Canon EOS family V24, The White Knights

knight
post Jun 8 2010, 11:23 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Chiet, saw ur Gear list got Tamron F/2.8...wanna ask you something..is the 2.8 adjustable? let's say I wan to change it to F3.0..possible??
knight
post Jun 8 2010, 11:29 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

So means it's still adjustable lar...means the kitlens even at zoom, it still can go for F2.8 right?

I'm now delima on which to choose between this and Sigma 18-70mm f2.8-4.5
knight
post Jun 8 2010, 11:46 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Hah..it's ok...I just wanna know is the aperture adjustable only..now know that can still get F2.8 even at max focal length..

Sorry for my noobness..

This post has been edited by knight: Jun 8 2010, 11:46 PM
knight
post Jun 9 2010, 12:24 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

thanks deodorant..that's a nice info...
knight
post Jun 13 2010, 02:28 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Just got a Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 XR DI-II with a Hoya pro1 UV filter for RM1650...

Hoya Pro1: RM215..

So means Tamron is about RM1435.

Worth the price??
knight
post Jun 13 2010, 02:55 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(Chiet @ Jun 13 2010, 02:36 PM)
Should be, I got mine for RM 1550 a couple of months back.  smile.gif
Wow..RM1550 arr??that's was shashinki current price mate!! where you bought that? For mine I got if from PhotoSelangor at Pertama Complex. But I just went to Lowyat Shangrila and the before 'further' discount was RM1450..
knight
post Jun 13 2010, 03:40 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Hopefully it's reasonable price..^^...
knight
post Jun 15 2010, 10:47 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 13 2010, 04:12 PM)
Hoya Pro1D at 215 kena potong oredi.
block from internet world awhile...wahh...Rm215 kena potong..sigh...dun1 go photoselagor oledi lar...Where you guys normally buy the lens har??
knight
post Jun 15 2010, 02:43 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 15 2010, 02:22 PM)
Found a Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 non-VC with 1 year warranty for RM 1350. rolleyes.gif VC version will be RM 1750. rclxms.gif

If only I had sufficient extra money for a new unit.
Add another hundred for a new unit...around that price yet now Tamron is giving 2 years warranty..it's not worth the price..
knight
post Jun 22 2010, 08:44 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jun 22 2010, 07:10 PM)
Although its cheap, it doesn't mean its of no good quality. Quite alot of people here uses the Bagman 7MDH clone, including -vip3rleon9- and viking(i think he's still using it la xD), and have been using them for a long time but still have yet to break down on them.  biggrin.gif
Maybe you can try a shorter macro lens, like the EF-S 60mm or 50mm compact macro if you're scared 100mm is too long. It also depends on the size of the food you're taking la.  laugh.gif
7MDH got clone?? Where to get that??
knight
post Jun 23 2010, 04:41 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

wow...f1.0..looks blurry for most of the place..how much is that?
knight
post Jun 23 2010, 05:01 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 23 2010, 04:43 PM)
That's bokeh. tongue.gif Poisonous bokeh. laugh.gif
http://www.photographyreview.com/mfr/canon...81_3111crx.aspx
Convert yourself. tongue.gif
Anyway it is a discontinued legendary lens. biggrin.gif
Haha...poisonous and Scary bokeh..scary until discontinued.. rclxms.gif
knight
post Jul 1 2010, 09:06 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Wow...water resistant??
knight
post Jul 1 2010, 10:01 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 1 2010, 09:20 AM)
Haha. Another victim.  I was quite bengang when I clicked on the Play icon n nothing happened.
Yes, this is why u need pro bodies. Keep on snapping in all conditions.  I've tried 5D n 1D in pretty heavy rain. 7D dunno, no1 in LYN dare to try n share with us yet. myjunk can try for us perhaps?  brows.gif  brows.gif
I was wondering, how they determine the level of these water resistance? what type of rain can resist for xxxD?? Previous trip hiking, I was so scare when it comes to rain. Scare it's not as robust as I thought. I still yet to know what is the toughest condition of my 450D can cope.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 1 2010, 09:50 AM)
Just an interesting tidbit on human eyes in terms of Digital sensors

Shutter speed 1/50
ISO at around 50,000 (B/W)
Dynamic range 20 stops
Resolution 5mp
F Stops - F3.5- F5
Focal range ~ 50mm
Try shooting an image with your best sensor at 1/50 and F3.5 at night. Fail.
Ramp up the Iso to 51,200 shot at F3.5 and 1/50. Fail.

more impressive is when..all while having 20 stops dymanic range. (current sensors have 5..maybe 6 stops with the Fuji superCCD)
You shoot wedding outdoors in afternoon sun with the groom in a tux and the bride in a white dress you can  cry.gif already. I once shoot a dark skinned fellow wearing a white shirt... cry.gif also.
Of course these are average claimed figures, one might have better or worst.

Just show how impressive our eyes are. Even the best of DSLR technology can't replicate it to this day...especially when we have spatial 3D ability, noise reduction, auto colour correction, Motion detection, and of course, smile detection since day 1 .......

The only thing our eyes can't do is Zoom. haha
Haha...20stop and 50,000 ISO. Should add in superb white balance..where you get this info from? or you made it out urself?
knight
post Jul 1 2010, 10:21 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Small rain should be still ok lar rite? I always bring an air tight plastic bag along in my camera bag always..in case facing big rain.

Yah...Wanted to get a new bag for my gadget, do you think buying camera bag in Singapore would be more cheaper? Need some advise.
knight
post Jul 1 2010, 10:36 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 1 2010, 10:24 AM)
Buying stuff in Sg is mostly same price. Sometimes even more expensive. But they got helluva lot of variety n all in stock at the shops. Not like Lame-O Malaysian shops always say no stock need to order.
Agreed. Last trip there saw in the airport, wow...lower pro bag was like a huge mountain with lots of varieties. But I din survey the price lar...

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 1 2010, 10:28 AM)
Lowepro bags are a lot more cheaper at sg. nod.gif
Really cheaper?? can advise where is the best place to get it cheaper?
knight
post Jul 1 2010, 10:48 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

ok...will hunt for it on my next trip. Thanks..

0.0523sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:01 PM