Dell Streak
cybermick
Dec 8 2010, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 8 2010, 09:33 AM) Need send back to US ma.. sure take a bit of time lor..  Hi StratOS, meaning if we buy from Dell US website, they are not doing on-site worldwide? For Dell notebook, if I purchased from US, i can change the service tag to Malaysia and I will be covered in Malaysia. Please enlighten me on Dell Streak
cybermick
Dec 8 2010, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 8 2010, 12:42 PM) Coz the parts is not in Malaysia yet since here not launched. I registered my Dell Streak on Dell Malaysia Website already, but for warranty purposes at the moment have to sent to Dell US to do it until Malaysia launched its set then there will be parts to be replaced here.  Do u need to bear the freight charges? Or u just send to Dell Malaysia?
cybermick
Dec 9 2010, 02:20 AM

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Dec 8 2010, 05:48 PM) WM7 ? Give us a slight review if u dont mind ...... Was told its smoother than Android yet batt is a problem as there is 2 many background appliations running at the same time Had a chance to play with LG Optimus 7, frankly not to my liking. If u enjoy customizing ur phone, Android platform will b the best, at least a jailbreaked iPhone looks better than WM7. Another setback on WM7 is that on the cube home screen, there is no battery indicator and operator signal - u got to press on/off button on top right of the phone to make it standby and press another time u will come to main slide to unlock screen which shows the date, time, operator name, signal & battery indicator - sad! Getting a unit of DS this weekend - hope to upgrade it to 2.2 successfully  Irwan - US warranty unit, u send to Dell Malaysia or liaise with Dell US?
cybermick
Dec 9 2010, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:51 AM) I do agree with you. I tested the HTC HD7 for about 20 minutes ( my friend's unit). The WP7 gives one first a very good impression. The interface is extremely smooth, comparable if not better than the iphone4. Just flicking the tiles and seeing the subsequent screens of information is very impressive. However WP7 still has a lot of limitations. I'd say is good for a simple user and whose emphasis is on social interaction - tweets, RSS, facebook - this is an excellent device. For us guys who like to customize our phone, push it to limits - nothing beats the android platform Agree with StratOS that Microsoft done great improvement from 6.5, and also flicking and touch sensitivity is as good as Apple's. In terms of customization - we can really push it to maximum. I still think the Sense UI and Android is a perfect marriage, Streak is a beast machine by itself, if more & more developers out there work up more themes & UI, it will b real fun  Also agree that there is no best OS - very much depending on individual & preferences. Who knows PALM or SYMBIAN will come back next year? Kekeke... Added on December 9, 2010, 10:29 amQUOTE(irwan6179 @ Dec 9 2010, 07:04 AM) @cybermick: I send to my friend in the US first, then request the swap over there. Thx Irwan for assistance This post has been edited by cybermick: Dec 9 2010, 10:29 AM
cybermick
Dec 9 2010, 11:43 PM

Will be getting unit tmr. Can I upgrade the 1.6 to 2.2 over the air just like HTC?
cybermick
Dec 10 2010, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 10 2010, 08:27 AM) Should be OTA can, even if can't also the file is attached few pages back. So can just download it and upgrade it in you phone later on.. Thx StratOS, will b getting my unit in few hours - very very kan chiong now especially when unboxing it If I face issues, i hope members in this Dell Streak thread can help me cos I am really a noob in hacking or breaking this
cybermick
Dec 13 2010, 02:25 AM

Love my streak... got it upgraded to V2.2 OTA.
Been hearing bout this DJ Steve upgrade fr 1.4.6 to 1.5, any significant upgrade on performances?
Mine is v2.2 baseband GAUSB1A131800-EU, build number 12821.
Any advise?
cybermick
Dec 15 2010, 10:12 PM

Been toying with my Dell Streak for a week now. Had it upgraded from 1.6 to Froyo via OTA. Now question
1) How do I delete those pre-loaded applications such as Amazon MP3, Dell Sync, Assistant Free, etc so that I can free up the memory a little. 2) I heard about this forum talking about DJ Steve ROM - where can I view some screen shots? 3) When all of us Streakers want to have a TT session.
Happy Streaking Streakers!