Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V42!, The Orange Legion

Mikeshashimi
post Jun 25 2010, 11:54 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Jun 25 2010, 11:51 PM)
i only know that kingston is really slow on a200, a300 and a350... avoid kingston CF at all cost if you using the above mentioned models...
when u say slow, means that the time between each snap is long?
zstan
post Jun 25 2010, 11:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 25 2010, 11:45 PM)
poor means? tongue.gif
poor means the transfer rate slow lor...

usually u will only experience this if u burst la...then u will find maybe few shots cannot take pic anymore..ur memory card is choking.(assuming u r taking pics in JPEG, later let ppl say slow fps pulak laugh.gif )
lwliam
post Jun 26 2010, 12:14 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Darling Harbour, Sydney.

found this pic that i took back in 2007 with my Canon A80 4MP cam, which is now RIP in my cupboard.

Camera: Canon Powershot A80
Speed: 2s
Aperture: f/4
Focal length: 8mm

interestingly, there's no record of any ISO value in the EXIF

Raz, I humble sket.. saguhati pun hepi dah

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jun 26 2010, 12:18 AM
lencent
post Jun 26 2010, 12:24 AM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 25 2010, 11:54 PM)
when u say slow, means that the time between each snap is long?
yea, when u cold start your camera, I waited for almost half a minute before it can start writing into the CF card when i have about 900+ pics... and it takes around 3 to 5 seconds to preview your pics after u snap it... unlike the Sandisk that i using now, right away can preview after i snap...
albnok
post Jun 26 2010, 12:28 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

d4rkholeang3l: Well honestly... your picture isn't done well. You chopped off the bridge on the right. It is quite irritating to see it that way.

mastering89: White dots are because you turned off Long Exp. NR so it cannot perfrom Black Frame Subtraction.
d4rkholeang3l
post Jun 26 2010, 12:31 AM

1,373 posts

hey guys, thanks for the opinion... ya, maybe i was going all out wif my feelings..

alright, the theme is '1 Sungai Melaka Maju 2010' ..heck , wat type of theme is this...

from wat i had been told, i am to take photographs of melaka river and the things around it whether at night or daytime...

i actually submitted about 6 photographs..but of course, i do think that there are only 1 best photo among those i submitted...

my focus for the pic i uploaded earlier is the sign ' 1 Malaysia, MELAKA MAJU 2010' at the top left,

here are the other shots i submitted :

1) (submitted without border)

2)

3)

4)

5)

P/S: Actually, I got over it already, just need some sincere opinion from u guys...
@ William: that guy seriously is a newbie la...but photography is abstract, maybe wat i see is not what others see...so, well... live wif it, haha...no use complaining oso...
lwliam
post Jun 26 2010, 12:36 AM

6,075 posts

ray, where is his pic? do let us see what is your definition of newbie. then maybe we can probably agree with you that there could be the judges fault?

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jun 26 2010, 12:47 AM
d4rkholeang3l
post Jun 26 2010, 12:39 AM

1,373 posts

@william : he nt yet upload his pic...

Added on June 26, 2010, 12:40 am@ william : I said newbie, not noobie... lolz.. dont make it so serious smile.gif

This post has been edited by d4rkholeang3l: Jun 26 2010, 12:40 AM
lwliam
post Jun 26 2010, 12:47 AM

6,075 posts

alaaa, same wad... noobie, newbie... tongue.gif okok, newbie.. hehe.. my bad tongue.gif
mastering89
post Jun 26 2010, 12:47 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

albnok : thank you, i thought my cam masuk the dust particle or something sweat.gif . better if keep off or on??

d4rkholeang3l : same thing la noobie and newbie. noobs haha . play dota one round b4 sleep , long time no play cool.gif

lwliam : lawa la weh thumbup.gif
d4rkholeang3l
post Jun 26 2010, 12:55 AM

1,373 posts

haha, dun worry guys...i ll upload it when it's ready...

btw, i hope there's no hard feelings bout my ranting here in the earlier posts...

i bet u feel wat i feel, being pawned by a newbie ( lolz, u can just ignore this line )

btw, it feels great when i know the whole community is cheering for me and giving me positive advice smile.gif

thanks man !
mastering89
post Jun 26 2010, 01:03 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

Gold coast sepang, not so gold-ish after rain sad.gif
[ 16mm | f/8 | 30s | ISO 400 ]

gold coast nice place to go for photoshoot, met some wedding couples taking sunset shoot also. unlucky them the pantai damn kotor sweat.gif
just beside the expensive palm tree, should have someone clean la the pantai mad.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: Jun 26 2010, 11:22 AM
ieR
post Jun 26 2010, 02:26 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

mastering, nice compo, but lack of details :/

how come F8+iso100 would take up 30sec? u use ND? and why there is noise on the water?

i think the softness of the pic cause by the 30sec? is it windy?
albnok
post Jun 26 2010, 02:44 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

mastering89,

If you only take long exposures (more than 1 second) once in a while, leave Long Exp. NR on.

If you are going to take fireworks it would be more practical to leave it off. That way in between shots you're not waiting.

For "black frame subtraction" - you'll have to take one shot with the lens cap on, which will give you just a black picture with white spots. You then subtract this picture from all your other fireworks pictures so the white spots are gone! Google will help you with the rest.

Also - try cropping your landscape to the bottom-right quarter. That's a more interesting picture.

d4rkholeang3l,

It happens. Sorry lah but the bridge being cropped was really a turn off even though the exposure is nice and the colors were vibrant. Some simple shots may have a lot more meaning.

I've judged a competition before (with some other judges) and I was surprised to see this very plain shot win in a particular category. Everyone has different tastes. I don't even agree with the judges' picks sometimes over at the Alphanatics competition.
ieR
post Jun 26 2010, 03:11 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

seeing everyone spam reflection on water, i also wan~ lol

sadly the pic a bit spoiled by the walkway on the bottom right, because i cant cross the 'ropes' to shoot(*not safe), anyhow, my borrowed gigantic tripod cant pass also.... lol

This post has been edited by ieR: Jun 26 2010, 03:11 AM
ianho
post Jun 26 2010, 03:30 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 25 2010, 11:37 PM)
ini baru saya punya
img]
can win top3 tak? laugh.gif
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 26 2010, 12:14 AM)
img]

Darling Harbour, Sydney.

found this pic that i took back in 2007 with my Canon A80 4MP cam, which is now RIP in my cupboard.

Camera: Canon Powershot A80
Speed: 2s
Aperture: f/4
Focal length: 8mm

interestingly, there's no record of any ISO value in the EXIF
Raz, I humble sket.. saguhati pun hepi dah
Preeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!!! RED card for 2 of u. Satu Nikon satu Canon pics posted in Sony thread. Both red card n disqualified. laugh.gif
freddy manson
post Jun 26 2010, 07:05 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Hahaha xpa la bah..
A good thing to share mah.. Even not from alpha cams..
Y give red cards terus? Give yellow cards first loh laugh.gif

Anyway, if pic taken with NEX can share here kah? No, cannot? Coz n0t from Alpha?
boyzone
post Jun 26 2010, 07:49 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Jun 26 2010, 12:31 AM)
hey guys, thanks for the opinion... ya, maybe i was going all out wif my feelings..

alright, the theme is '1 Sungai Melaka Maju 2010' ..heck , wat type of theme is this...

from wat i had been told, i am to take photographs of melaka river and the things around it whether at night or daytime...

i actually submitted about 6 photographs..but of course, i do think that there are only 1 best photo among those i submitted...

my focus for the pic i uploaded earlier is the sign ' 1 Malaysia, MELAKA MAJU 2010' at the top left,
here are the other shots i submitted :

P/S: Actually, I got over it already, just need some sincere opinion from u guys...
@ William: that guy seriously is a newbie la...but photography is abstract, maybe wat i see is not what others see...so, well... live wif it, haha...no use complaining oso...
a lot of ppls is using feeling and creative to shoot the photo..
Maybe he is new in DSLR .. but doesn't mean he is poor in creative and feeling tongue.gif

Btw, since he just get his DSLR 2 days ago.. with 1st prize winning, sure kena poison kwa kwa thumbup.gif
8tvt
post Jun 26 2010, 07:50 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

keputusan pengadil adalah muktamad,
segala surat mennyurat tidak akan dilayan - haha
mastering89
post Jun 26 2010, 09:08 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

ieR : noise probably because i forgot to turn on Long Exp Noise Reduction =( . it was dark already , i cant use smaller aperture bcoz dont have remote shutter. and got ulat (dust) inside sensor belum clean , clearly seen if use smaller aperture

albnok : thank u for the info's. will take note after this. the cropping part i dont get, which part to crop??

going melaka today, hope can get good shots

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:31 AM