8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

Eiraku
post Jun 22 2010, 04:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 22 2010, 04:45 PM)
I wonder why most of the additional language thing skill VK?
VKB is handled by Hildon-Input-Method (HIM), which has to be REPLACED by MSCIM/PENPOWER to provide CJK input. That's why NATIVE CJK input methods kills off VKB and the nice things it provides (initial caps, inline suggestion).

Emacs, on the other hand, is really a programming tool THAT ALSO provides CJK input FOR ITSELF rather than for the system (which HIM, MSCIM and PENPOWER does) - working independently from the native input method. This is also why you have to cut and paste the CJK output to messaging or where ever, and why it does not break anything.

But the modular structure of Maemo input ALSO means that ANYBODY who can program can come up with a BETTER VKB system, given time and effort.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 22 2010, 04:52 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 22 2010, 05:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Jun 22 2010, 05:42 PM)
aspire..on the first page,i read about removing the shutter sound..i dont know if u mean to disable the sound..or removing it completely from the phone..

if u want to disable the shutter sound,u can simply just untick the system sound in settings --> profiles --> system sounds..

that should do the trick in disabling the sound without deleting the sound file..
Or just use the silent profile. That works too.
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 12:01 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 22 2010, 09:14 PM)
my phone can't use the contact merger .everytime i start the apps and the contacts switch off and told me there is an internal error.

anyone face the same problem?

one more things, i do remember there is a actions to make media player to skip scanning the current folder.but i can't remember where i found this .

anyone can provide me again? or put in the first page.

the media player always play the navigation sounds when i choose random play.

How to put the album arts into player ?
Prob 1: Most prolly ContMerger is not compatible with PR1.2 or something. Check Maemo.org for updates (search Contact Merger).

Prob 2: Not sure, because I use other apps to Play Music and Movies (Symphonie and Media Box).

Prob 3: Use Tracker Config to make tracker SKIP the Nav Audio folder (and any other folder you don't want). Solution #2: Install an alternative player, Symphonie is a good choice and I'm using it personally (due to folder play, and equalizers).

Prob 4: Use Mussorgsky.

-----

For some unknown, obscure reason that truthfully escapes me, I'm really OBSESSIVE over keeping my free rootfs over 75MB lately.

Currently at 78MB, with everything installed. I dipped really close to 75 a moment ago (75.4MB to be precise), and out of OCD I moved the Nokia Maps app files over to /opt/ and symlinked - an old Pre-PR1.2 trick to free rootfs. Not much change in the speed Ovi Maps loads and works, it was kinda slow to begin with lol.

Must have been all those devel apps I've been installing and testing, leaving orphaned libs everywhere. Darnit, should have manually purged all of them. Thankfully everything's still working fine.

How's the rootfs situation with you guys?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 12:05 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 02:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 23 2010, 01:55 PM)
True, when I first found out it has 256MB during it's initial spec, it's disappointing. Plus, the Virtual/Swap Memory is too slow and will cause lag. Too bad it can't be upgraded...

But surprisingly, with 256MB ram, N900 can multi-task very well and support many apps running.
Symbian owners might remember the dreaded "Memory Fulll. Close some applications and try again". One thing I always complain about Nokia smartphones is the lack of memory provided, and thus we always have this problem. That's one thing prevented me from getting the N97. But it was lucky I didn't get it as N900 was announce later.

Check out the N8 un-released version, even with 256MB Ram, multi-tasking is not enough to sustain 6 apps. Probably they need to fine tune the memory management part as other Symbian with lower ram, I can still open quite a few app.

http://thenokiablog.com/2010/06/21/nokia-n...m-multitasking/
Same here, was actually drooling over the 512mbs on the Nexus, shame about the lack of HW keyboard and Snapdragon (I is ARM fanbois).

But really, for all its cons, if there's one thing the N900 does better then web browsing and hackability, it's multi tasking - as long as you don't have App Man running, that is. It hogs CPU and slows everything to bits lol. I really do think Nokia should have gone the gila way (well, they did intend to build a gila experimental device after all) and used another speedy rootfs flash chip for the swap as well (which would speed up things by quite a bit), but the slow eMMC swap DOES help, even if its just to trick the N900 to thinking that it has more RAM available.

And 6 apps kills the the N8? Really? That's just sad, I could at least do 10 things (slowly lah) with the 5800. I blame the fancy smancy task switcher.

Regarding cases, I IS THE WANT MY RESIN CAZE!

@seadage: You're running PR1.1 IINM, which has a less available free rootfs to begin with. After a fresh reflash with PR1.2, there should be like 90-something megabytes free rootfs.

@blackrobin: Disable Power Saving for that paticular WiFi connection. That should speed up things.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 03:00 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 03:32 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 23 2010, 03:28 PM)
so u guys turn off power saving for Wlan la
I turn off for home Wifi, ones I have chargers close by.

But I rarely use wifi to begin with, I have this strong love-hate thing going on with Sialcom 3G most of the time. And I usually clog up my home broadband with torrents and downloads anyway.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 03:36 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 03:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 23 2010, 03:54 PM)
i always use WIFI because i am using UniFI i get speed up to 22mbps.

When i am outside ill use my 3G wit 500mbps by hotlink
Mmmm UniFi, haven't tried that yet. Maybe later.
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 05:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(joker_jr @ Jun 23 2010, 04:27 PM)
Guys! what the current price of n900 zitron/avaxx set?? I want to get new phone by today or tomorrow since i just dropped my 5800xm on toliet  cry.gif  cry.gif . dem, cangkung toilet summore. dalam lak tuh. where the best place to buy around KL/PJ/KJ/wangsa maju. thanks  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
As long as you know what you're getting yourself into... Ori sets are 2k a pop last I checked, AP's 1.3k.

Do keep in mind that the transition from a Symbian smartphone to a Maemo... err... nano-Computer + Not-so Smart Phone can be a shocking experience (or an enlightening one, depending on how you view the situation). Do read frontpage to make sure that the N900 will be a good fit for you.

Just sayin, derp, derp... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 05:05 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 05:13 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2010, 05:06 PM)
I jumped from SE W580 to N900.
I didn't have much trouble with this phone cool2.gif
Just making sure he's not jumping in with expectations that the N900 cannot meet. Saves people from turning into trolls later.

Anyway, for those who know what I'm talking about, backtrack and all its goodies are coming to the N900. Time to pick up your hats people.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 05:15 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 05:33 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(joker_jr @ Jun 23 2010, 05:29 PM)
ek, such a big difference price between ori n ap.
hi there, thanks for the advice. I keep changing hp before. almost every 4-5 month. transition might not be a big problem. btw I had little  knowledge on linux os that  might apply. but this is not a workstation.
Good, and the N900 is more linux workstation than what you probably imagined. Really.

Your Linux knowledge, especially if you use xterm often, will be of great use.

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jun 23 2010, 05:29 PM)
Holy Shiet...Backtrack on a phone? Now I'm getting nerdgasm hahaha3. N900 here I come rclxm9.gif
Yep, supposedly most of the apps in the distro, recoded for hildon-gtk WITH a wifi driver patch to allow packet injection. There's also news that suggest that the entire distro might be made run as a saperate OS for dual-booting on the N900 though.

Everything is patchy but it word is should be out soon.

We already have Metasploit, heh heh heh.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 05:52 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 06:12 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

My personal phone/PDA history is short and fun lol.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*Palm Zire - Clie SJ22 - Clie TJ37 - *Dell Axim |
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|- *Nokia 5800 - N97 Mini - *N900
Nokia 3210 - *3560 - Moto E365 - *N-Gage + SE Z200- *SE W810i + Razr |

Gadgets marked with * were notable advancements in technology, at least for me, and they have a special place in my heart. But sure my list not as long or as exciting as many other more senior gadget freaks over here lol, as I tend to hang on to some of my gadgets for quite a long time.

But currently all I have is the W810i, N900, N-Gage (broken) and TJ37.

Added on June 23, 2010, 6:16 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2010, 06:12 PM)
Hey,di mana ada linux di situ ada geek tongue.gif

@Eiraku
Have you tried aircracking?
Seems like sometime N900's packet injection sometimes don't work.
Packet injection is still VERY patchy in the current wlan driver, this is why the backtrack gang's claims of finally getting it to RELIABLY work is so exciting.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 06:33 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 06:19 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 23 2010, 06:17 PM)
Whoever wants the resin case please join force with me to annoy the seller to bring it fast.
I is will the joining lol. But annoying might make him not bring it in at all, which is BADDD.
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 06:39 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jun 23 2010, 06:27 PM)
Even Metasploit? Guys, maybe you should bring together your tinfoil hat haha3 laugh.gif
Haha3 didn't realized that N900 already capable of doing those things. The last time I googled around was that the wifi driver was still locked to ch6 oni, and still no packet injection (using aircrack-ng). Sigh, IB really taking a lot of my time rite now lolol
Anyway, full distro? including spoonwep n spoonwpa as well arr?
Me prefer GUI. Blame Bill Gates for that LOL. And my limited CLI knowledge. laugh.gif
Not sure, but it might be a heavily customized Meamo variant with a custom kernel and most of the backtrack apps - which we can dual boot into.

Or something. I'm a script kiddo really, what do I know lol.

But yeah, for a unit with very clear problems from a purely consumer-centric point of view, the N900 is quickly becoming a hacker's (of whatever hat colour) mobile tool of choice. It's prolly Maemo lol.

Which makes me wonder about the future of Meego even more. Hmmmmmm.

REALLY OT: This http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technology_adoption_lifecycle tells me that people who adopt technology faster than Early Adopters are "Innovators"...

Gundammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! *in my best Setsuna impression*

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 23 2010, 06:48 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 10:07 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 23 2010, 09:53 PM)
very lancar i updated to 1.2...also overclocked to 900 mhz..still testing its stability..before going any further if i wan to..900 should be enuf
With modified speed ramping (check gthe Overclocking wiki), 700 is more than enough for me lol.

And word has it that the N900 seems to be more powerful than the N9 even, according to the guys at Engadget (dunno where they got that from)... Confirm our phones will be a cult device later.
Eiraku
post Jun 23 2010, 11:55 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 23 2010, 11:50 PM)
same video like urs.. hahahhaha
later i go find some other videos... =P
Need to cook up an anime themed boot video lol, just for the fun of it. Anybody know what codec the boot avi uses? I'm thinking DIvX or some any one of its brothers.
Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 12:54 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 24 2010, 12:49 AM)
i know.. saje nee.. hahahaha
but if n900 can dual boot *dreaming again* android 2.1 (or 1.6 oso can)... i will be the happiest man on earth.. muahahahhah~
It can, you know. Just the phone part doesn't work. NITDroid dev is quite advanced edi, really.

Just to keep abreast, OSes the N900 can run up to now:

1. Meamo5 (obviously)
2. Dos (via dosbox)
3. Win 3.11 (via dosbox)
4. Win 95 (via dosbox)
5. OSX Panther (via pearpc, barely)
6. Debian (Easy Debian)
7. Ubuntu (dual boot)
8. Android (via NITDroid, dual boot)
9. Meego (hopefully dual boot)
10. Backtrack (IF it's a dual boot, saparate OS)
11. MSX (it WAS marketed as a Computer after all)
12. PalmOS5 (via GarnetVM)
13. AmigaOS
14. Apple II

Flexible much? Lol... This is not taking into account the various game emus available.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 24 2010, 01:05 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 01:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 24 2010, 01:23 AM)
i know.. but havent complete yet.. i watched the latest vid and good i sure hope they can clear all the bugs off~

Added on June 24, 2010, 1:28 amwell.. if maemo is internet tablet with phone feature, meego is the successor for maemo, then it is still a tablet with phone feature *probably*..

so having an Android would just give me a phone OS with some other feature.

dun get me wrong. i like maemo as much as u guys (not till that geeky)..  but i still like my phone on portrait mode. so having this android can at least shut me up with wanting a portrait mode on maemo~
Trust me when I say Meego's gonna be more Andriod like then you think, or at least that's what I feel after reading the design briefs and looking at the mock-ups. Maybe that's why I have this fear that Meego's gonna be less powerful than Maemo in the end (thus my constant prayers of Dual Booting, or at least UI backporting).

Meego should be more a proper smartphone OS then Maemo ever was - even Nokia's not crazy enough to stake the future of their ENTIRE N-series flagship line (post-N8 and a few other N-series phones) on a half-baked, non mainstream friendly OS (like Meamo was). I only wonder, at what cost? It would be cool if Meego's gonna be as powerful as Maemo sans the flaws, but I guess that would be too much to ask for.

Oh well, we have a week before we can get a glimpse of the answer anyway, alpha or no alpha. Ball's in your court, Nokia.

PS: Out of sheer curiousity, installed Firefox/Fennec 1.1 RC. Found it to be too slow and clumsy compared to it's distant cousin, MicroB. Uninstalled it right away. Better luck next time, Mozilla.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 24 2010, 02:22 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 08:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kunyit_kampung @ Jun 24 2010, 02:58 AM)
i try to free up space on rootfs,when i open xterminal n type sudo gaintroot then it ask for password.
what is the password?i never set a password before
Humm, funnay... Have you installed rootsh?
Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 04:55 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Cannibal @ Jun 24 2010, 04:48 PM)
i'm afraid if we move to meego we will lose support on ovi suite. no more ovi map etc.
That's why we dual boot, no? But seriously, I hope the community backports most of the flashy bits of Meego back to Maemo, if Meego turns out to be "dumbed down" as I fear. Then I can continue running Maemo (or is it Maego by then) with all itz powrz.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 24 2010, 04:56 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 05:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jun 24 2010, 04:56 PM)
this i find it more intersting u guys gotta provide tutorial for this i guess...
If the Meego guys decide to make it dual bootable, no problem. If they don't also, someone will figure something out.

Hopefully they implement something like "install Meego to SD card or something" (livecd style) which wll be wayyyy cool.

Eiraku
post Jun 24 2010, 11:11 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jun 24 2010, 10:57 PM)
somehow my phone everytime after reboot got problem wif d scrolling..and when i click apps from d desktop, it turn to d mode where v can arrange our apps..weird lo..n sometime when using apps d phone auto restart it own..T_T
Are you overclocked/underclocked? These are weird system instabilities, if you ask me - prolly the system not running well due to undervoltage.

If you're not overclocked/underclocked, then it's weirder. What do you have installed, maybe some sort of conflict with Hildon-Home/Hildon-Desktop happening in the background?

As for the click --> turn into the arrange mode, the only time I've experienced that was under VERY HEAVY CPU loads... Hmmm... hmm.gif

QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 24 2010, 06:35 PM)
wahlao eh loving my maemo device man...really my make shift pc...let's say i wana post something to lowyat forum and im on my bed(which im doing it nw)..i just take out my n900 ..a few tabs ..im in typing a post...lol
best part i got my device for 1400+ nia..condition perfect..so happy
im at 900mhz..browsing speed almost as fast as my laptop lol..
also must thank this community..had been reading this thread for 1 week before deciding to beli..weee
Yep, laptop getting a lot less love nowadays as the N900 took over my main internet browsing device... Simply because I:

1. Cannot bring Laptop to jamban
2. Cannot use Laptop while walking around
3. Cannot use Laptop while lying down

And with VNC, it also gets left behind while I go on short outstation trips. Less stress on my back, and with USB Host in the works, I'm sure it's gonna get even less attention.

Mobile Computing banzai.... brows.gif

Though a 3 incher does tire the eyes FAR MORE then a 12 incher can. And fingers get cramped from too much N900 typing lol. Main reason I'm posting this from the laptop lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 24 2010, 11:21 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:04 AM