Panasonic LCD - better than their Plasma?

TSindex7
post Jun 15 2010, 04:55 PM, updated 16y ago

49 posts

I've been comparing the new LCD Panels side by side and I must say their U series 42 inch LCD Panels look much nicer compared to X or U Plasma panels (dare I even say V panels). The blacks are deeper (when transitioning between images can see the LCD panel is much darker than the plasma panel) I also like the matte surface of the LCD panels as opposed to the glossy plasma panels. Less reflection. The plasma looks to be more greyish - including the Plasma V series. Is my eyes deceiving me or do you all see this also?

This post has been edited by index7: Jun 15 2010, 05:02 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Jun 15 2010, 06:09 PM

1,442 posts

I doubt LCDs could go Plasma black. Sometimes when viewing and comparing at the stores, you have to make sure the TVs are also properly set up, which sadly, more often than not, they aren't.
neb
post Jun 15 2010, 06:23 PM

2,234 posts

the black level will become worst over time

they are still improving on plasma black performance, may be next year series will include a little bit of pioneer kuro plasma technology, panasonic bought kuro plasma pattern last year
braveheart
post Jun 15 2010, 06:59 PM

208 posts

Yes, definitely. Had earlier put the deposit for the 42 X. After 2 days of reviewing again at some other stores about 5 of them who had them side by side none of my family members wanted the x. Very dissapointed although as much as I wanted Pana and the relative cheapness as compared to others I had to forgo the idea.
Lastly ended up with a Sharp Aquos and last nite it was installed. All happy that I made the change. After seeing the mirror reflection and the colour shootout immediately I was banned from getting the Pana.
TSindex7
post Jun 15 2010, 07:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jun 15 2010, 06:09 PM)
I doubt LCDs could go Plasma black.  Sometimes when viewing and comparing at the stores, you have to make sure the TVs are also properly set up, which sadly, more often than not, they aren't.
I was wondering that too - cause I went to 5 different stores and the plasma looks not as good as the LCD panel in all 5 locations. I was aiming to get the plasma all along, but now not so sure. On spec the Plasma has 200,000:1 contrast ratio but the LCD only has 20,000: 1 contrast ratio - so by right the Plasmas should win by a mile. However, my eyes tell me differently. I was thinking the Plasma phospurs has not burned in yet - but it can't be, it's been a while since it came out - and the phosphurs should have been nicely burned in. Oh wel... decisions decisions. Currently I am leaning to the LCD Panel.

braveheart
post Jun 15 2010, 07:18 PM

208 posts

The X was only rm 2080 without any freebies and 42" but the LCD was only 40" and rm 2700 diff was quite a lot so that proves the point.
Last years models were way better. This years really tak boleh pakai.
You also went to so many places as we did.
Another funny thing was the 50X with same specs was much better. Normally smaller panels should be much better than the bigger ones since viewing from the same distance but this is an exceptional case. Fondled with the remote and put all the setting to be the same and it still lost easily. This is only my personal findings and opinions but it would be good to go and try it out.

Tested on Std DVD's and Astro Beyond. The others like Tosh,LG,Sammy and even Philips were much better.

This post has been edited by braveheart: Jun 15 2010, 07:43 PM
gisella
post Jun 15 2010, 08:06 PM

45 posts

hey guys,

i have one curious question here.

do you guys banned the old CRT tv which the surface is made of glass with reflection and the panel presents grey when it is not switched on? or that time has no comparable product to comment?

nowadays almost all of the new laptop LCD screen comes in glossy panel which has high reflection, do you guys banned and lean towards old fashioned matte screen?

pls share your views
low98944
post Jun 15 2010, 08:25 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

This type of topic never end one... tongue.gif Next time when OLED become publicly available and affordable, this type of topic will come again. whistling.gif Never ending story. laugh.gif
braveheart
post Jun 15 2010, 09:31 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(gisella @ Jun 15 2010, 08:06 PM)
hey guys,

i have one curious question here.

do you guys banned the old CRT tv which the surface is made of glass with reflection and the panel presents grey when it is not switched on? or that time has no comparable product to comment?

nowadays almost all of the new laptop LCD screen comes in glossy panel which has high reflection, do you guys banned and lean towards old fashioned matte screen?

pls share your views
To clear the issue here. No. The older CRT's are still widely used albeit in the other rooms etc. Still have 3 of them being used. The comparison here is between the 42X plasma versus other brand plasmas i.e LG,Sammy,Philips and also Hitachi. And also vs the same brand 2010 50X which is the bigger brother and also with a last year model the 42x10 which is still selling higher than this years X28.

What I meant was the 42x28 lost to every older model although it is supposed to be a 2010 model which we would expect to have some better improvements whether slightly or at least on par with last years models. Maybe that explains the reason for the severe price reduction that is being offered.

I also compared it with my bro's 2009 50X10k. Basically also same specs.

Let's be clear that both Plasma and LCD technologies have different traits, properties and operate on completely different platforms altogether. There is no such thing as which is better or worse.

Maybe some of you don't understand the actual comparison that was done here.

We only compare apples to apples and not apples to oranges.
neb
post Jun 15 2010, 11:06 PM

2,234 posts

talking about new display technology, watch out for LaserTV drool.gif , this is entirely new category known as Laser Phosphor Display

anfieldude
post Jun 15 2010, 11:59 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Jun 15 2010, 04:55 PM)
I've been comparing the new LCD Panels side by side and I must say their U series 42 inch LCD Panels look much nicer compared to X or U Plasma panels (dare I even say V panels). The blacks are deeper (when transitioning between images can see the LCD panel is much darker than the plasma panel) I also like the matte surface of the LCD panels as opposed to the glossy plasma panels. Less reflection. The plasma looks to be more greyish - including the Plasma V series. Is my eyes deceiving me or do you all see this also?
My advise.

Understand each technologies strengths and weaknesses, decide which is more important to u, and the weaknesses that u can live with. Armed with that knowledge, try to reproduce ur viewing environment, then trust ur eyes and ur brains. Whatever decision u make, is the best decision....
csng
post Jun 16 2010, 02:01 AM

106 posts

My friend told me 1 thing, when u go to the shop to compare, you will see the difference in which is better or worse. But when u bought it back home, its about the same, either u like it or u don't like it.

I have to say its true, I've been to shops looking at those tv's and lcd tend to have higher contrast when showing white background compared to plasma. And plasma's looked darker and dimmer as well.

However, when i was at home watching programmes with my panasonic 42x10, everything looks beautiful(except those SD channels, which has nothing to do with the TV). I still remember watching Roland Garros in HD and it really amaze me. The color, contrast, detail..everything is just perfectly well balanced. There's no sign at all that the image looks dim and lacked contrast compared to what you saw outside.

My advice is, go to a friend's house which has those plasma or lcd and let them show you how it looks like. I doubt those unit outside the shops are properly setup as some of them looked really weird.

And lastly, if you were upgrading from a CRT TV, chances are you will be disappointed with ALL the normal channels (Astro normal SD channels) as they will look worse than your old CRT. But when you are watching HD contents, you will be delighted with it regardless of it being Plasma or LCD.
TSindex7
post Jun 16 2010, 10:01 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 15 2010, 11:59 PM)
My advise.

Understand each technologies strengths and weaknesses, decide which is more important to u, and the weaknesses that u can live with. Armed with that knowledge, try to reproduce ur viewing environment, then trust ur eyes and ur brains. Whatever decision u make, is the best decision....
Actually I've been researching for the past 6 months - so pretty much aware of all the technologies. Just that my eyes is telling me differently. My hall can get quite bright during the daytime because of the design of the house (indoor courtyard) and there are certain places I can't put curtains. So I was thinking the matte surface would be better for me. I'll have a think through 1 last time and make a decision. Thanks for your advise.
cyanide
post Jun 16 2010, 10:10 AM

193 posts

hi, index7,

have you compare the viewing angle from side??

For the 2009 model, I found that pana LCD TV the 32 & 37" got very good viewing angle, mean you watch it from side, the color still the same.
But... for the 42", it didn't have the same. you watch it from side, the color "out". all the 3 models are IPS-alpha panel, i also dun understand the different.
But in terms of viewing angle of LCD TV, so far i see this pana really :tb:
toshiba kalah terus in this point.
TSindex7
post Jun 16 2010, 10:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Jun 16 2010, 10:10 AM)
hi, index7,

For the 2009 model, I found that pana LCD TV the 32 & 37" got very good viewing angle, mean you watch it from side, the color still the same.
But... for the 42", it didn't have the same. you watch it from side, the color "out". all the 3 models are IPS-alpha panel, i also dun understand the different.
The 42" looks good to me from most angle. Anyhow, there's only me and my wife for now - so viewing angle will not be an issue.
low yat 82
post Jun 16 2010, 11:33 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

there is sooo many brand + tech... how to choose n wat shud i consider?? m lookinn 32" / 37" lcd size...tq

headache..
32" rm1.5k+-
37" rm2k+-
42" rm3k??
sonerin
post Jun 16 2010, 11:40 AM

8,740 posts

Go with your budget.
TSindex7
post Jun 16 2010, 12:24 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jun 16 2010, 11:33 AM)
there is sooo many brand + tech... how to choose n wat shud i consider?? m lookinn 32" / 37" lcd size...tq

headache..
32" rm1.5k+-
37" rm2k+-
42" rm3k??
You can get Latest Panasonic 42" for about RM2.7K Looks for shops like HLK or JinTex.
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Jun 16 2010, 01:17 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Jun 16 2010, 10:10 AM)
hi, index7,

smile.gif 42' Panasonic LCD has no IPS alpha, thats use LG S-IPS................
IPS alpha only available for 32' and 37'
cyanide
post Jun 16 2010, 11:00 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jun 16 2010, 01:17 PM)
smile.gif 42' Panasonic LCD has no IPS alpha, thats use LG S-IPS................
IPS alpha only available for 32' and 37'
Oh... thanks for the info.

BTW, who is the supplier of IPS alpha panel?
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Jun 17 2010, 08:42 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Jun 16 2010, 11:00 PM)
Oh... thanks for the info.

BTW, who is the supplier of IPS alpha panel?
smile.gif IPS alpha is manufacture in Panasonic Japan plant.
cyanide
post Jun 17 2010, 10:24 AM

193 posts

wow....
give me a good reason to go for 37" instead of the bigger 42" tongue.gif

0.0218sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:52 AM