Science Biotech Research Groups/Academics, Which research group to join?
jin06
Jan 1 2014, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Nov 28 2013, 12:07 PM) PCR detection of organisms/microogranisms/pathogens, in as much as me and my company are concerned. how's your company doing? i'm thinking of running a biotech startup too, but it's just a thought - haven't had any further actions yet. 1) Did you get any gov grant to support the company? 2) Do you have any tax exemption? (as far as i know there's some sort of tax exemption for the biotech startups.) 3) Do you have any clients? Or is that a research company? i guess you made a good move. there are very limited jobs for science graduates out there. All the best!
jin06
Jan 5 2014, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 3 2014, 07:45 PM) Thank you kindly! Yeah, not much interesting biotech jobs out there - mostly academic. Really if u want to do R&D, join public academia - nobody else will bother to invest in ur upskilling and R&D work. Hardly any private R&D outfits shelling out the dough, save places like ACGT and the like, with big parents and deep pockets. HAving said that though, the whole idea behind knowledge-based economy - or any economy really - is still entrepreneurship. Shoe string biotech startup like mine, definitely need support. Tax exemption comes in the form of BioNexus status, but that's 2 years down the road. As for clients, well, that's the point of having a business kan?  Lol true though. This is the whole point of business. How do you find it starting your biotech business overall? I think the main concern is the $$ - machineries need $$ (super a lot of money in fact), reagents need $$. The next in line is the technical skills. No skill no talk. That's why I plan to get into a company and learn the skills before I can own one. I am gathering opinions from everyone now - to see whether this is a risk worth taking