Dell Streak
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 09:15 AM
@bro Irenic since you have both Streak and SGS, may I know how's the performance between the two? Let aside the OS version, I would like to know the difference of their performance due to they are adapting different processor, which I was told that SGS processor is much better in general wise esp the graphic performance. What's your experience based on the 2? thanks!
This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 09:15 AM
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 10:33 AM
@ Irenic, Thanks for your reply. I really appreciate your review on it. Well, my main focus for this device will most likely to be surfing the net, email and reading some electronic docs. I seldom watch movie on such device and I don't really care much about the audio quality as long as the sound are not broken then will be fine with me. As for gaming, I would go for PSP or PS3 instead of Android as they don't really have nice collection of games right now isn"t it? So, I guess my best bet will be Streak right? Haha... Size do create some problems from time to time but I think I'm fine with it cos I'm really fond of the big device!!  Also, over the years I don't really like LG or Samsung mobile device cos they seems to be died out pretty fast on me.... hmm... guess I will just go for Streak then once I have save up enough money. Really looking forward to Streak with Froyo 2.2 This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 10:36 AM
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 11:09 AM) no prob mate. besides surfing, i also enjoy reading e-magazine on my streak. i always download lots of reading content in pdf format and upload it to phone from my symbian days few years back (nokia  ) and 5" screen is really easy to my eyes and finger! Well one good thing about Samsung is FMG malaysia warranty is damn superb. u can exchange the screen in one day (if they've stock) and there's this one time they even changed new housing for me for free! Dell Streak with Froyo 2.2? definitely gonna be awesome! Really? FMG Malaysia? Well, I guess it is not much use for me since I'm living in Miri and there's no way that I can get my warranty is easy way unless through the phone dealer that is. By the way, I've asked this question in Irwan's Dell Streak sales thread but guess I will just ask my question here as well. How did you get your Streak unlock? Cos I thought Bro Irwan only sells AT&T locked set with RebelSIM? Does he provide unlock service as well? This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 11:20 AM
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 11:47 AM
@ Stratos
okay... so there is no signal degrade by using RebelSIM for you? What telco are you using?
By the way, haven't got time to pay you a visit. haha... Anyway, who should I look for if I'm going to your shop there? hehe...
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 11:52 AM
@ Irenic
walao eh, that's quite a hassle just by reading your way of unlocking it. Haha... but still thanks for sharing this piece of information. Very informative. I would never imagine that we can unlock through this way at all.
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 21 2010, 11:58 AM) Irenic is my sifu, you all can ask him anything, he is the best ! yes, i do believe that. He answered a lot of my questions already. Thank you so much bro Irenic!!
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 11:53 AM) read my post before this one. there's no signal degrade with RebelSIM. and for me using it is not a hassle at all. just i prefer unlock phone because I have 2 sim cards and keep on changing between them. to make it worse, the other one is micro sim from my previous iPhone 4 and it's kinda hard to insert micro sim (with adapter) + rebelsim when i'm on the move. for normal people with 1 sim card, rebelSIM is gud enuff. u dont have to unlock ur phone if u have rebelSIM. act what makes it difficult is the AT&T guy doesnt know what to do. if ur first call u get a person that knows about this (from experience), i bet u need less than 20mins to get it done. then all u hv to do is to wait for the precious email.  I see... so I guess living with just RebelSIM should be A no problem eh? So, you said you had Iphone 4 didn't you? So do you experience the DeathGrip like most people out there said here in Malaysia?
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 12:11 PM) i just know about the unlock thing that i even read from other forum u guys called me sifu? Zes! so funny. haha! btw Ataris name sounds like a romantic boy while powerplayguy sounds like a player.. no problem with RebelSIM. tested with Digi, Maxis and Celcom.. nope.. there's no Deathgrip problem. i dont think it's a serious issue here in malaysia.. haha maybe our damn Telcos technology is superior than AT&T..  haha... funny... seriously, good to know that DeathGrip isn't such a big issue here in Malaysia. and this is my first time hearing that our telcos are better.... lol... back to Streak, so did you manage to flash your Streak to UK 2.1 ROM or Modaco 2.1 ROM? I heard that O2 2,1ROM has created some problems to the UK Streak. Wonder how bad are these problems...
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 02:09 PM
yeah.... I for one will go for Streak eventually... it is just a matter of time!! lol...
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 02:23 PM) now i hope both Dell and Samsung will release froyo update asap.. i thought of selling the galaxy S but now i hope i can see this device true potential with Froyo first. huh? I thought that SGS already has Froyo?
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 03:26 PM) Wa.. i keep find games OTA but still nth much to play.. Lazy to slowly find.. lol.. em... with 5" screen... maybe you can try out the famous Zombie VS Plant (or PLant Vs Zombie?)... hahha... I believe the gaming exp must be very shiok on this one!!
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 03:30 PM) Plant vs Zombie? i dun think have for android er? Got ka? eh... i have one on my TP2 running XDAndroid Froyo, but it is in Chinese... but the screen is too small + resistive screen, not so good for this game...
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 21 2010, 03:36 PM) in android this one $h|tty developer use that Plants vs Zombies name for his theme.. crap. huh? Who da?
arbelnox
Sep 21 2010, 03:48 PM
o okay... haha... anyway for those who can read chinese, you can try to google "androidin"... have kinda plenty of resources in there... it's a china forum so there are certain numbers of apps that they had translated to chinese... although i do feel bit awkward having some apps in chinese... I found myself Plant vs Zombie in this forum.... Added on September 21, 2010, 3:48 pmQUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 21 2010, 03:45 PM) anyone manage to install the flash player for Dell streak? can play facebook game on it? huh? I thought FLASH is only available on Froyo? This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 21 2010, 03:48 PM
arbelnox
Sep 22 2010, 09:13 AM
hehe.... then guess just have no choice but to wait till end of the year for Froyo to be released (hopefully Dell does keep their promise though)
arbelnox
Sep 22 2010, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 22 2010, 09:57 AM) luckily i'm not addicted to FB. at all! haha but still i hope can get froyo soon because i need the wireless tethering function~  ah yes, and most importantly, 2-5x performance boost!!!
arbelnox
Sep 22 2010, 01:28 PM
hmmm... so i guess girls like to FB eh? Same applies to my GF and sister as well... Haha... I thought of getting my GF an Android phone as well so she can FB at ease but then she's not a gadget geek so I am really wondering what kind of Android is suitable for her?
Or perhaps Iphone is better choice since it is much simpler and locked down basically so no rooting or tweaking is necessary?
arbelnox
Sep 22 2010, 02:34 PM
@Irenic
lol.... I never thought about that b4... lol.... Yeah, Itunes can be tough if dealing it for the first time. My sister has an Ipod Touch 2nd Gen and I had experienced it...
sure the Itunes is integrated with Iphone/Pod very well but it won't be as convenient as android where you can practically do almost everything just using the phone and not relying on the PC...
arbelnox
Sep 22 2010, 05:20 PM
@Irenic Alrighty, will wait for your new updates.
@Stratos Thought the paper workaround has somewhat help the problem already? By the way, this is software problem or the hardware problem? If hardware wise then I guess there won't be any official fixings from Dell.
arbelnox
Sep 23 2010, 10:06 AM
@ Irenic what is the material of this Otterbox? Cos it seems like carbon fibre to me... also how it feels when holding on hand? @ Stratos does this problem occur only when you are wearing pants with tight pocket such as jeans? What about if you wear the some pants with baggy pocket? Perhaps when you are wearing pants with tight pocket will impose pressure on the back cover and slide it open? Added on September 23, 2010, 10:08 amQUOTE(StratOS @ Sep 23 2010, 10:03 AM) ok.. i ordering the original dell case la.. coz easier to fit in all my pants.. and ordered another spare cable to put at home for charging.. urgh... man... it seems like huge investment to buy a Streak.... Still I can't resist its 5" screen!! This post has been edited by arbelnox: Sep 23 2010, 10:08 AM