Financial deposit got stuck for buying condominium, how to get it back?

TSjasonlim
post Jun 17 2010, 10:56 PM, updated 16y ago

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

recently i bought a condo and i paid deposit to the property agent

but at later stage found out;

1) original owner had passed away
2) husband is the executor of the property
3) the process of ownership transfer will take more than 6 months

so i decided not to buy because i need the property fast and the duration to transfer ownership is uncertain

i was not informed of this when i secure the deal and now the seller is not willing to refund me the deposit

does he has the right to do that?

would like to hear some inputs here especially from lawyer

thanks..

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Jun 17 2010, 11:15 PM
JackX
post Jun 17 2010, 11:06 PM

2,732 posts

No, he has no right to hold your deposit... its a deposit not a down payment. rclxub.gif
TSjasonlim
post Jun 17 2010, 11:08 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

but what can i do to make him return my deposit?
JackX
post Jun 17 2010, 11:20 PM

2,732 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 17 2010, 11:08 PM)
but what can i do to make him return my deposit?
I think he's just playing dirty with you, since he hasn't perform his obligation and has not given you a specific answer as to when the ownership transfer may take place, you have the right to withdraw your deposit.

Maybe Section 30. of the Contracts Act 1950 will help.

CA1950 S30. :Agreements, the meaning of which is not certain, or capable of being made certain, are void.

Maybe CA1950 S47. will apply as well: Time for Performance of promise where no application is to be made and no time is specified. However, the "reasonable" time frame is a question of fact.

Just be firm, and get nasty if you have to. Tell them you will spread their dirty tricks to potential customers should they persist.

Otherwise, you may seek the consumer tribune, although it may take a long time to get your money back.

This post has been edited by JackX: Jun 17 2010, 11:47 PM
TSjasonlim
post Jun 17 2010, 11:47 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

i cannot say he is playing dirty la..but he sure will protect his own interest la

but must be reasonable la..cannot keep me waiting for dunno how long to transfer ownership

if this process is gonna drag long,might as well return me the deposit and find other buyer who is willing to wait

1st time buy property and i encounter this kind of bad experience

i really learn a great and expensive lesson..

Added on June 17, 2010, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(JackX @ Jun 17 2010, 11:20 PM)
I think he's just playing dirty with you, since he hasn't perform his obligation and has not given you a specific answer as to when the ownership transfer may take place, you have the right to withdraw your deposit.

Maybe Section 30. of the Contracts Act 1950 will help.

CA1950 S30. :Agreements, the meaning of which is not certain, or capable of being made certain, are void.

Maybe CA1950 S47. will apply as well: Time for Performance of promise where no application is to be made and no time is specified. However, the "reasonable" time frame is a question of fact.

Just be firm, and get nasty if you have to. Tell them you will spread their dirty tricks to potential customers should they persist.

Otherwise, you may seek the consumer tribune, although it may take a long time to get your money back.
thanks for pointing out but i dunno all this act la sweat.gif

my lawyer should know better than me..but he seems not doing is job well and not following the case closely

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Jun 17 2010, 11:53 PM
Pai
post Jun 18 2010, 10:19 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

In a subsale deal, EVERYTHING is negotiable. Just be calm, polite and explain to the vendor nicely your current predicament. So if he refuses to return you back the deposit, why not nego an early VP upon signing loan LO?

That way, everybody wins........... wink.gif
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 10:43 AM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Jun 18 2010, 10:19 AM)
In a subsale deal, EVERYTHING is negotiable. Just be calm, polite and explain to the vendor nicely your current predicament. So if he refuses to return you back the deposit, why not nego an early VP upon signing loan LO?

That way, everybody wins........... wink.gif
i did try to talk nicely to him..he don't take my words..and claim that he has all document ready for ownership transfer

what is early VP upon signing loan LO?can explain more on this?
leongal
post Jun 18 2010, 10:49 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 10:43 AM)
i did try to talk nicely to him..he don't take my words..and claim that he has all document ready for ownership transfer

VP - vacant possession
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 10:53 AM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 18 2010, 10:49 AM)
VP - vacant possession
the property is currently empty..so early VP should not come into the picture

am i right?
noed18
post Jun 18 2010, 11:33 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 10:53 AM)

am i right?
If the property is currently empty, it makes even more sense that the owner can release it early to you, maybe with you paying a nominal small sum as token for rental while he takes his time to do his transfer of title. VP also carries the meaning of handing over the unit, not just making sure it's not being occupied.

Usually when the unit is tenanted, the vendor/seller may take his own sweet time to do the transfer, while he is still collecting rentals during the delays.

If the unit is empty, the vendor/seller should be in a more sense of urgency because the sooner he can complete the transaction, the sooner he can get his money from the disposal of his property.

So, what Pai has suggested is that you may nego nicely with the vendor to release the unit early to you, so that you can start occupying the unit while waiting, then it's a win-win situation where you will get your unit while vendor continue doing the transfer.

Any refund at this stage, both parties will incur friction cost (legal fees, penalty of exit etc), you wont be getting full 10% anyway. Since you bought the place 6 months ago, surely the entry price you wont be able to get at today's market (assuming it's a good buy), then why not just stick to the waiting if still unable to nego for an early release. Unless it's really a terrible mistake walking into buaya mouth when you bought this unit, then you may want to muscle your way out, but i highly doubt so.

It's OK to be eager and excited to get your first unit handover asap, but it's also entirely OK to wait slightly longer for your first unit to deliver safely to your hand, be it 6mths, 9 mths or a year. As long as it's a good buy, you win, just a slightly longer waiting only.

p.s. my first unit took 9 months for a freehold unit, and I am superbly happy and glad that I waited for the whole transaction to pull thru. =) Property investment, patient gets you a long long way. cheers

This post has been edited by noed18: Jun 18 2010, 11:36 AM
leongal
post Jun 18 2010, 11:57 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 10:53 AM)

am i right?
sometimes for owner's protection, owner's lawyer would advice the owner not to give VP to the nuyer, because if anything goes wrong, it can be difficult to get the property back....

Added on June 18, 2010, 11:59 am
QUOTE(noed18 @ Jun 18 2010, 11:33 AM)
So, what Pai has suggested is that you may nego nicely with the vendor to release the unit early to you, so that you can start occupying the unit while waiting, then it's a win-win situation where you will get your unit while vendor continue doing the transfer.

based on my experience, it is not easy to nego...especially if your seller is a "professional"...and it still haunts me sweat.gif

This post has been edited by leongal: Jun 18 2010, 12:00 PM
Pai
post Jun 18 2010, 12:01 PM

3,318 posts

If the property is currently empty, it makes even more sense that the owner can release it early to you, maybe with you paying a nominal small sum as token for rental while he takes his time to do his transfer of title. VP also carries the meaning of handing over the unit, not just making sure it's not being occupied.

Usually when the unit is tenanted, the vendor/seller may take his own sweet time to do the transfer, while he is still collecting rentals during the delays.

If the unit is empty, the vendor/seller should be in a more sense of urgency because the sooner he can complete the transaction, the sooner he can get his money from the disposal of his property.

Any refund at this stage, both parties will incur friction cost (legal fees, penalty of exit etc), you wont be getting full 10% anyway. Since you bought the place 6 months ago, surely the entry price you wont be able to get at today's market (assuming it's a good buy), then why not just stick to the waiting if still unable to nego for an early release. Unless it's really a terrible mistake walking into buaya mouth when you bought this unit, then you may want to muscle your way out, but i highly doubt so.

It's OK to be eager and excited to get your first unit handover asap, but it's also entirely OK to wait slightly longer for your first unit to deliver safely to your hand, be it 6mths, 9 mths or a year. As long as it's a good buy, you win, just a slightly longer waiting only.

p.s. my first unit took 9 months for a freehold unit, and I am superbly happy and glad that I waited for the whole transaction to pull thru. =) Property investment, patient gets you a long long way. cheers
Well said Noed. wink.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 18 2010, 11:57 AM)
based on my experience, it is not easy to nego...especially if your seller is a "professional"...and it still haunts me sweat.gif
better start learning now than never nod.gif

This post has been edited by Pai: Jun 18 2010, 12:04 PM
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 12:06 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

he actually offered me to move in while waiting for the ownership transfer

i m looking to move in my new place by this year..even if he allow me to move in early, i still need to do renovation and some touch up..so if after like 6-9 months, then only i found out transfer of ownership still cannot be done..i will lose my money for refurbish the house..somemore there is large amount of legal fee i need to pay upon signing the S&P..who is going to cover all this cost?

i don't know whether i m walking into the buaya mouth or not..i hope i m not sweat.gif

i see alot of uncertainty here..

sometimes for owner's protection, owner's lawyer would advice the owner not to give VP to the seller, because if anything goes wrong, it can be difficult to get the property back....
is the seller who offered me VP

noed18
post Jun 18 2010, 12:08 PM

169 posts

Poor girl, your vendor sendiri a loyar, of course difficult la, but if you can still muscle thru, next time surely you can glide thru many normal transactions.

Well said Noed. wink.gif

Thanks for the endorsement wink.gif
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 12:11 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

Added on June 18, 2010, 11:59 am

yes, i tried to nego in a nice way..and he accuse me for creating uncertainty in this deal

so it is not easy..coz he want to protect his own interest which is to sell the property and get the money

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Jun 18 2010, 12:13 PM
Pai
post Jun 18 2010, 12:21 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 12:06 PM)
he actually offered me to move in while waiting for the ownership transfer

i m looking to move in my new place by this year..even if he allow me to move in early, i still need to do renovation and some touch up..so if after like 6-9 months, then only i found out transfer of ownership still cannot be done..i will lose my money for refurbish the house..somemore there is large amount of legal fee i need to pay upon signing the S&P..who is going to cover all this cost?

i don't know whether i m walking into the buaya mouth or not..i hope i m not sweat.gif

i see alot of uncertainty here..
Then no issues lah, just move in 1st then after everything is settled u can start reno'ing. He seems to be a genuine seller if u ask me.......... and he's taking the risk by allowing u to have an early VP. He only get 10% but now you can alredy stay in his house. You can damage his house while staying there (he has greater risk than u leh? ) but he allows this anyway as he understands your predicament n looking for ways to help you out in a way.

Good luck wink.gif

leongal
post Jun 18 2010, 12:27 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 12:06 PM)
QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 12:11 PM)
yes, i tried to nego in a nice way..and he accuse me for creating uncertainty in this deal

so it is not easy..coz he want to protect his own interest which is to sell the property and get the money
confused blink.gif seller offered you VP...and you nego? nego wat?

Added on June 18, 2010, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(noed18 @ Jun 18 2010, 12:08 PM)
Poor girl, your vendor sendiri a loyar, of course difficult la, but if you can still muscle thru, next time surely you can glide thru many normal transactions.
u remember my story well wink.gif

This post has been edited by leongal: Jun 18 2010, 12:27 PM
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 01:47 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 18 2010, 12:27 PM)
confused blink.gif seller offered you VP...and you nego? nego wat?

Added on June 18, 2010, 12:27 pm

u remember my story well wink.gif
i mean nego to get back my deposit smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(Pai @ Jun 18 2010, 12:21 PM)
Then no issues lah, just move in 1st then after everything is settled u can start reno'ing. He seems to be a genuine seller if u ask me.......... and he's taking the risk by allowing u to have an early VP. He only get 10% but now you can alredy stay in his house. You can damage his house while staying there (he has greater risk than u leh? ) but he allows this anyway as he understands your predicament n looking for ways to help you out in a way.

Good luck  wink.gif
renovate after move in will cause more trouble to me sweat.gif

no point i damage my own hse ma rite?but if he is still the owner he can chase me out anytime sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Jun 18 2010, 01:52 PM
leongal
post Jun 18 2010, 01:53 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jun 18 2010, 01:47 PM)
i mean nego to get back my deposit smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 1:52 pm
renovate after move in will cause more trouble to me sweat.gif

no point i damage my own hse ma rite?but if he is still the owner he can chase me out anytime sweat.gif
oh....of course la, money go inside his pocket jor, sure difficult to come out....anyway, good luck smile.gif
TSjasonlim
post Jun 18 2010, 01:55 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jun 18 2010, 01:53 PM)
oh....of course la, money go inside his pocket jor, sure difficult to come out....anyway, good luck  smile.gif
thanks..i hoping the best for myself

0.0206sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:16 PM