Centralised Astro Dish got problem, can't watch world cup at home!!!

TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 11:54 AM, updated 16y ago

running to stand still
1,085 posts

I'm staying in an apartment in USJ (goodyear court 7) and just last week, there was suddenly NO reception for my astro. my wife called the helpline and was told that if we wanted the technician to come over and check, it would cost RM50.

When I came back from work, I spoke to the call centre and told them that I don't mind paying if the problem was my decoder. However, if the problem was the centralised dish, why on earth should I pay RM50???

Today, technician called up to say that it's memang the centralised dish that has a problem. However, some residents are opting to install their own dish instead for RM100 (or something like that).

I have a few questions:

1. If the centralised dish is rosak, whose responsibility is it to replace / repair it? Astro or Management?
2. If the residents are opting to install their own dish but I still want to use the centralised dish, is there a problem? I don't want to install my own dish because I may be moving soon.

Would appreciate feedback, especially if there are those staying in Court 7. Thanks!
lj0000
post Jun 15 2010, 11:57 AM

2,209 posts

you will need to complain to ur management office

i dont think court 7 they will allow people to install their own dish, maybe got loophole regarding astro beyond
neb
post Jun 15 2010, 12:03 PM

2,234 posts

by the time someone get something done on the centralised dish, no more world cup to watch

install your own dish solve the problem instantly, dish can be move when you shift your home

This post has been edited by neb: Jun 15 2010, 12:03 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Jun 15 2010, 02:07 PM

1,442 posts

Management punye problem.

Also, if your apartment has a centralised dish, will Astro be willing to install individual dishes?

writesimply
post Jun 15 2010, 06:53 PM

934 posts

Well it could be that a friend of a resident brought over his B.yond decoder box and plugged it in to the centralized system... And caused havoc to everyone for the duration of the match. Just a thought.

fuad
TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 07:59 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jun 15 2010, 11:57 AM)
you will need to complain to ur management office

i dont think court 7 they will allow people to install their own dish, maybe got loophole regarding astro beyond
well, the technician that called up said that some of the residents here are already opting to install their own dish that isn't connected to the centralised dish....
TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 08:00 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 15 2010, 12:03 PM)
by the time someone get something done on the centralised dish, no more world cup to watch

install your own dish solve the problem instantly, dish can be move when you shift your home
for now, i'm catching the matches either at makan shops or on TV1. installing my own dish is the last option for me currently simply because I want to know why can't someone fix the centralised dish instead of making everyone else pay to install their own dish.
TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 08:02 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jun 15 2010, 02:07 PM)
Management punye problem.

Also, if your apartment has a centralised dish, will Astro be willing to install individual dishes?
according to the technician, they have already been cases like that, which is why he is suggesting doing the same.
TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 08:04 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jun 15 2010, 06:53 PM)
Well it could be that a friend of a resident brought over his B.yond decoder box and plugged it in to the centralized system... And caused havoc to everyone for the duration of the match. Just a thought.
fuad
thanks for the thought.. will probably call the technician tomorrow and see what he says...
king_kenny
post Jun 15 2010, 08:33 PM

82 posts

install ur own dish,,later if u want to move out, just bring the dish to your new home,,
TSlostasylum
post Jun 15 2010, 09:56 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(king_kenny @ Jun 15 2010, 08:33 PM)
install ur own dish,,later if u want to move out, just bring the dish to your new home,,
the place i'm moving to is a condo, and it's a centralised dish. the headache i'm facing now is because if i install my own dish now, what am i gonna do with it when i move?
lj0000
post Jun 16 2010, 12:22 AM

2,209 posts

if thats the case, its even easier.
dont think so much. just apply to install from the management office and install it.

when move out, abandon the dish!
by then you should be moving to astro beyond.
TSlostasylum
post Jun 18 2010, 09:06 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jun 16 2010, 12:22 AM)
if thats the case, its even easier.
dont think so much. just apply to install from the management office and install it.

when move out, abandon the dish!
by then you should be moving to astro beyond.
wah... i wish i had the same kinda money as you to get the dish and then install it myself... =(

but in any case, thanks everyone for your help... the managemet has finally fixed the centralised dish and now i can watch football!
neb
post Jun 18 2010, 11:01 AM

2,234 posts

brand new 60cm dish+lnb is only 40 bucks from a reliable source drool.gif
TSlostasylum
post Jun 18 2010, 02:26 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 18 2010, 11:01 AM)
brand new 60cm dish+lnb is only 40 bucks from a reliable source drool.gif
realible source = authorised by astro or not? see see install already next time got problem astro tak layan.. then mampos....

0.0193sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:41 AM