Enquiries/Recommendations [WTA] DELL Studio 1558..., display with 720p or 1080p? help needed!

TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:11 PM, updated 16y ago

30 posts

guyz... i need your help and suggestion here as after i Google regarding it, nothing much i can found... im going to order studio 15 tomorrow... after all, i stuck whether to choose 720p or 1080p display... my usage main on surfing and my assignments task and gaming... which one should i choose? i heard 1080p makes the font size too small... give me suggestion plz guyz!!!! thanx in advance...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:13 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

u can always adjust the font size...

my choice, 720p, unless u re going to watch Full HD movies...

not that u can play games at 1080p anyway...
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:18 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 16 2010, 11:13 PM)
u can always adjust the font size...

my choice, 720p, unless u re going to watch Full HD movies...

not that u can play games at 1080p anyway...
movies kinda not priority... the resolution can be changed, but after change it, it going to be smthing like blur rite?
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:19 PM

22,158 posts

change resolution, yes...

change font size, no...

we re talking abt 2 different stuff here...
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:35 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 16 2010, 11:19 PM)
change resolution, yes...

change font size, no...

we re talking abt 2 different stuff here...
once lower the resolution, the font size and icons going to be larger rite?
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:37 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExTReMeS @ Jun 16 2010, 11:35 PM)
once lower the resolution, the font size and icons going to be larger rite?
yes of course...

but u can increase the font size without changing resolution...
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:41 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 16 2010, 11:37 PM)
yes of course...

but u can increase the font size without changing resolution...
ok2.... so which is the best way to go? for surfing and gaming? 720p or 1080p? i have used 15.6' display with 720p... so i knw hw it looks like... bt 1080p... no idea at all...
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:44 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExTReMeS @ Jun 16 2010, 11:41 PM)
ok2.... so which is the best way to go? for surfing and gaming? 720p or 1080p? i have used 15.6' display with 720p... so i knw hw it looks like... bt 1080p... no idea at all...
considering that the laptop is using only a HD5470, and u mainly play games and dun watch much Full HD movie, imho 720p is good enuf... nod.gif

however, ve u considered the clearance sale of Studio XPS 16??? C2D P8700 with HD4670 going for rm2849 after coupon discount...

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 16 2010, 11:45 PM
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:47 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 16 2010, 11:44 PM)
considering that the laptop is using only a HD5470, and u mainly play games and dun watch much Full HD movie, imho 720p is good enuf... nod.gif

however, ve u considered the clearance sale of Studio XPS 16??? C2D P8700 with HD4670 going for rm2849 after coupon discount...
im going for i5... so the best choice is studio 15 i guess....
astria
post Jun 16 2010, 11:50 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ExTReMeS @ Jun 16 2010, 11:47 PM)
im going for i5... so the best choice is studio 15 i guess....
well, for gaming the SXPS16 is a much better choice even though it's running on older tech...

HD4670 offers much more performance over HD5470... and P8700 has pretty high clock as well, performance on par with the i5... nod.gif

well, it's ur call... juz a suggestion... nod.gif
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 16 2010, 11:56 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 16 2010, 11:50 PM)
well, for gaming the SXPS16 is a much better choice even though it's running on older tech...

HD4670 offers much more performance over HD5470... and P8700 has pretty high clock as well, performance on par with the i5... nod.gif

well, it's ur call... juz a suggestion... nod.gif
thnx for ur suggestion ya... prefer studio 15... smile.gif
but is it going to be advantage if i choose 1080p?
evolution120
post Jun 16 2010, 11:57 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

how bout sxps16? currently having prono.. just 2849.. smile.gif
kae7
post Jun 16 2010, 11:58 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

agreed.. SXPS 16 is the best that suits your budget..

well.. it is the best laptop of the months
evolution120
post Jun 17 2010, 12:00 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

or consider of importing, u can consider g51vx-rx05 also.. price of the notebook + import fee cost less than 3k..
highwind85
post Jun 17 2010, 12:00 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

gaming on ATI 5470 is going to be okay for the moment but not in 1 year's time..ATI 4670 on the other hand is a high ranked class 2 gpu churning out 7k 3dmarks 06...ati 5470 barely make it 4k...
BBXiong
post Jun 17 2010, 12:06 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(ExTReMeS @ Jun 16 2010, 11:56 PM)
thnx for ur suggestion ya... prefer studio 15...  smile.gif
but is it  going to be advantage if i choose 1080p?
depends, since u already mentioned that you aint into movies, then it's not really a disadvantage...

first, u already mention it uself, the font size, it's gonna be smaller, and not to mention web pages gonna look smaller as well, and for those that have empty sides, like gizmodo, the side's empty space is going to be bigger, and that does not look good...
second, gaming performance, i think this one quite easy to understand, higher res = more performance..so in gaming for 15", 720p is enough...

however i do suggest what astria suggested also...p8700 is very good for gaming, it's 2.53Ghz...the CPU i am using is p8400, just 2.26Ghz, but i hardly feel that any games gives me bottleneck, and in gaming, GPU is way more important then CPU...i5 have turbo boost, but it require u to turn off 1 core in order to boost the speed, but most games nowadays already utilize dual core, and the efficiency of it is way higher then using a slightly higher clocked single core...

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 17 2010, 12:07 AM
evolution120
post Jun 17 2010, 12:07 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 17 2010, 12:00 AM)
gaming on ATI 5470 is going to be okay for the moment but not in 1 year's time..ATI 4670 on the other hand is a high ranked class 2 gpu churning out 7k 3dmarks 06...ati 5470 barely make it 4k...
with some driver mod, u can reach 8k of marks.. nod.gif
lee_what2004
post Jun 17 2010, 02:54 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Support SXPS 16 as well if gaming is a concern nod.gif
or take Lenovo Y460, i5 430M + ATi HD5650@RM3299, better performance...
miahahaha
post Jun 17 2010, 07:20 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

Suddenly all suggesting TS to get Dell SXPS16 laugh.gif...

Well, back to topic, as your usage is normal and you more into games/not movie, 720p is enough nod.gif...

Advantage on choosing 1080p, of course you have the advantage because you can always lower your resolution down nod.gif...but the pictures won't be so nice sweat.gif...and yes, by meaning with 1080p, the font will get smaller but you can re-size the font, make it bigger..as for me, 720p is enough icon_rolleyes.gif
TSExTReMe[S]
post Jun 17 2010, 08:15 AM

30 posts

thnx for all of ur suggestion guyz,,,, nt really in gaming, so gc aint priorityy for me... so decided to order studio 15 with 720p.... thnx guyz...

0.0170sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:44 PM