Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> TM unifi, use other modem router, possible? provided router sux (Unifi)

unsingable
post Jun 17 2010, 07:12 PM, updated 8y ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 154

Joined: Apr 2006


greetings to all "shifu" out there

as title, is it possible to use unifi with other router?

one day, ppl from tmnet came by 2 install the unifi but according to them have to install it in the room for the IPTV sad.gif so since then force 2 buy usb wireless adapter for all the pc, bought Belkin F5D8053ak (http://www.belkin.com/my/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=508788)

the problem i'm facing now is most of the time the pc able to connect but there is no internet access sad.gif there are times it can't even connect sad.gif sad.gif

have been facing this problem for almost a month adi and have tried to complain to TM (they claim they remote and did some changes) but the problem is still here so i'm suspecting the router they provide sux and wanted to change back into belkin but before i do so i just wanna make sure does belkin router support unifi connection?

P/S the distance between the router n the pc is 1 room onli (the wireless bar in the pc show 4 out of 5)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rizvanrp
post Jun 17 2010, 07:16 PM

Getting Started
Group Icon
Networks & Broadband
Group: Elite
Posts: 166

Joined: Sep 2006



http://unifi.athena.my/

How do people miss this :3 !
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 17 2010, 07:40 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,431

Joined: Jan 2003
bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 14 2017, 10:26 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KAHAK
post Jun 17 2010, 11:45 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 154

Joined: Mar 2010
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 17 2010, 07:16 PM)
http://unifi.athena.my/

How do people miss this :3 !
*
cause never been sticky? whistling.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unsingable
post Jun 18 2010, 05:24 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 154

Joined: Apr 2006


Wow rizvanrp handbook is really helpful, thx so much man really appreciate your effort
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
socratesman
post Jun 18 2010, 06:50 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,564

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
If we were to replace the DIR-615 entirely, what sort of router would we be looking for?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rizvanrp
post Jun 18 2010, 07:19 PM

Getting Started
Group Icon
Networks & Broadband
Group: Elite
Posts: 166

Joined: Sep 2006



@socratesman

If you want to remove the DIR-615 from your network entirely, as in not even use it as a VLAN bridge.. you would need a smart switch which is tag & port based VLAN capable along with a new RJ45 WAN based router. If you don't want to use any VLAN bridging device and have the router handle everything, you need a very high end router with at least 2 or 3 physical network adapters/ports.. think dedicated Linux or BSD server or Mikrotik RouterBOARD.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unsingable
post Jun 19 2010, 05:26 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 154

Joined: Apr 2006


does any1 know what the rate means? 192.168.0.103 and 101 both r laptop and 102 is desktop with wireless USB, both laptop and wireless USB are draft-n. the pic shown is all laptop and pc connected at the same place but why laptops have better connections than pc?

the pc always got dc, slow connection occasionally fast but last for max 20 minutes

p/s i realize the 1st post i posted wrong info on the wireless usb, the 1 i bought is N150 Enhanced Wireless USB Network Adapter link


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 19 2010, 12:32 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,431

Joined: Jan 2003
bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jul 14 2017, 10:29 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ping325
post May 19 2011, 12:42 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 638

Joined: Feb 2008


how is the wireless range signal for stock unifi router ?? can reach 3 storey??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
limakjames
post Jun 26 2011, 05:03 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 4

Joined: Jun 2011
can we put more than one router to the unifi modem

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AjkR06
post Jun 26 2011, 06:16 PM

that's me
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,338

Joined: Oct 2006
From: ugly kingdom



QUOTE(limakjames @ Jun 26 2011, 05:03 PM)
can we put more than one router to the unifi modem
*
Can... Set the secondary router into the access point mode.

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jun 26 2011, 06:17 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kelvin4578
post Jun 26 2011, 06:26 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 220

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL, wangsa Maju


Plus tm unifi router cannot adjust wireless performance signal.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
freza
post Oct 29 2011, 11:31 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 127

Joined: Jan 2005
From: KL


QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:16 PM)
Can... Set the secondary router into the access point mode.
*
How to do this?

Is this what you mean? http://unifi.athena.my/custom_routers.php
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sovietmah
post May 23 2012, 10:50 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,156

Joined: Nov 2005
anybody did before using the TM unifi black router to do faxing?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaCKy-Angel
post May 23 2012, 11:04 AM

PeACe~~
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,609

Joined: Dec 2004
From: KL



QUOTE(sovietmah @ May 23 2012, 10:50 AM)
anybody did before using the TM unifi black router to do faxing?
*
can, U need a modem and plug the telephone wire to the port that your unifi phone is using now
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sovietmah
post May 23 2012, 11:07 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,156

Joined: Nov 2005
fax modem? Possible to send thru PC without fax modem?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaCKy-Angel
post May 23 2012, 11:08 AM

PeACe~~
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,609

Joined: Dec 2004
From: KL



QUOTE(sovietmah @ May 23 2012, 11:07 AM)
fax modem? Possible to send thru PC without fax modem?
*
No modem = no way.

Just go get a PCI modem around RM20 in computer shops or 2nd hand ones around RM10.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sovietmah
post May 23 2012, 11:17 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,156

Joined: Nov 2005
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 23 2012, 11:08 AM)
No modem = no way.

Just go get a PCI modem around RM20 in computer shops or 2nd hand ones around RM10.
*
OK noted. nod.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaCKy-Angel
post May 23 2012, 11:20 AM

PeACe~~
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 15,609

Joined: Dec 2004
From: KL



QUOTE(sovietmah @ May 23 2012, 11:17 AM)
OK noted. nod.gif
*
Oh wait.. Are u asking about using computer as fax via Unifi line? Or not using computer?

If using computer then u need to get a modem.
If conventional fax machine u need a normal fax machine lor.

Im just saying that Unifi line can be used as Fax line. And no fees if im not wrong, coz Unifi calling to Telekom landlines are FREE (even outstation calls)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0837sec    3.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th September 2017 - 08:14 PM