PS3 to 5.1 Surround, need advice on audio decoder

TStermignoni
post Jun 11 2010, 01:50 PM, updated 16y ago

i AM The Ultimate Driving Machine!!
597 posts

hi all.. i need some help and advice from all the audio gurus regarding my setup..

currently, i have a PS3 connected via HDMI cable to my LCD TV.. and the audio is sent out via audio out on my LCD using RCA to my 5.1 speakers.. currently, i'm listening to a fake 5.1 setup..

as my 5.1 speakers only accepts 2-channel RCA inputs (red/white) and multiple channel input.. what i would like to do is find a cheap decoder of some sort which decodes the audio from my PS3 connected using optical cable, then decodes them into separate output channels (FR, FL, RR, RL, CR & Sub).. it doesn't have to be a Dolby or THX decoder as the PS3 sends out decoded audio already..

any help is much appreciated.. thank you.. notworthy.gif
diamaidah
post Jun 11 2010, 02:31 PM

28 posts

why don't you get an avr or htib with digital input and connect your ps3 using the hdmi or optical output.

This post has been edited by diamaidah: Jun 11 2010, 02:34 PM
piscesguy
post Jun 11 2010, 02:33 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Just get an Amplifier with HDMI Input and 5.1 channel output. biggrin.gif
zhafri_abdullah
post Jun 11 2010, 02:40 PM

75 posts

according to the manual supplied with your ps3.. rca outputs (red & white cables) can produce 2.1 surround maximum.. for 5.1 u have to use optical (the optical out port behind your ps3) or hdmi output (which supports 7.1 surround max) biggrin.gif

as for myself i use an lcd monitor.. with video coming from hdmi.. and 5.1 audio from optical output on my logitech z5500..
faidzal1982
post Jun 11 2010, 03:17 PM

272 posts

im not an expert in this... but i think u can get an avr with hdmi or optical input... and with hdmi output...
connect your ps3 to avr via hdmi... avr to lcd tv via hdmi... and avr to speaker...
if the avr dun have hdmi input... connect ps3 to lcd tv via hdmi... ps3 to avr via optical input... avr to speaker as normal...

Added on June 11, 2010, 3:19 pmbtw... what brand/model is your speaker?

This post has been edited by faidzal1982: Jun 11 2010, 03:19 PM
azxel
post Jun 11 2010, 03:22 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I hope he's not using an Altec Lansing ACS 45.1 which is stated in his signature... hehe...
TStermignoni
post Jun 11 2010, 04:37 PM

597 posts

hahaha.. no, i'm not using my Altec.. this is just a budget setup.. still don't have the chance to get a high end setup yet.. i'm using a DiVoom Comet D2 budget 5.1 speakers.. i was planning to get the Z5500, but a bit too high for my budget for now..

mind to elaborate more on the AVR? how much does that cost? that would be a perfect solution actually..

what i need for audio;

[PS3/Astro B.Yond] -->using optical-->[Decoder]-->separate outputs(FR,FL,RR,RL,CR,Sub)-->[My Speakers]

i need this setup cos i don't have any optical or coaxial input for my speakers.. only multiple channel-in..

another solution is to plug the optical into my pc as my soundcard has optical in, then use the multiple channel out to plug into my speakers.. but then i would need to put my pc in the living room, which isn't very practical.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by termignoni: Jun 11 2010, 04:45 PM
azxel
post Jun 11 2010, 04:59 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

DiVoom Comet D2 Speakers?
Those are THX read (not sure what 'ready' means...) right? And the sub is also the 'amp'....
From the looks of it, there's no way you gonna get 5.1 sound from that using the PS3 unless maybe you get something like a 'Logitech 5.1 Game Console Adapter Convert Rca Plugs To A Single 1/8'
Then again, it's not really 5.1 ain't it? it's basically 2.1 sound coming out from 5.1 speakers... simulated 5.1 sound...

I'm not sure how you gonna match a dedicated AVR with those speakers as well...
Basic AVR (without speakers) like the Yamaha 465 that comes with HDMI and loads of other input starts at about RM1.6k or so...
Matching these 'higher' end amplifiers with those speakers... blink.gif

My guess is that you might to get some new set of 5.1 speakers..

I'm not sure how to achieve your...
[PS3/Astro B.Yond] -->using optical-->[Decoder]-->separate outputs(FR,FL,RR,RL,CR,Sub)-->[My Speakers]

For a budget of RM15xx or so, that should only get you a HTIB with Optical input

PS3/Astro B.Yond --> Optical (single.. one only) --> HTIB Speakers

Unless you go for this Sony set (RM19XX or so)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1451855

Maybe some gurus can shed more light...
TStermignoni
post Jun 11 2010, 05:17 PM

597 posts

yup, u are right.. but using separate inputs to the amp is just like directing the signal from the AVR to the speakers.. the amp is just controlling the volume levels.. for my current setup, i am getting simulated 5.1, which is just awful..

damn it, should have bought the Z5500 instead.. lol.. tongue.gif
TStermignoni
post Jun 11 2010, 05:21 PM

597 posts

this is how the back input looks like.. smile.gif
faidzal1982
post Jun 11 2010, 05:31 PM

272 posts

maybe u should get the Z5500 instead... at least it has digital optical and digital coaxial input... smile.gif
TStermignoni
post Jun 11 2010, 10:54 PM

597 posts

yeah, but i'm looking for other cheaper alternatives instead.. as i mentioned, i don't need a Dolby-THX decoder, just a channel separator decoder would suffice..
minimize
post Jun 11 2010, 11:14 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(termignoni @ Jun 11 2010, 05:21 PM)

this is how the back input looks like.. smile.gif
Old school connectivity ports.. ohmy.gif Byond box don't support it.
ShenWoo
post Jun 12 2010, 01:03 AM

Sir Shen Knight The 2nd
842 posts

From what I'm seeing, all those speakers needs in own separated RCA connectivity from the source. I see center, Front RIght and Left, Side right and Left.

Most system don't use this format anymore >.<. They either use coaxial cable or HDMI to do the decoding for 5.1. I'm afraid you can't be cheap here but invest on an AVR system. Probably you can use your current speakers minus the subwoofer since it acts like an amp.
diamaidah
post Jun 12 2010, 06:55 AM

28 posts

maybe u can go to car audio shop and ask them for dolby or dts decoder only but that device maybe pricey and need separate power supply.
lamusiqa
post Jun 12 2010, 08:03 PM

397 posts

Get a new amplifier with HDMI, coaxial and optical inputs. I know it means forking over RM1k, but consider it as a long-term investment.
azxel
post Jun 12 2010, 11:09 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Jun 12 2010, 08:03 PM)
Get a new amplifier with HDMI, coaxial and optical inputs. I know it means forking over RM1k, but consider it as a long-term investment.
think it would be more or less a solution right off or even a permanent investment.. that is until the TS wanna go 3D. brows.gif

He's right you know... just sell off your current system and get a new one that would more or less solve your issues... erm.. if you can la.. that is.
TStermignoni
post Jun 13 2010, 03:34 AM

597 posts

alright.. i think it's best if i just get a new system instead.. but if somehow any of u guys come up with any hardware that fits my needs, do let me know...

thanx a lot for the advice guys.. appreciate it a lot.. smile.gif

0.0198sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:28 PM