Sony Ericsson Xperia X8, Code Name Shakira

falcone900
post Apr 12 2011, 11:27 PM

Hi guys just got my SE X8 yesterday...newbies here new to android.. i have few question here:

1.what is root?
2.what is reboot?
3.i think mine is android 1.6 i thought it's supposed to be 2.1 rite?(refer to firmware it's written 1.6) maybe i've been cheated by the sales person in lowyat hmm.gif
4. wat else should i do fully utilize the fon to the max?
5. My pack came with USB cable,handsfree,charger and user guides manual. It's that all?

Thanks for any feedbacks

Added on April 12, 2011, 11:30 pmHi guys just got my SE X8 yesterday...newbies here new to android.. i have few question here:

1.what is root?
2.what is reboot?
3.i think mine is android 1.6 i thought it's supposed to be 2.1 rite?(refer to firmware it's written 1.6) maybe i've been cheated by the sales person in lowyat hmm.gif
4. wat else should i do fully utilize the fon to the max?
5. My pack came with USB cable,handsfree,charger and user guides manual. It's that all?
6.Lastly why i don't have the android market,how can i get the android market?

Thanks for any feedbacks

This post has been edited by falcone900: Apr 12 2011, 11:30 PM
falcone900
post Apr 13 2011, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Apr 13 2011, 12:00 AM)
1. Root = Get superuser access from the phone. Some applications need superuser rights in order to function.
2. Reboot = restart the phone.
3. Older models are with 1.6 but can be upgraded to 2.1 with Sony Updater Service.
4. Should have an extra back cover I think. Not sure if its the same since yours is 1.6
5. Emm this one I can't answer couze it should be there. It'll be there if you update to 2.1.
Is there any different if it is the old model. Becoz if there is a lot of difference i'm going to complaint back to the sales agent... So where should i start with my new SE X8? Thanks for your reply by the way
falcone900
post Apr 13 2011, 12:23 AM

QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Apr 13 2011, 12:16 AM)
I don't really know for sure.

To confirm you can check your phone model it should be E15a i think while the latest one is E15i.
The phone model i already checked it is E15i. But then why my firmware is 1.6 and i don't have the android market? Funny... rclxub.gif
falcone900
post Apr 13 2011, 09:03 AM

Yes I bought the ap set. So ways the difference btwn old and new model.? How,to differentiate btwn old and new?
falcone900
post Apr 15 2011, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(WooTz @ Apr 11 2011, 04:44 PM)
Guys... tried to root,everything went well until the last part when it was saying something like'do u want to for a test run' clicked yes and it was saying SU TEST FAILED!!! Dont know what happened? hmm.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 11:48 pmAlmost giv up edi even i tried to update software using the PC companion also failed! I dont what's the problem...

This post has been edited by falcone900: Apr 15 2011, 11:48 PM
falcone900
post Apr 16 2011, 12:10 AM

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Apr 15 2011, 11:54 PM)
try download superoneclick 1.7, before this my pc oso got prob, but after change to 1.7v can root easily..
already have that. got it from this forum also.even i was using the pc companion to update software also failed...
falcone900
post Apr 16 2011, 12:17 AM

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 16 2011, 12:11 AM)
Try using seus, much better than pc companion
where/how should i get it?
falcone900
post Apr 16 2011, 12:26 AM

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 16 2011, 12:18 AM)
Its in se website.. It stands,for sony ericsson update service..
Thanx for the info. do u mind to provide the link?

falcone900
post Apr 18 2011, 10:33 PM

I'm so frustrated!!! First i bought my x8 at lowyat at the price of RM550 but i got the 1.6 android and it doesn't have the the Android Market inside.But then i've been trying to upgrade my software with the PC Companion but it said Update Installation failed.Then i tried to root it also failed. After that i tried to root it said SU run failed! Then i went to Shopping Mall to find someone who can help me to upgrade my software,a guy said it will cost me RM100!!! i was shocked and dont know how to upgrade. Perhaps there is someone who can help me here. Willing to pay...
falcone900
post Apr 19 2011, 09:49 PM

Already checked my firmware is 1.6
falcone900
post Apr 23 2011, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(falcone900 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:33 PM)
I'm so frustrated!!! First i bought my x8 at lowyat at the price of RM550 but i got the 1.6 android and it doesn't have the the Android Market inside.But then i've been trying to upgrade my software with the PC Companion but it said Update Installation failed.Then i tried to root it also failed. After that i tried to root it said SU run failed! Then i went to Shopping Mall to find someone who can help me to upgrade my software,a guy said it will cost me RM100!!! i was shocked and dont know how to upgrade. Perhaps there is someone who can help me here. Willing to pay...
Finally i have my x8 upgraded to the 2.1 version!!! I went back to the guy who sold me the phone in lowyat and he upgraded the version for free but was so rude mad.gif . He asked my to pay RM80 but i refused then he took my phone and put in my pocket and said 'i dont care either u wanna buy any phones from me or not. Asking me to leave his shop indirectly. What ever it is,i got my phone upgraded! brows.gif What else should i do next to customize skin?
falcone900
post Jun 18 2011, 11:37 AM

Hi Guys sorry to interrupt but i need help. currently my X8 is standard 2.1 havent done anything to do the phone yet. After installed a few apps and music i found my x8 is damn lagging . Wat option do i have to make it faster and smooth?

0.0183sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:54 PM