest would be raised from sukuk and other forms of funding.

3) Jaring's then CEO Dr Mohamed Awang Lah Draft
Establishing a neutral infrastructure company that owns a fiber optic backbone network throughout the country that will cut the total HSBB cost by 80% savings.
This is pretty much a "FTTN" network which wire up fibre optic to streets and then ISPs can lease them for their own FTTC/FTTB cabinets, LTE wireless base stations, or last mile FTTH etc. ISPs can save on laying their own fibre optic network throughout the country only for their own sole use. This is what Time is doing to bring their FTTh netowkr to multi dwelling buildings.
Funding source:
Can be private or government funded tapping from the USP fund.

Eventually, both 2nd and 3rd suggestions were ignored and lost their bid to Option 1 from TM.

The HSBT tender lost on the basis that it was introduced late to the table but as you know, they came out with a plan which could save the government RM2.4billion. Should they be given a chance?
That's RM2.4billion couldn't it justify for just a late entry, that's plenty of money to be saved!

As for Jaring's CEO suggestion, his idea was also shoved into the bin for the basis that it couldn't gave a steady income stream for the TM monopoly. TM argued that they were the best player to own and operate the public network and they can always sell wholesale services to other ISPS.
So, what's stopping the second proposal from proceeding since it's completely privately funded?

skylinelover
post Mar 26 2013, 07:26 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,248 posts

Haha nice point brought up by ahahahah. This made me more pumped up with ge13 liao. Dang it.
WongYongLin
post Mar 26 2013, 08:01 PM

28 posts

Unlimited quota until further notice.

This post has been edited by WongYongLin: Mar 26 2013, 08:05 PM
Vyrnach
post Mar 27 2013, 03:54 PM

168 posts

sad news for Sarawak and Sabah. Zero change in coverage since 2 months or more forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2723152
skylinelover
post Mar 28 2013, 06:47 AM

11,248 posts

QUOTE(Vyrnach @ Mar 27 2013, 03:54 PM)
sad news for Sarawak and Sabah. Zero change in coverage since 2 months or more forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2723152
Haha. Time 2 do your part in ge13 weih. Then big change will come soon. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 28 2013, 06:47 AM
Ahn3hn3h
post Mar 28 2013, 11:32 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Mar 25 2013, 03:56 PM)
So, what's stopping the second proposal from proceeding since it's completely privately funded?
What's stopping the 2nd proposal you say?
The upcoming GE and cronies insisting that their family members/relatives get a large portion of the main contractor award?
We have given them enough time to prove themselves but it seems the result is absolute failure with only around 500k+ Unifi accounts out of a population of 29million people?

1) If you noticed the HSBT has involvement from the Pahang Govt. and our current PM has a say in its board. But initially when he succeeded the previous PM, he faced a struggle of power among his other party members especially Dr Mamak's team.

Dr Mamak insisted that the award was to be given to TM with a large portion of the fibre supplying contract going to his son's company Opcom Holdings as main contractor. That's RM2.4billion of sugar supply.

2) The most interesting and fair deal was the 3rd one suggested by the previous Jaring CEO. His draft was to lay an extensive wholesale fibre network throughout the country by a 3rd party neutral consortium without any intervention of any ISP which owns a last mile network. That way anyone can lease the network for their last mile without having to lay the backbone infrastructure by themselves.

For example, TM which already own the copper last mile can rent it and only concentrate on building fibre cabinets for the final stretch to consumers, mobile and WIMAX operators can rent the fibre for their backhaul etc...

The whole project planned that time was to only cost RM5billion to cover most major cities in the ENTIRE country.
If the government was to pump in RM2.4billion from the USP fund instead of subsidizing TM for the HSBB, it would have covered 50% of the cost and Malaysians would have on average achieved 10mbps just like what Thailand is now doing through more proven solutions with FTTN and copper for last mile.

No one is stopping ISPs if they want to extend the last mile with fibre optics to customers premise if there is very high demand.

To claim 384kbps/1mbps/2mbps as entry level broadband makes Malaysia like a "laughing stock".
Our neighbour like Thailand already sells 10mbps lines at almost the rate of our 384kbps packages.

http://trueonline.truecorp.co.th/package/buy/238

Sadly today the good idea is mainly practiced in Penang and bro Jeff is one of the main forseeing the implementation of this open backbone network in the state. It could have also taken place in Perak if the opposition coalition still maintained control because the Jaring CEO at that time had high hopes for the state for offering itself as a pilot project that time. It all ended when the power snatch occured and everything was reversed. Shortly after that that Dr Mohamed Awang Lah resigned from Jaring and stated he wanted to go for vacation and do freelancing.Who knows if his move was politicized or pressurized by certain parties to mute him?
This is his Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dr-Mohamed-A...Lah/32807701723

Here's some news about Penang's High Speed Broadband plans:
MALAYSIA'S "Silicon Island", Penang, is set to bring high-speed broadband capability to its residents and investors by 2014 as the state ramps up its Internet connectivity.

Penang Development Corporation (PDC) Telecommunications Services Sdn Bhd chairman Jeff Ooi said the upgrading exercise, known as the Next Generation Network (NGN), will see connectivity at a speed of 50 megabits per second (Mbps), which is more than 12 times the current speed of 4Mbps.

"This project will be carried out in two phases, with the first on the island and then Seberang Prai. It will be funded via internal resources within PDC Telco and its network partners," he told Business Times.

Ooi said key consultants for the NGN are Malaysia Neutral Transmission Sdn Bhd, which is made up of its founder and former Jaring Communications Sdn Bhd chief executive officer Dr Mohd Awang Lah and Penang-born Dr Bernard Lee, who consults for national broadband projects in Australia and New Zealand.

The first phase of the project, tagged at RM50 million. "The architecture for the island's network, which will involve a 250km line with a two-way redundancy loop for mission critical provisioning, is being finalised," Ooi said, adding that installation works for fibre optics on the island should commence by the end of the year.

He said the NGN for Penang island will involve four loops, which are to run concurrently.

The four loops are George Town's central business district through Tanjung Tokong, Tanjung Bungah and Batu Ferringi; Jelutong to Gelugor; Bayan Baru to Bayan Lepas Multimedia Super Corridor City, Free Industrial Zone and Airport Zone and, lastly, the Balik Pulau Backup Zone.

"The second phase on the mainland, for which the cost model is yet to be finalised, should start by 2014."
Source:
http://www.investpenang.gov.my/portal/comp...ng-by-2014.html
Ahn3hn3h
post Mar 28 2013, 11:51 AM

82 posts

It took only RM50million to wire up the entire Penang Island for a fibre ring network and somewhere close to RM100million to cover the ENTIRE Penang state.

If the RM2.4billion was put to good use, it would have covered close to 20 major cities throughout the country with the same amount of money instead of only a majority of Klang Valley as claimed by HSBB.

With some extra private funding or bonds issued, Rm5 billion would have covered the ENTIRE Malaysia by now.

As Dr Awang Lah had said, we are NOT Singapore which have a solid 80% REAL broadband take up rate. Getting a solid backbone is first priority before touching the last mile.If you can get a extensive backbone up and running, touching the last mile solutions is never an issue with plenty to play with - FTTH, VDSL2 copper, LTE, WIMAX, digital IPTV, CATV, etc.
TrollNoob
post Mar 28 2013, 12:33 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Mar 19 2013, 02:43 AM)
Damn it my apartment until now still got no UniFi !! arggggggg
same thing happened to my dad 2 weeks back. do promotion at tesco seremban 2. already placed downpayment. yesterday came by for visit for installation. from morning till noon. later afternoon, just by call, said that will only install streamyx in Taman Bukit Chedang (5 km from Seremban only) that the residential area is not covered and currently no intention to deploy there (even though got 2 timb menteri lives there).

Furious dy... vmad.gif mad.gif

if dun have, the promoters should not openly promote. janji like the sky is yours to command dy. in few hours, after work gonna lynch the promoter. giving my family false hopes.
skylinelover
post Mar 31 2013, 05:48 PM

11,248 posts

interesting that penang took the same singapore route in fibre optic development...i hope they shall remain in the opposition hands in another term laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Icehart
post Mar 31 2013, 06:45 PM

14,899 posts

Hi is it possible to connect two UNIFI line together?
Like 20mbps + 20mbps to make it 40mbps?
sani154ta
post Apr 1 2013, 09:25 AM

17 posts

i dont think so. but you can if you have a load-balancing device. not so expensive le.
Icehart
post Apr 1 2013, 07:44 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(sani154ta @ Apr 1 2013, 09:25 AM)
i dont think so. but you can if you have a load-balancing device. not so expensive le.
Any recommendation for load balancing device?
How does it work? Two different line with two different IP hmm.gif
andrew9292
post Apr 1 2013, 09:18 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 31 2013, 06:45 PM)
Hi is it possible to connect two UNIFI line together?
Like 20mbps + 20mbps to make it 40mbps?
Here is an experiment done that is recorded, if you are willing to experiment, diy and spend your time this might help...

http://www.klseet.com/index.php/mikrotik/m...d-balancing-nth
Icehart
post Apr 2 2013, 01:00 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Apr 1 2013, 09:18 PM)
Here is an experiment done that is recorded, if you are willing to experiment, diy and spend your time this might help...

http://www.klseet.com/index.php/mikrotik/m...d-balancing-nth
Thank you so much rclxms.gif
andrew9292
post Apr 2 2013, 01:31 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Good luck with it. Seems quite complicated to me but i'd try to figure that first since it could be cost friendly => idk about other plug n play load balancers that are user friendly, even those that cyercafe uses cost thousands and hundreds to set up. Do share if you find something plug n play =>

150 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:40 PM