Dell Streak

kembar4
post Apr 14 2011, 08:28 AM

*LYN's Premier Tablet Seller*
548 posts

QUOTE(fyrogenesis @ Apr 13 2011, 11:01 PM)
thanks, just to be safe, i think i should backup my entire phone... but it seems nandroid backup IS VERY2 CONFUSING  rclxub.gif
case to share how to do it step by step? i am very noob/stupid when the method involving somtehing like cmd prompt..  sad.gif

thanks.

icon_question.gif
Believe it or not, i didn't do any nandroid backup. I went for the kill right away tongue.gif

This is because, previously i was on a HTC touch pro, and the reason why i kept the phone for 3 years is because of the custom ROM. If i were to be stuck with the stock ROM, i would've sold the phone off within a year or 2, since it was really slow. The gps would take ages to lock onto the satellites. With a custom rom, the phone just runs flawlessly.

Right now, are you referring to Benny's blog? Because i used that as a guide, and it worked for me smile.gif

Do tell me which part you're stuck at , and i'll help you. That is if you're not going to do a backup on the nandroid. smile.gif

Is your phone already flashed with the clockwork mod?
kembar4
post Apr 14 2011, 01:50 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(fyrogenesis @ Apr 14 2011, 08:55 AM)
Ok. First of all thank for the support! I have succesfully flashed to dj steve 1.9. :-)
at first, I planned to do it later this weekend after I felt confident enough. But last nigh after I did normal factory reset, my DS suddenly went dead, stuck at unlock screen, so in panic mode, what the hell I said, lets flash to custom rom!

You are right, I follow EXACTLY bennys blog and thank God everything went ok.  icon_rolleyes.gif

I slept at 3am last night working and.playing my 'new' streak.  tongue.gif

Thankss~

*one problem i noticed, when typing this reply on my DS, input was very slow. only affect lowyat.net though*
Congratulations smile.gif

I am not sure about the slowdowns as i rarely use the streak to access sites and type on them. Mostly casual browsing. Still can't leave the keyboard. Even with sms, when i am at the computer, I'd use the remote sms app to type the sms-es from my computer and send it via my phone smile.gif

One thing i have noticed from 1.9 is that when you receive a phone call and then the call ends, the streak would be rather sluggish for quite some time. I heard it was a known issue. So , by advice of a forumer here, (Noobi3) who has been very helpful throughout, suggested that i try the 1.8.1 rom. I was reluctant at first, thinking that I'd lose all the flashiness the 1.9.1 has to offer, but i have not noticed any major changes on 1.8.1 . If there is any, i still have not noticed them. Still messing with my phone you see. So far the 1.8.1 has been quite stable. smile.gif

I heard that the browser would crash on certain sites on 1.8.1 but i have not experienced it so far. Not sure if this applies to the default browser or all browsers as well.

Also, thanks to benny for making all this as easy as possible. It would have been quite tedious if it was not for his blog on the installation and his posts here.

This post has been edited by kembar4: Apr 14 2011, 01:51 PM
kembar4
post Apr 14 2011, 02:11 PM

548 posts

Also, guys, is it me or is the USB transfer to the SD card (16GB) really really slow? I am trying to transfer a 2.6GB file and the estimation is about 15 minutes @ 3MB/s - 1MB/s at average.
kembar4
post Apr 15 2011, 12:35 PM

548 posts

Guys, as i read before, if you have a rooted phone, you'd be able to see the paid apps on the market right? I have searched high and low and couldn'd find any paid apps. It only list the free ones. I wish i could see the paid apps on my market too. Any fix?
kembar4
post Apr 15 2011, 01:12 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(Herojam9 @ Apr 15 2011, 12:57 PM)
Hi There  Benny 888,
Thanks for the suggestion or is it the exit door for new members. I like to think it is a positive suggestion for new members to learn more by visiting the sites you recommended.
I have already been to those sites you suggested before coming here. I like the idea of a Malaysian site and the camaraderie  from  local Malaysian Dell owners. Looks like you don't share this view.
Did not realize  that this site is for seniors only. I thought this site is for Dell Streak owners to get help and for the seniors to help the newbies.
Never ever had this kind of reply on any of the sites i have been a member. Strange?  Malaysia boleh i guess.

Have  a good day.

Cheers

Herojam
Herojam, I believe benny's intention is to educate new users from reading the posts on the sites mentioned rather than spoon feeding them. That way you learn better.

If you were to stick in this thread, this is the only 1 thread dedicate to dell steak in this forum and as a newbie, you'd have to browse through over 82 pages of posts to learn. Although i have done about half of that, i believe not everyone would want to read page by page. And its not feasible to be asking random questions and expected to be spoon fed. Perhaps the question that the person had in mind, is already addressed in the sites given? Not only that, there are various topics from the sites that you'd definitely learn more from. I believe in this type of education, where your scope is not only limited to what you have in mind, but what you might encounter in the future. That way, you'd know where to search and what to do.

Also, regarding your issue, i believe I've read on the ADW launcher's page that they've updated their app and that the older version of docks would look terrible, and the only way for it to be fixed is for the devs to update their docks. Perhaps this could be the same for launcher pro too ? Some of the non common questions might not be answered immediately as its not encountered often. The ones that are common, someone would answer eventually.

Added on April 15, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 15 2011, 12:39 PM)
Your phone need to be rooted for this. From the Market, download and install the free app " Market Enabler or MarketAccess" . Launch the app. In the main interface, select "Backup Settings" - this will save your local APN settings. Move to the next tab, select "T-Mobile (US)" as foreign telco, hold it down  and a pop-up window " fake this provider now" for market enabler  or tap it for marketaccess . Select it. Close the app. Launch Market and you will be able to view all the paid and free apps.
Once you have completed your " marketing:, launch MarketAccess and select "Restore Value" so as to enable back your actual network provider OR you can just restart the phone.
Thank you! It works flawlessly smile.gif

This post has been edited by kembar4: Apr 15 2011, 01:20 PM
kembar4
post Apr 22 2011, 07:41 PM

548 posts

Guys, is there such an app in android that would read e-books to you?
kembar4
post Apr 23 2011, 02:27 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(klwong99 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:53 PM)
Just bought my new Dell Streak few days ago and hope able joining with this club.
Just start read this thread and stop at page 30 since got my new DS.
Just hope don't miss out some interesting knowledge in this thread.
Appreciate Benny willing spend time to share, help and try to answer all queries in this thread althought he already sold out his own unit.

I have one serious problem so far i'm facing now and still yet found the solution:
My DS is running stock Froyo 2.2 and found it drain battery badly.
My DS battery will finish within half of day due to cell standby time already consume 70% plus. shocking.gif
However, if changed to Airplane mode, battery seem drain as normal.
Anyone here encounter this kind of problem before?
Are you on any data plan? If you are not, i suggest you to turn off those features as they do take a toll on the battery. Right now, i have just switched to umobile data plan ( and i do find that it takes alittle juice out of the battery, so i turn it off when i don't need it). Do take note that , i ordered a set of battery from Hong Kong that claims to be around 1800MAH but we all know that it isn't true. Still i like the idea of having spares and preserving my original battery so right now, i am on the extra set of battery and the stock battery has been stored in its original box.

What i did was, Settings > Wireless & Networks > Mobile Networks :

Data Enabled (Uncheck it if you're not using any data, or only check it when you want to go online)

Data Roaming : Unchecked

Network Mode : Stick with GSM only and not the default, GSM / WCDMA auto.

&

Settings > Location & Security :

Use Wireless Networks : Unchecked

Use GPS satellites : Unchecked

Use Assisted GPS : Unchecked

&

Settings > Account & Sync Settings :

Background Data : Checked

Auto-sync : Unchecked

I Believe by doing so, you may be able to preserve your battery. Only turn on the services that you need, and the rest, should remain off.

kembar4
post May 7 2011, 09:54 AM

548 posts

QUOTE(cocoanut @ May 6 2011, 11:26 PM)
still same price RM2099. I wonder...now that a telco is carrying Dell Streak 5, what kind of response can we expect in Malaysia?

Added on May 6, 2011, 11:28 pmBenny, followed your advice to clear caches. But still constantly run into very low RAM, and a few times of self reboot.

Don't know what's wrong. Flashed to DJSteve 1.5.3 now. let's see how it goes.

By the way, any way to remove stock Swype on 1.5.3? I prefer the Swype Beta.
Use the tool titanium backup to remove the swype app. I am not sure if the option is available on the free version though, but the full program is able to remove system apps.
kembar4
post May 10 2011, 07:16 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(Denwcp @ May 10 2011, 12:59 PM)
im using 347 00 with 1.9.0, seems smoother than stock froyo 2.2.2, but still experiencing some lag when dragging across home screen with several Widgets activated on Dell StageUI

Added on May 10, 2011, 2:57 pmjust discovered something , i cant hear from others whenever a person call me , but they can hear from me ....

version 1.9.0 on 347 00

Added on May 10, 2011, 4:22 pmSpeaker seems to be working fine , but the earpiece isn't providing any sound
I've read about this issue on some forum, and i believe those who had this issue had to replace their streak. Maybe you should send yours for replacement too.

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ May 10 2011, 06:11 PM)
Anyone know where i can try Dell Streak..?
Visit any SenQ branches, and i believe you should be able to try it out. Maxis is also offering the Dell streak, so it may be in their centers as well.

kembar4
post May 18 2011, 02:43 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(Denwcp @ May 10 2011, 08:00 PM)
oh my god, really that bad? can you send me the forum link ? might need to look for some references there~
Apologies for the late reply, anyways i've read that you got your problem sorted out. Glad to see that. smile.gif
kembar4
post Jun 1 2011, 07:27 PM

548 posts

Anyone interested in getting a matte frosted screen protector for the Dell Streak?

I got mine from China, and i love it! It eliminates the oily look that you'd find common on normal screen protectors, plus i find it more responsive than the previous screen protector that i got free from my otterbox casing.

I am ordering 1 or 2 more for my self as i had some trouble this time while installing the screen protector and now there are dirt underneath it, so i thought of getting them once again.

What i have in hand that i received today along with my order is the unofficial dock. Its matte black. You could charge your streak and an extra battery on it. It has 2 mini usb slots at the back part for data transfer and the other is for charging. It comes with a standard outlet plug with usb out, standard USB , and a car charger with standard USB out. Works great. Why i had to sell it off is that it doesn't fit my dell streak because of its Otterbox Defender series casing. It'll be a hassle just for me to remove the casing every time i want to connect it to the dock.

The matte screen protector is about RM15 and the dock is RM68. Let me know if anyone is interested. Will be placing the order for the screen protector by this weekend.

kembar4
post Sep 13 2011, 12:58 AM

548 posts

Guys, any experience with dealing with Senq on warranty?

My screen seems to "click" on its own at times and during that time, i can't press anything on the screen. Started 2 days ago, but it doesn't happen all the time.

The lower part of the phone seems to click between menus etc on its own.

Any experience with Senq's warranty?
kembar4
post Sep 18 2011, 12:57 AM

548 posts

QUOTE(Bentley @ Sep 14 2011, 10:24 AM)
KEMBAR4!

IF YOU ARE AN AGENT OF ANY BUSINESS OR COMPANY, OR SOMEONE WHO HAS A SIMILAR SALE SOMEWHERE ELSE, LINKING YOUR TREAD HERE TO A LELONG/eBAY/MUDAH/BLOG/ANOTHER FORUM WILL RESULT IN IMMEDIATE DELETION AND SUSPENSION (THIS INCLUDES 'LINKING'). YOU EITHER SELL AT LOWYAT.NET OR SOMEWHERE ELSE.

PLEASE REFER TO LOWYAT  FORUM RULES & REGULATIONS AS LISTED BELOW :

Entities prohibited from selling on LYN Trade Zone
•Any business or company, or its agents.
•Streamyx resellers. However, you may list your service here.
•Real estate agents.
•Minors (under 18) are required to seek parental permission before trading.
•Anybody who has a similar sale elsewhere. Its simple - you either sell at Lowyat.NET or somewhere else. Linking your thread here to a Lelong/eBay/mudah/blog/another forum will result in immediate deletion and suspension. This includes 'implicit linking'.

E-stalking at its best? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kembar4: Sep 18 2011, 12:57 AM
kembar4
post Jun 7 2012, 11:38 PM

548 posts

If you're stuck on the dell screen upon flashing the olleh rom, it's usually due to incompatible / out of date baseband.

Same thing happened to me, and then i had to unbrick it (QDL tool) and it took a very long time. Finally flashed the current baseband , and worked like a charm.

0.0597sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:59 AM