Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V42!, The Orange Legion

gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 01:00 AM

451 posts

Q : which quality and creative style do I have to use to evaluate the color output of a lens ? Standard JPG ? or the RAW file ?

because I've heard many times about 'minotla color'... and I really want to see and compare it with other lenses.
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 01:04 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 18 2010, 12:57 PM)
zstan : tempting  brows.gif  drool.gif . i'm waiting for $$ to masuk first, then go Sony Center try test drive the NEX, then only decide  nod.gif

signither : DSLR FTW  icon_rolleyes.gif

fansoption : depends where you'll be sitting that day, if you have the pit pass then consider the 1750. But the wide i dont think is necessary  nod.gif
let me know how it feels ok (NEX3/5) once you have givne them a try ! smile.gif the price is quite good at shashinki icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by gizmo_pony: Jun 18 2010, 01:05 PM
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 01:58 PM

451 posts

really disappointed with my A200 ISO performance ... :-(

Added on June 18, 2010, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(Gouki @ Jun 18 2010, 01:25 PM)
tested the NEX5 at sony roadshow at 1U last week~ the small grip is surprisingly comfy and firm in my big hand~ somehow it feels better than GF1 altho by looks of the NEX5 in pics isnt that promising for the grip~ image quality is up to apsc standard~ my only complain is the menu function which u need some time to get use to~ then it should be fine~ but hey~ its a outgoing stylo compact apsc camera on the go for casual activities~ so its definitely not the camera u looking for if u want handling and control like the dslr~  smile.gif
Is there any regular/conventional user interface for advanced user ? hmm.gif OR we cannot change it ?

This post has been edited by gizmo_pony: Jun 18 2010, 02:03 PM
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 02:20 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jun 18 2010, 02:11 PM)
well~ the thing about NEX is they have no more than 5 buttons and a dial~ so even to select PASM modes are done in a virtual menu to imitate the mode dials~ then in the shooting liveview menu the dial act as a shutter speed or aperture dial and etc~ its just a matter of getting use to it since its such a compact stylo little device~  smile.gif

a200? try shoot in RAW and convert into jpeg in PC~ much better iso noise~ if not upgrade lor~ like me~ i used to be a200 user oso~ tongue.gif
yup, done that. still cannot control the noise lee sad.gif feel like jumping to ...

you are using A700 now ? so you really can see the improvement ya compared to A200 in terms of ISO noise ?

gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 02:31 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jun 18 2010, 02:27 PM)
of coz~ even at 1600~ the iso on a700 is useable~ but compare to a550~ the a550 high iso still better~ but at low iso~ i prefer the a700~ besides~ i love the a700 more coz its the handling and controls that no other camera come close~ very similar to the a900 feel~ well not exactly but very good feel lar~ the alpha quicknavi is something not to be miss~ but one thing~ nothing beat a200 CCD sensor at iso 100~ still the best and clean pixel u get if u pixel peep lar~  biggrin.gif
IC, thanks gouki for the info smile.gif

desperately need a new body drool.gif anybody knows where can get dslr using 0% easypayment eh ? sweat.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 02:52 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 18 2010, 02:49 PM)
@gizmo_pony
say only 0% easy payment, they still charge you (processing fee 4~5% + credit card charge 2~3%) and some they absorb partial charge, but you buy with the retail price.

i am one of the victim. sad.gif
buying a200 at 1499(mark down price) + 5% processing fee for installment
although just merely rm75, but when you buy higher end body, all thing become different smile.gif
thanks for letting me know, I really thought that 0% means 0 without any other hidden fees/charges blush.gif

Added on June 18, 2010, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(jedi_master @ Jun 18 2010, 02:41 PM)
different RAW editors also affect the amount of noise. can experiment around a bit too see first b4 jumping
tried using LR beta 2, the result is quite OK for ISO1600 but not really good for larger size printing ...

This post has been edited by gizmo_pony: Jun 18 2010, 02:54 PM
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 03:48 PM

451 posts

eh is it fair to compare IQ of A700 and NEX5/3 ? Anyone has compared them ?
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 04:38 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jun 18 2010, 04:11 PM)
well~ what u see in a550 and NEX~ expect much better apsc sensor on the a7xx~ tongue.gif
I get what you mean tongue.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 18 2010, 04:51 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Jun 18 2010, 04:45 PM)
gizmo_pony like wan to upgrade anytime soon ni
not too soon ... sweat.gif still considering the options
gizmo_pony
post Jun 19 2010, 12:42 AM

451 posts

Q : guys, as you have already known, the NEX-3 can take 720p video only compared to the NEX-5 which can take 1080p... what actually makes this difference ? Is it hardware-related or simply a software/firmware limitation ?
gizmo_pony
post Jun 19 2010, 01:10 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Jun 19 2010, 12:52 AM)
processing power?
meaning ? the hardware ?
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 11:44 AM

451 posts

strobist spam, C&C please icon_question.gif

gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 01:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(soket @ Jun 21 2010, 01:43 PM)
guys wan to ask, under wat condition my d-range works best? i cant c the difference
backlighting
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 04:49 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Jun 21 2010, 03:46 PM)
i see no much different at a200 also smile.gif either in camera or RAW via IDS
so most of the time turn off

calling for walking encyclopaedia for clarification.. XD
me using A200 also turn off the DRO bmost of the time because it makes your picture noisy sometimes... maybe on high-end alpha can see real difference sad.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 05:28 PM

451 posts

anyone can teach me how to use CA correction in LR3 ? try and error doesn't work for me, any useful reading that I can learn to correct this CA ? really problematic, makes my eyes hurt :-(
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 10:21 PM

451 posts

why kinda slow this thread lately ? wondering where all the regulars go ...
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 10:30 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 21 2010, 10:24 PM)
day 2 without my baby beside me. cry.gif
don't cry, go and find other baby tongue.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 21 2010, 10:46 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Jun 21 2010, 10:39 PM)
tried out NEX 3 and 5 at BTS sony center... my fingers cant fit into the gap between the grip and the 1855 lens for NEX 5... and i find the menu quite ok... get used to it in few minutes smile.gif and the RRP is really cut throat, NEX 5 with 2 lenses is RM3k but with 2 years warranty and 8gb memory stick...
which one looks better ? NEX3 or NEX5 ? hmm.gif

Added on June 21, 2010, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 21 2010, 10:39 PM)
they have a life. haha.. i holiday so kuat spam.
ya laaa, i think i better get a life too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gizmo_pony: Jun 21 2010, 10:47 PM
gizmo_pony
post Jun 22 2010, 03:04 PM

451 posts

Some beercan spamS :
gizmo_pony
post Jun 22 2010, 03:17 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 22 2010, 03:10 PM)
what? panning + make.love = LOL
what's the shutter speed?
accidentally taken that pic, I didn't realize until one of my friend spot it tongue.gif taken at 1/25s

0.0465sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:43 AM