❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v7 )))~❤, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

CutiePie69
post Aug 25 2010, 12:58 PM

Hi... I am a newbie at having a GP.
Just adopted one last night.
So far I am looking for a GP toilet and was wondering if a rabbit toilet can be used for a GP? rclxub.gif
CutiePie69
post Aug 25 2010, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Aug 25 2010, 02:07 PM)
you mean the triangle one izzit? yes i think that works for both rabbit n GP. XD
I called PetsLover centre @ Mines and they told me its square.
Roughly around 18 cm in diameters and lengh 25 cm.

CutiePie69
post Aug 25 2010, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 25 2010, 03:21 PM)
they r selling at a very expensive price.. last i seen is rm50-99.. try the triangle 1 from alex ( can be found in pet shack sunway)
Hi Xavi,

Thanks for the tip..... much appreciated.
When I spoke to the sales person he told me it costs around RM22.90 i think.
Quite reasonable.
I will try Petshack too.
Saw on the net its RM19.90
CutiePie69
post Aug 26 2010, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(yingtsze @ Aug 26 2010, 11:18 AM)
wat is daiso cube actualli ? is it put the bbq grill under the cage?
i wn to buy the triangle toilet.. bt scare they wont use it =.= coz i thnk my Gp very "special" wt other gp like they dn like.. wt the other like my gps dn like =.= sometimes also very speechless
I just bought a hooded toilet for my newly adopted GP Timi and after putting it inside the cage he immediately went to use it rclxms.gif
So clever nod.gif
However..... got a new friend for him last night Mimi, who poo everywhere in the cage.
I guess that is because she is just 2 months plus.
But when I peeped at them this morning.... I did not see much poo inside the cage so I think Mimi also used the toilet.
They are such clever animals wub.gif
CutiePie69
post Aug 26 2010, 04:42 PM

QUOTE(streethype @ Aug 26 2010, 05:33 PM)
lol good for you man.. despite putting the triangle litter pan for 2 weeks already. my boy still not litter trained yet. he does pee and poo inside but very minimal only.. there are still poos scattered all over the cage.

i even put the food bowl on the litter pan as well so that when he want to eat he'll have to sit on the litter pan so it encourages him to poo there as well.

but sometimes the naughty monster will just jump inside the food bowl and om nom nom there lol and pee on the hay as well =.=

now i give up d, just let him do what he like
A friend of mine told me when you see them about to do their business quickly put them inside the toilet and tell them that its a place to poo and pee blush.gif
I think slowly your GP will get the hang of it.
Patience my friend.
I am new to having GP's too and its a wonder to have them.
They are so ADORABLE!
Can't wait to go home and play with them. biggrin.gif
CutiePie69
post Sep 2 2010, 10:36 PM

I have a friend who is going back to Kedah for raya and she told me that someone from her kampung is selling GP Abby for only RM10.00 each as got too many already.

Her brother recently bought two and man.... were they cute! One of the colour was very uniqiue as it was grey and white in colour. wub.gif
CutiePie69
post Sep 27 2010, 09:17 AM

Yesterday was the first time I bathed my GP since I am a first timer with them. It was so easy and my babies Timmy and Mimi are really well behaved especially when being blowed dried with the hair dryer.
CutiePie69
post Oct 3 2010, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(emino @ Oct 3 2010, 02:00 PM)
Cubes of all size are available at Daiso for RM5.

These are slightly longer than the ones I've used for playpen. Its perfect for C&C cage. You'll only need 10 and itll only be RM50.
Beautifully done....
Just a question though.... wont the GP legs go through the holes of the cubes?
Have to line it right?
Another thing.... what to use for the underlay?
If not all the food and droppings will fall onto the floor?
Sorry new for me.... blush.gif

CutiePie69
post Nov 22 2010, 08:39 PM

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:54 AM)
i tried make the delivered 6 gps myself before from KL to KK. Total Cost Around RM600+ including Taxi fares but if u got ur own transport that will be better & excluding the GP itself... Very complicated to tell you the truth but if you need guide, you can ask me.
Wa lau! So expensive one ah?
I transport my cat from Kuching to KL even cheaper leh.
Only costs less than RM200.00
CutiePie69
post Nov 23 2010, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 23 2010, 01:44 AM)
tat is for 6 pigs urs 200 is how many cats?
It was for two cats.
Thought that GP's should be cheaper since its smaller size than cats.
Because transportation based on weight and not numbers.
CutiePie69
post Nov 24 2010, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Nov 24 2010, 10:15 AM)
When did you do the transport? I did it on this year January. Yes, it is base on Weight and Size of the Cage too. That time i used a Medium Size Cargo that Suitable for 2 Cats. The Freight Charges Already Cost me RM200+, Bringing the Gps got Medical Check ups to request for Health Cert for applying Permits already cost RM200+ (for 6 piggies)around RM20-40 for each GP...Still haven't add up the Fuel Charges/Taxi Fees and Permit Fees and the Portable Cage/Cargo.
I did mine recently too.
For cats/dogs request for Health Cert is RM5.00 per head.
So expensive for GP. doh.gif
CutiePie69
post Nov 24 2010, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM)
well, u know... KL lor lol...some even wan to charge me RM100+ per head...i was like FTW and go other vet to see. You did the transport yourself or you're hiring ppl to do the stuff? If u're hiring ppl, i would like to know who biggrin.gif If like that, My dream to get few more piggies from KL can come true  rclxm9.gif
I did it myself actually.
All I did was get the import and export permit
Then send the cats for vet check up and paid RM5.00 for each head.
Got the letter of health from the vet.
Then book the passage from Kuching to KL
And paid excess baggage RM10.00 per kg for my cats.
Both of them costs RM60.00 only.
Arrived at KLIA and homeward bound.

But when I transferred my cats from KK to Kuching it had to involve an agent on KK's side.
They charged my dad RM150.00 for all the paper work.
But in Kuching, I did the clearance myself and saved RM150.00 tongue.gif
I called the customs officer and asked him if I could do the clearance myself and he agreed.
Actually no hard work.
Just get the papers stamped that is all but time consuming as you had to wait for your turn.

This post has been edited by CutiePie69: Nov 24 2010, 04:44 PM
CutiePie69
post Nov 24 2010, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 24 2010, 05:43 PM)
who issued the health cert? any vet or must be the specific party
Health cert will be issued by the government vet.
CutiePie69
post Nov 24 2010, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Nov 24 2010, 06:03 PM)
No, that time i bring to Dr.jenny there when she still working. Only the Consultation fee for each GP already cost RM20 each....that time i brought 3 GPs not more than RM100 (i forgot), if got mites, u need to add $ to buy revolution.... That time the gp got mites. The other 3 Gps at other Vet(Forgot the name) mroe exp than Dr.Jenny...more than RM100+...just for consultation fee only. Both vet i will ask them to write a Confirmation Letter and sign by the Vet themselve. After that i bring the Letter to Jabatan Perkhidmatan to apply the Health Cert so can be Transport in Mas Cargo. In jabatan haiwan the fee is not very exp, Just RM20+ like that.... If you go Government Vet confirm they charge you even more. Just like you said, they don't know much about GP, so they simply charge u and they will give excuse like they wan to help u do "FULL" body check up for the gp.... Thats what they said when i called them =.= I was like...Bullsh*t la lol... And they say the Body Check up need RM120+ for EACH gp >.<.... So u can skip Government Vet.

Any vet also can... as long they know what is "Guinea Pigs"
For cats and dogs they already have the medical card when you bring them for their vacination.
So you use this card to proof that you have all the necessary vacinations done and only then go to the Government clinic to get the health certificate but before that must get export permit first.
GP's should also have a medical card from private vet to certifiy that they are healthy right?
CutiePie69
post Nov 26 2010, 10:55 AM

Need to ask Gp sifu's here......
Can we use hay as their bedding meaning put the hay all over the cage floor.
If we do that, the gp will pee and poo on the hay and then later will eat the hay...
Will it be unhygenic for the gp?
Currently I am using recycle paper pellets as their bedding.
CutiePie69
post Nov 27 2010, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 26 2010, 12:43 PM)
CutiePie69:
it is not recommended for u to use hay as bedding unless u super rich. and change them every now and then.. u either continue using wat u using now or change to fleece type..
Thanks Xaxi for your answer.
Just wanted to know only.
Still sticking to my recycle paper pellet.
I am also lucky that my gp's are half toilet train so the recycle paper last for quite a while.
Thanks again. biggrin.gif

0.0502sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:35 AM